We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samsara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Samsara
Ranked #26 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thank you Jacqueline and staff for making M a princess and giving us an unforgettable honeymoon. The Riad is so full of character and local detail that we took many pictures inside the Riad! The food was also fantastic, including vegetarian

The location, like many Riads, is off an alleyway and you have to be a bit adventurous to explore, but we were fine with that.

A tip is that from Easter the showers end and the courtyard will be clear of its plastic cover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackd0uglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you lovely Princess, to share with us this special Riad SAMSARA, we hope you'll come back Very best wishes Jacqueline and all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
151
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A magical stay in the most extraordinary place I could imagine. Amazing food - unpretentious and beautifully prepared. Impeccable hosts who quietly organized our transfers and excursions and provided superb local knowledge. I've no doubt this will be a place I will be drawn back to again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank east9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
What a pleasure to meet you and welcome you at Riad SAMSARA, hope you'll stay longer next time. Very kind regards Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful traditional riad and it was so romantic and so amazing. It was beyond our expectations, the team of staff really do look after you so well and it really is like living with a lovely family. Nothing is too much trouble and they all go the extra mile to help you get the best out of the area. This is a traditional riad and you get a real feel of Marrakech and of those that live there. Jacqueline is the heart of it all and her energy is sparkling and joyful! Do go there we and do eat there too the food is quite amazing and we just loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fransimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Google Translation
Chers amis, c'est grace à vous que ce Riad SAMSARA est si agréable, grace à vos sourires et votre gentillesse, nous vous attendons avec impatience. Tres amicalement Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Bentheim
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and what a beautifull place this is !
Quiet and peacefull leaving the " hectic" life of Marrakech behind you as soon as you close the door.
From the first moment we felt a very warm welcome by Isabelle and Milouda, looking after us so well.

Thank you Jacqueline for having us !
Sandra ten Brink

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your kindness, all staff sends you lots of best wishes and hope you'll come back in the old city, Riad SAMSARA is situated in a authentic area, it's a part of charm Very kind regards Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Samsara for a long weekend in early March. Mme Jacqueline was not there but her colleague Mme Isabelle and the rest of the staff really made us welcome, having arranged transport from the airport (150MAD). Our flight was delayed so we were nearly two hours behind schedule when we got to the Riad but this was not a problem.

We were met by Isabelle and shown to our room - The Jacaranda - which was beautifully furnished and equipped. We dined at the Riad on a splendid lamb tagine which had been specially prepared for us and had a pleasant bottle of local rose wine to help it down.

The breakfast is served on the roof terrace and is amazing. Flat breads, artisan breads, honey and jam, topped off with huge amounts of fresh fruit. I have never seen such large strawberries and they tasted good too!

We had a day trip to the mountains to the other property owned by Mme Jacqueline. This is a little village house in a valley, surrounded by snow-capped mountains and was delightful. It's about a two-hour drive from the city and well worth it.

The staff at the Riad Samsara were great - very helpful and friendly. It would probably help future visitors if they have a smattering of French as apart from Mmes Jacqueline and Isabelle, noone there speaks much English.

All in all, we found the Riad Samsara just as good as other reviewers and would unhesitatingly recommend it to others as an oasis of calm and beauty in an otherwise mad city.

One point though - the Riad is quite difficult to find, being a distance from the Souks and Square, down a side alley without signage; but it is well worth the effort.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms - all equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaycouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kindness, it was so nice to welcome you at Riad SAMSARA. We are situated in a very traditional area. Just 15min walk to the souks and 20 min to Jema el Fna square... to discover the old city ... hope to see you soon Very kind regards Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

An incredible oasis in Marrakech - Jacqueline made us all feel very welcome and like a million dollars! We loved every minute of our stay and wish we'd had a little longer in her superb riad. Finished to the highest standard, the rooms are beautiful and fantastic value for money. Very close to the souks for a spot of shopping!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaClaireR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
It was beautiful to share Riad SAMSARA with you, lots of love from all staff. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was recommended Riad Samsara by a friend and by no means was I disappointed.

Jacqueline was extremely welcoming and efficient helping to sort out our transport from the airport and so friendly and nice.

The Riad is located in the old town which I would highly recommend as it is quite relaxed compared to the central square and is an easy walking distance to most things.

The Riad itself is like something magic, you go through a large door in a wall to suddenly find yourself in the most beautiful tranquil surroundings. Our room was amazing and beautifully put together. Milouda made the most incredible breakfast in the mornings that were such a treat to wake up to and everyone was so helpful in helping us settle into the area (as Marrakech itself is quite confusing to navigate at first.)

The Riad was such a nice place to go and relax after days of exploring Marrakech. I also made full use of the roof terrace reading my book as the sun went down sipping on mint tea. Couldn’t recommend this place higher – myself and my boyfriend didn’t want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verity p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
You are lovely, thank you so much, all the Riad SAMSARA Ladies send you lots of kisses. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#10 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#23 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Chafia
Riad Chafia
#35 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#31 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Badi
Riad Badi
#9 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Property: Riad Samsara
Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Samsara 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing