We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Riad: A place we'd like to visit again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Samarkand
Ranked #68 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad: A place we'd like to visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This Riad is really like arriving in a oasis after being lost in the desert: it is a dream come true!
As soon as you get into the courtyard, which is a green setting, it feels you are in another world and another time. First of all, It is so quiet and peaceful you really enjoy not to be anymore in the noise and the restlessness of the town! Then the building is a beauty and the swimming pool literally calls you for a refreshing bath.
We came with our young sun ( it makes us much more hard to please ) and we enjoyed the quality of the service, the cleanness of the rooms and the constant attention of the working team (the staff is always ready to help you out with everything you need).
Thanks to a very efficient french manager, the standard of this riad is reaching a very high european level while all the oriental tradditional charm is preserved.
We enjoyed our stay and will keep from it an impression of an exotic and luxury moment.
Alex, Amalia and Jules, from Switzerland

Room Tip: Our Pondichery Suite was just perfect...and we could visit almost all the rooms during our stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mangosoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
131
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had the most perfect sta in Riad Samarkand. The riad itself is beautiful, it is in the perfect location and Pierre was super helpful ensuring that we made the most of our visit. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a really good stay in this wonderful riad. Everybody was really kind, welcoming and really professional. Pierre, the manager is great and was there for us anytime if needed which was really appreciated. Last but not least the meals prepared in house by the cook Bouchra are amazing. Hope to go back there really soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPS293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in the Samarkand Suite for 4 nights -- perfect location for exploring the medina; close to souks and main attractions. Samarkand Suite was perfect size for family of 4 (2 adults and 2 preteens). Pierre, hotel manager, was extremely helpful with advice and even personally escorted us on our first two outings to be sure that we knew how to find our way back to the riad. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Three of my friends and I stayed in 2 rooms at Riad Samarkand for 4 nights. The riad is beautiful and well cared for and the rooftop terrace was very pleasant. The best dinners we had in Marrakech were at the riad and the breakfasts were delicious and LARGE. We were served wine and appetizers on the roof whenever we requested it. Pierre was very helpful arranging an excellent guide (Mustafa) , dinner reservations and making suggestions about things we should see and do. I loved staying there!

Room Tip: I was in the room above the kitchen which was a bit noisy in the morning but wonderful otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CPTRAVELER33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Riad Samarkand is a beautifully restored building - it's sublime after the hustle of the streets of Marrakech. The garden in the courtyard is peaceful and relaxing, the rooms are stunning, the décor perfect. We had expected a beautiful hotel, but what we hadn't expected was the wonderful evening meals we were served. The cooking was some of the best we had in all of Morocco - including some very well known 4 and 5 star hotel restaurants and incredible value too. Pierre is a very welcoming host as are the rest of the staff in the Riad - and the children were welcomed too - as they were throughout Morocco. A wonderful stay - I hope we'll back back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the Samarkand Suite which was a very impressive, very large room with a big balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our second visit to Riad Samarkand. It is the perfect oasis with fabulous attentive service, the most beautiful furnishings and garden. Our host Pierre is incredibly helpful and courteous and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Samarkand Suite is enormous with the most beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#118 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Anyssates
Riad Anyssates
#158 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#22 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Property: Riad Samarkand
Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing