We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendliest hosts and convenient comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #38 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliest hosts and convenient comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is my first ever review on a travel site, for what that's worth. A friend and I spent 3 wonderful days at the end of November at Dar Najat, and I will enthusiastically say that Oliver and his team are the friendliest hosts I have ever encountered traveling. They are helpful and funny in such a way that makes them feel like old friends. The riad itself is also very clean and comfortable, probably a nicer example of the courtyard-style riads in central Marrakech. The location is a convenient walk down an engaging but not too crowded street right to Jamaa El-Fna square, and the souks as well. I should also say the dinner we had there was outstanding, one of the best meals I had in Morocco, and the breakfasts each day were delightful as well. I would gladly stay here again on future trips to Marrakech, and for that matter Essaouira as well, where Oliver has another riad. And I give it my hearty recommendation!

Room Tip: I actually stayed in upstairs and downstairs rooms, and both were excellent. Upstairs was a bit mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    103
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
121
463
84
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I have never felt so safe, welcome, at ease and comfortable being away from home before visiting the Riad Dar Najat. I want to recommend this place to everyone going to Marrakech, with friends family or on your own. It doesnt only have nice tidy rooms, central location, great breakfast and comfortable beds, its also a nice place to hang out during the evening, cuddling up in a sofa drinking wine, snacking olives: A perfect ending of a hectic and exciting day in the big city of Marrakech. At the same time we never got disturbed by any noise the few days we decided to go to bed early. I regret we never tried the restaurant, but ... next time I will! When we wanted help we got it and when we needed to make some changes with the breakfast, it was the least problem. Everyone at Dar Najat really did everything they could to make our stay perfect. If... I mean when I come back to Marrakech the choice of where to stay would be simple. Thank you Said, Mido, Momo and the always smiling Sakina and Bouleta -and of course Olivier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lingonflickan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Just come back last night from a fabulous 4 night stay at Riad Dar Najat they deserve an extra star!

Everyone at the Riad are so welcoming, helpful and informative. Olivier, his wife, Momou and the rest of the staff are only too pleased to do anything to help your stay at Dar Najat and Marrakech go as smoothly as possible.

Even before booking Olivier was very prompt and professional responding to some queries I had.

Dar Najat is absolutely beautiful and very thoughtfully decorated in North African decor. It was nice to get back there and enjoy time relaxing in peace away from the hectic streets of Marrakech.

I would strongly advise if offered airport transfers to accept, it just took the hassle out arriving (not every driver knows every single Riad) and also we gladly accepted the offer to show us how to get the main square and back (something which could be a little daunting if just arrived, but once they show you it is really easy!)

Oliver also recommended a few places to visit, restaurants worth visiting and a few wise tips. Which were great recommendations.

Thank you Olivier and all at Riad Dar Najat and we hope to return at some point next year!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businessinportugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Dar Najat Riad is quite nice and has a central location. After booking the property I setup a cab to pick me up at the airport because it was my 1st time in Marrakech and figured it might be worth it. It definitely was, I would have never found the place. The taxi took me within about 2 blocks of the Riad and then from there is was walking only. They said that it would be prepaid but the driver was not aware of this ... he called the building and sorted everything out as I did not have any cash yet (a note I would suggest getting cash at the airport as ATM are a bit more difficult to find than some cities).

My arrival was late and checkin was just someone to show me to the room.

The next day we sorted out the paperwork with I think the owner.

The roof deck was perfect, fresh juice, beers, whatever you could want. I did not really take advantage of the meals up there but others staying they said they were quite good.

The room itself was a good size, nice bed, and a sitting area with local decoration. The A/C was strong and cool. The only downsides I can think of were a slow internet connection and a tight bathroom.

The property was well maintained and the location, just 5 minutes walk from the main square was a highlight. Almost all the sites that you want to see can easily reached by foot which is a good thing as there is not much public transport and within the walled city few cabs either.

Room Tip: There are several different rooms, each with a different name so make sure you have a look to see wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lowetide8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We ended up making a last minute booking here after the riad we'd originally booked fell through just two weeks before our trip, and we're so glad we came to this place! From the moment you arrive you are made to feel so welcome, and the hospitality and friendliness of the staff puts you at ease straight away and really made our trip special and memorable. The decor is beautiful and the roof terrace a perfect place to relax with a beer or delicious mint tea away from the mad hustle and bustle of the city! The location is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the main square yet on a quiet street... Though you might hear the locals calling out as they come through with their donkeys in the morning, all part of the Marrakesh experience! Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and we also enjoyed an evening meal at the riad one night which was one of the best meals we had on our trip. If you're looking for a spacious, luxurious bathroom you'll be disappointed but the shower was good and hot and the towels always clean, what more do you need?! All in all we would thoroughly recommend Dar Najat to anyone looking for honest, traditional and charming Moroccan hospitality in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryonykl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Rooms are small and compact bathrooms with knee scraping toilets. But very friendly staff always ready to advise. Good breakfasts with flowing coffee. Dinner is better had at a nearby restaurant. Hotel's location is very good. Some external music echoed through our bedroom until midnight during our stay. A bit annoying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hi there!
First, thanks for your comment regarding the staff.
A part of it...if I have a good memory. .our guest was very tall indeed. . more than two meters and sorry ..if the dimensions of Morocco's houses we're not convenient for him..
Regarding the gastronomy..at the opposite of a huge majority of our guests too , didn't seem to live his expectations.
Last ..regarding the music, we had several resident guests who we're having a late dinner and again, sad if the reviewer was annoyed.
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend early November. We picked it purely because of the good reviews on this site and it did not disappoint! The staff are so lovely and made us feel very welcome. The food was excellent and we ate so much for breakfast each morning we didnt need to buy lunch! We had a drink on the terrace every night and enjoyed the views and the stars. We thought the rooms were great and the whole place is the perfect mix of tradition and luxury. Oliver arranged our trip to the Atlas Mountains and even sorted out our bus ticket and accomodation in Essouira. The hospitality at Dar Najat made our holiday very relaxing as we felt they had everything covered, even taking us to the main square on our first day to ensure we didnt get lost! Cannot recommend this place enough. Thanks Oliver!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varvarsuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#40 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#32 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#27 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Property: Riad Dar Najat
Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Najat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing