We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“In the heart of the Medina...but miles away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #42 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Uxbridge, Middlesex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In the heart of the Medina...but miles away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

If there wasn't a brand new city to explore in Marrakech, my lady and I could have stayed here and just chilled out for the whole of our three night stay! To say that this is a laid back establishment does not convey just how relaxing the Dar Najat really is, however whilst the staff have an air of nonchalance about them they are one of the most attentive teams I have come across on my travels.

Check in consisted of our bags being taken to our room whilst we enjoyed a cool (alcoholic) drink on the terrace. Followed by another! When we admitted to Mido that we had not made any dining arrangements for the evening, he was apologetic that the Riad was already fully booked for dining but offered to walk us to an alternative local restaurant where we had a great meal. On returning to the Riad and enjoying a drink on the roof terrace, we asked what time breakfast was served until, only to be advised that we could take breakfast at whatever time we surfaced! This most definitely is a first for me!

Needless to say, we took full advantage and had a lazy meander up to the terrace to enjoy a fine breakfast of fresh orange juice, breads, pastries and omelette. Mido then walked us to Jaama El Fna, the main square - this is only a seven minute walk away but having a person to guide you helps to commit the route to memory and is invaluable for the return, where the absence of stalls and onset of darkness changes the look and feel of the Medina.

Our room was the (only) one facing the street, and was spotless with a large bed, mirrored windows, and authentic Moroccan furniture and artwork. Wi-fi is available throughout the Riad and is robust but if you need to know anything about the city and what it has to offer, you can just ask! We had all the local highlights pointed out on a map with approximate walking times, which we managed to increase by strolling a number of different routes!

Oliver, Mido and Moumou ensured that they were available whenever you needed them but also kept a discreet distance at other times. Lounging on the roof terrace with a nightcap, gazing up at the stars and hearing the distant sound of the drums still beating in the square is a memory that will stay with me for a long time! We hope to return and spend a few days just recharging the batteries and could not ask for a better place in which to do that. If you're at all undecided on where to book in Marrakech and are after an authentic experience then here's two words...stay here!

Room Tip: Early retirers should be aware that there is a small shop opposite that is popular with ride-up cust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    107
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
125
474
89
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Nice staff and perfect location in the Medina. Once the door is closed you are out of the hassle and can relax. When we arrived we were guided to the jama el fna to be able to remind the way back. We were a little bit afraid of not finding the way in the beginning. However, it really is not a problem once the "easy" way is shown to you. My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights and will come back. Unfortunately we haven't tried the kitchen but will go for it next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin197912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Dar Najat is the perfect place to stay if you are looking to have a few good days in Marrakesh. The first thing that will experience is just how hospitable the staff our at the Riad. Having stayed at many a more expensive hotel around the world, I would have to say that they had the best service I have ever experienced. All the staff were very help, always looking out to make sure that you were well looked after.

We arranged to have dinner on the first night upon arrival and the food was excellent, especially in comparison to some of the more tourist trappy restaurants in the area (though I will also say if you can book and visit Le Tobsil). The breakfasts were also brilliant.

The location of the Riad itself is also ideal as it is only a 7 minute walk or so before you find yourself in the main square of the medina.

Overall had a fabulous time here and would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacemano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The staff are very helpful and friendly. They all go out of their way to make your stay at Dar Najat really enjoyable with a special mention of Mido & Moumou.

Breakfast on the roof terrace is a great way to start the day with the squeezed orange juice being particularly memorable.

We arranged to have dinner on the roof on two evenings and thoroughly enjoyed both meals.

The location is great for a 10 minute walk to the main square and we found that Abdul, the driver,was an excellent guide and a safe pair of hands on a trip to the Atlas mountains.

Our room was very clean but if we return we would try to get a room away from the ground floor with more light.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_Wanabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Dar Najat is a beautiful riad in a perfect location. Oliver and his staff Mido, Bouletta, Momo, Sakina and Fatimzarra are more than happy to help with anything. Oliver answered my questions by email before we left and made me feel that we were so welcome even before we arrived. As everyone says, the riad is beautifully decorated, full of artworks, and really feels like home while you are there as you can comfortably make use of all the communal areas at any time. The roof terrace is a stunning place to have breakfast, or relax and unwind for a break from the lively streets of the medina, just 5-10 mins walk from the Jemaa El Fna square. Being collected from the airport and taken back at the end of our trip made the whole arrival and departure so stress free. In particular Mido, Momo and Sakina (I think is the cook and housekeeper), and of course, Oliver, made our stay perfect in every way. I cannot recommend Dar Najat enough for it's comfort, superb food, welcoming and friendly staff, perfect location, anything they haven't already thought of will be no problem to arrange to suit your every need.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ghizlane room, which is a good sized double room with good bathroom facilities. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My daughters and i stayed at this great Riad on our recent trip to Morocco. It is an incredibly cool place to stay which is so close to the main square and all of the action that Marrakech has to offer. The Riad has a great rooftop area with a cooling spa and lots of areas to sit and relax and enjoy the traditional surroundings and always played great music. The staff are very helpful and friendly with Mahmoud walking us around to the square and explaining how to get around so we wouldn't get lost. The owner Olivier was very engaging and offered good advise about things to do and places to go. Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The perfect place to stay in Marrkesh! Only a hop, skip and a jump away from the main square with a spa, comfortable beds, lovely breakfast and friendly staff-this place is amazing!

The staff are not only happy to show you something on a map, but actaully offer to walk you there! Huge Thank you to Oliver and Momo for such a warm welcome.
Only thing I would change is my length of stay-I didn't want to leave!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MaddieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#34 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#19 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Property: Riad Dar Najat
Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Najat 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing