We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome sanctuary”
Review of Riad Hayane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Hayane
Ranked #292 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A welcome sanctuary”
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We were welcomed with tea by a rose petal strewn pool and the news of an unexpected upgrade to the first floor rooms- more light and quieter if someone else has an early breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble, from a chilled glass of wine on the roof terrace to translating the cultural divide that enabled two of us to visit the local hamman. Yes, it is a 15-20min walk into the centre of town, but that gave ample opportunities for taking in the life of the streets unencumbered by other tourists.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tor2tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

We only had one night here before moving on, but it was a perfect introduction to Morocco. We received a warm welcome and excellent refreshments. We were personally escorted a good part of the way into the centre in the evening. Breakfast in the coutyard was fantastic. Overall a lovely location with helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann-Mary35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Marrakesh can be hard work so was nice to be in quite a bustling part of the city but be in perfect peace and quiet inside the Riad. The staff couldn't have been more considerate, helpful and friendly - to the extent of lending us cash when we had had trouble with the ATMs! The room was pleasant and comfortable - the strewn rose petals were a nice touch. The public areas esp the roof terrace were comfortable and interestingly and attractively decorated. We had our meal there the night we arrived and it was one of the two best meals we had the whole of our stay. The location was excellent, all the major attractions of the medina within walking distance but away from the major crowds. Mind you, we like to walk, if you don't you can pick up a taxi from outside the nearby Bab Ksiba or the staff will order you one. We loved it and would go back and recommend it to others. I'd say however that any traditional Riad is not the place for you if you expect your accommodation to provide entertainment and all 21st century hotel mod cons. Steep stairs, open plunge pools, lots of ornaments make them, I think, unsuitable for small children. Paying electronically we found could be a problem throughout Morocco; one problem is actually connections, we had probs at ATMs, and as for credit cards remember they get less money if you pay by card and Morocco is not a rich country.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atherstone
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Not quite as lovely as photos indicate, just Ok. Nothing to do in riad. It is just that bit too far from centre of town to bother returning in the day. Maybe better in summer when you could sunbathe on roof terrace. Ali was very obliging. However breakfast out in the cold was none too special. No heating in the riad except for the electric heater in our room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. As crazy and mad as the Medina is, the Ksiba is as relaxing and calm. From the lovely roof terrace to our cool and peaceful room this place was exactly what is required to escape the hustle and bustle. The 3 Moroccans that ran the place were really friendly and helpful and one spoke good english when our francaise wasn't quite up to scratch. They organised a driver to take us up to the Atlas mountains for a day for 750 Dirhams. It was a great trip and we were able to avoid the other large groups of tourists. The breakfasts of Moroccan pancakes and coffee were a great start to the day.

The Jemaa El Fna is only a 15 minute walk through a series of typically busy streets with plenty going on - never a dull moment. I would thoroughly recommend the Ksiba as a peaceful and relaxing place to stay while you enjoy the exitement and craziness.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelWeaselIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

This Riad is absolutely wonderful if you'd like to sample true Morocco. Its nestled into a quiet corner of the very busy medina and it was quite surprising to experience how peacful and tranquil it felt.

The staff are fantastic and helped organise and book the variouys restaurants and excursions we wanted to go to. This Riad is ideal if you're looking for something that is child friendly and somethin a little different from a standard hotel.

Djema el fana is a 15 minute walk from hotel and about 5 minutes from
the Saadian tombs so perfect for anyone that likes to site see.

  • Liked — Beautiful Rooms, Excellent service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2007

Very similar comments to the review below. Good value, Beautiful Riad, a real oasis of calm, 6 good sized rooms opening onto a central
courtyard. Rooms have no TV (there is one central one if needed) or Hilton-like mod cons (if you want that, don't book a riad) but hot water etc never ran out.

Also several sitting rooms to relax and chat and really great sun terrace on the roof with sunloungers etc.

Very helpful and attentive staff who are there at all times if needed
but are never intrusive. Helps (as with all of Morrocco) if you speak
some French.

Riad location is in the old town and very close to saadian tombs and some sights, but a 20 minute walk to the centre and souks and most other sights etc.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech Le Sangho Privilege
8.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 500 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel Chems
Hotel Chems
#339 of 500 in Marrakech
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Riad Qodwa
Riad Qodwa
#57 of 286 in Marrakech
235 reviews
2.9 mi away
El Miria Palais Riad
El Miria Palais Riad
#59 of 500 in Marrakech
722 reviews
8.6 mi away
Riad Mandalay
Riad Mandalay
#115 of 1,153 in Marrakech
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hayane

Property: Riad Hayane
Address: Derb Kbala No 147 | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco (Formerly Riad Ksiba)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hayane 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hayane with 6 rooms has been recently renovated with passion and enthusiasm, while maintaining its authentic architectural structure. It is located in the Kasbah area of the Medina of Marrakesh, close to the Royal Palace and unavoidable tourist places (Saadian Tombs, the Bahia and El Badi Palace). The famous Jemaa El Fna Square and the souks are reached in 15 minutes walking. The riad is easy to find (ask the Bab Ksiba). To go out in the city, taxis just waiting for you at the door. If you have a car, parking is 60m from the riad (20 Dhs per day or 1.80€), the airport is at 10 minutes. Emilie & Franck - the host - and the entire team of Riad Hayane are at your disposal to ensure you a memorable stay and guide you to explore the richness and effervescence of the city of Marrakech and its surroundings. Welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Hayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing