We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An oasis of calm and relaxation in the centre of chaos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samsara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Samsara
Ranked #25 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and relaxation in the centre of chaos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in November 2009. We had spoken over the phone with the French proprietor who arranged a taxi transfer from the airport for us. This place is a wonderful oasis of calm amongst the turbulent chaos of Marrakech. On arrival late at night we were very well looked after by our host who provided a sumptuous meal with wine. Our room was a romantic dream, the courtyard, with fountain, plants and birds was so so relaxing, while the rooftop provided limited views of the locality.

There are four bedroom and we found that the other travellers staying here were very good company. Late evening discussions about Morocco allowed us to hone our later travel plans.

The location is a little out of the city centre and one has to keep ones wits sharp to avoid getting lost. What made this such a good part of our holiday to Morocco was the ease of organising the stay at this riad with the proprietor the warm hospitality of the staff and the a serine relaxation provided by the calm nature of the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your kindness, I am happy you enjoy the traditional way of live in a real authentic area of the old city ! Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
154
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Riad Samsara was the perfect place to spend our last few nights in Morocco. It has three beautiful bedrooms and a stunning courtyard giving it a luxurious yet homely atmosphere.
The food was delicious home cooked Moroccan cuisine made by the wonderful Melouda and eating in the dining room provided a relaxing contrast to the hustle and hassle of the Medina. It was good to meet other guests when we all sat around the low tables together, sharing our Moroccan experiences over supper. Jaqueline has restored the riad beautifully and is a warm and generous host. The staff were all very helpful and arranged taxis for us and even guided us to and from the hammam in the labyrinth of streets in the Medina.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Riad Samsara is a perfect place to discover the real Morocco Thank you for your kindness. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Riad Samsara has been beautifully restored by Jacquline in the North of the Medina in Marrakech. The location is about a 20 minute walk from the centre but it is in an area with few tourists so you get a true picture of life in Marrakech. The Riad has three beautiful rooms a tranquil courtyard and lovely roof terrace. Milouda the housekeeper cannot do enough for you and is an amazing cook. Make sure you eat dinner at least once. Jacqueline the owner is so welcoming and treats you as part of the family. This Riad is a beautiful retreat and if like us you constantly get lost then a taxi can be taken so there is only a short walk to the Riad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p0ppy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your nice words, hope you'll come back in the real and traditional Medina Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Just returned from three nights at the Riad Samsara. All the reviews are absolutely accurate so I won't repeat all the same here except to emphasize the Riad Samsara truly is architecturally breathtaking. Jacqueline and her staff are every bit as warm and welcoming as described by other travelers. Jacqueline provided taxis to and from the Riad who escort you from where you have to leave the taxi and walk the rest of the way. Especially comforting protection from those aggressive "guides" who ruined Marrakech for us. After venturing out on our own the first day and fending off very persistent "guides" at every turn, I returned to the Riad in tears. Jacqueline arranged for a professional, licensed, english-speaking Guide the next day who walked with us throughout the Medina taking us to many of the places on my To-Do list and we were left alone once it was evident we already had a Guide. We did walk out on our own the next day and you get more confident about finding your way and brushing off the "guides" but they are a real drag. As a result, coming back to the beautiful Riad Samsara becomes a delightful haven. Our final morning it was raining so we just sat in the courtyard, listening to the fountain and birdsong dawdling over the delicious coffee, jams and breads before we took the Supratours bus to Essaouira.

Following the recommendation of previous travelers, I requested dinner the first night we arrived, rightly suspecting that we wouldn't want to find a restaurant for dinner after all our traveling and after our initial impression of walking out in Marrakech, I was especially thankful not to have to go out again that night!!! It was indeed fabulous. The table in the jewel-toned salon with a fire was laid out with four different Moroccan minced salads to dip bread into, followed by the best Lamb Tangine we had on our week long trip in Morocco (and we ate a lot of Tanjine!), ending with marinated strawberries and ice cream. A Moroccan red wine was available. I continued to order Moroccan red wine throughout the week at the recommendation of other Morocco articles and reviews and they are a very enjoyable, affordable option over the French and Italian imports. Could easily have happily eaten in each night!

Stay at the Riad Samsara, you won't be disappointed!!!

Oh, the "almost" is Riad Samsara does not have a plunge pool like many other Riads, if that's important to you...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromAwayCT2ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
You are Lovely ! Thank youso much, we adore to welcome you Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We loved our stay at Riad Samsara. The riad came recommended to us by friends, and they did not steer us wrong. The rooms were clean and spacious, the staff was very friendly, and the owner, Jacqueline, was fantastic. We also stayed in her place in Imlil, the Douar Samra, which we loved as well.

I liked the fact that it was located a bit off of the beaten track, but close to one of the gates to the medina, Bab Tarzout, which made it very easy to get to especially at night. It also made it very easy to get a taxi when we needed it. The riad is also very quiet at night - we slept soundly.

The only point I would say to other travellers is that it's very difficult to find - another guest really helped us out by walking with us from the riad to Bab Tarzout and pointing out landmarks so that we could find our way. The medina was fine to walk around during the day but it didn't feel safe at night - too many teenagers hanging out with nothing to do except aggressively sell you directions to your hotel!

Overall, had a great stay and a great time in Marrakech.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guiliano89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
We are happy you like Morocco, Marrakech is magic ! the first day it's a bit surprising and the second you feel marrackchi .....it's popular but safe. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

This small but delightful riad is tucked away to the North of the souks and in the heart of everyday Medina life . This location is for anyone who wants to experience the real Marrakech and see ordinary folk goin about their everyday life. Nonetheless (once you sort out the geography) it is only 10 minutes from the bustling and colourful souks and 15 minutes from the Square. Melouda the housekeeper is a star and an excellent cook to boot. We stayed in the small room which ws fine and excellent value for money but the two other larger rooms looked top notch. We came to hear of Samsara following a stunning stay in Dar Samra the sister house in the High Atlas mountains

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayeffsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
What a pleasure to welcome you at Samsara Riad, thank you for your kind review. All the best. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I absolutely agree with KatieMagoo’s review: you do not need to worry that the reality will not live up to the pictures on the website, in this case it does, and then some. Riad Samsara is located just inside the north wall of the Medina. The first thing you see after walking through the hallway is the fantastically beautiful courtyard opening up to the Moroccan sky. Jacqueline, the owner, has done a fantastic job with the restoration of the riad, it all feels very authentic with amazing patterns of mosaic, flowers everywhere and in the middle a little fountain filled with fresh roses. It all looks like something out of “One Thousand and One Nights”.

There are 3 different rooms at the riad, we stayed in 2 of them, since we went for a little trip in between our stays in Riad Samsara. Both rooms where immaculately clean, with very comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and beautiful Moroccan design in both rooms.

Starting every day with a delicious breakfast; fresh orange juice, home made pancakes, bread, jam, yoghurt, tea/ coffee, bird song, flowers, what more do you need?? All served in the sunshine in the stunningly beautiful courtyard.
When you come back to Riad Samsara after a busy day of sightseeing I highly recommend the roof terrace, beautiful, sunny and quiet, it is the perfect place to relax with your book before dinner.

We had some nice dinners in Morocco, in fancy and less fancy restaurants, and one of the best ones we had at Riad Samsara. The setting was incredible, romantic table for 2 up on the roof terrace, candles, moonlight, and an amazing meal of home cooked tagine, generous portions and with a very nice bottle of Moroccan wine.

It was wonderful to have Riad Samsara to come back to after the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. Mme Jacqueline is the most friendly, helpful, charming hostess you could possibly have, nothing is a problem to her, and she is always ready to help with absolutely everything from taxi rides to restaurant recommendations, or just sit down for a good chat, spoiling us with lovely mint tea and Madeira cake.

Anna & Robbie

  • Liked — Our hostess, Jacqueline
  • Disliked — That we had to leave it and go back home...
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Annano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, now the WIFI signal is much better. Jacqueline XXXX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#8 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#27 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#7 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#20 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#43 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Property: Riad Samsara
Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Samsara 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing