We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Magic Riad Samarkand!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Magic Riad Samarkand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Riad Samarkand was a perfect place to stay in during my first visit together with my friends in Marrakech beginning of March. Beautiful riad and well taken care of by Cyril and his friendly staff who did their absolutely best to make our stay very good. If you needed anything they were there to help you! No doubt I'll be back and look forward to stay in Samarkand again. =)
Thank you Cyril with staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
131
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

This overdue review is for a trip made November 2010, but I see that the riad is meeting the same stellar reception from guests that have stayed since that time. We were disappointed to find the highly rated Riad L'Orangerie booked, but the manager Cyril suggested we try this sister riad. It was unbelievable, as I hope you can see from the photos. Cyril was tremendously helpful with our itinerary, and walked us along the path to the main marketplace until we were comfortable. Do have dinner at the riad one night - we arranged for a delicious and romantic dinner on our arrival night. This will be remembered as one of my favorite accommodations in the entire world.

Room Tip: The Isfahan room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FPCummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

What a surprise when we walked through the Riads big black doors into a beautiful garden oasis. We were welcomed by Cyril with mint tea and delicious little cakes after our flight from Manchester and Gatwick. Cyril was a lovely french man, who very kindly went with out of his way to show my husband and I how to get to the nice restaurants and the Souk. Which is very helpful when, like us you have never been to Marrakech before. It can be quite daunting, but we had no need to worry as we felt so very safe. Even at night coming back from the restaurants down the little ally ways, and you very soon get to find your way around.
We would certainly go back and stay at Riad Samarkand, it was a little bit of heaven in all the chaos of Marrakech.
Patrick the owner of the Riad most helpful and charming, and we feel, we have made a new friend for life in him. What a very interesting man he is.
Try dinner there, at least one evening. It was delicious.
The only thing we regret, is not visiting Marrakech in warmer months as it was cold ,and we would of liked to of enjoyed the lovely garden and outside areas at the Riad.
It's an experience we wouldn't of missed for the world, and we hope to go back one day.
If you like a drink stock up at dutyfree.

Room Tip: all room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived at Riad Samarkand in the early evening, using the transfer service arranged by the Riad and all went smoothly, from pick up at arrivals to drop off at the Riad door (last 300M on foot as alleys not suitable for vehicles). Cyril, the Riad manager, greeted us and showed us round the Riad, we had pre-ordered our evening meal and this was ready for us at a time we chose. Our suite (Pondicherry – the smallest I believe) had a bedroom, separate lounge area and wc/wet room – all the rooms were decorated to a very high standard in local and worldwide antiques with extremely high airy ceilings and gorgeous huge windows.

The evening meal we had was tasty and much appreciated after our journey, served in one of the ground floor lounges, there was a good selection of beverages but as these were all in addition to the 25euro per person meal charge things could get a little pricey. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served pretty much when and where you want it. There is a choice of tea (British) or coffee and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice every morning. Breakfast consists of chopped fruit and yoghurt followed by a selection of breads (inc. a slice of cake and local types) and conserves. A simple breakfast, but nicely presented and more than adequate to set you up until lunch.

After our first breakfast Cyril sat with us and had a chat and advised us on how to navigate our way around the Medina, he also gave us a map. We were lost within 10 minutes of leaving the Riad! Luckily we bumped into Cyril in the street and he was happy to do some more intense navigation coaching! I think being lost on your first day in the Medina is inevitable, so come prepared to be chilled about it – maybe worth hiring a recommended guide for your first morning, we didn’t but it would have made life easier. Whatever, by the end of the first day, one way or another you will be getting your bearings.

Riad Samarkand is approximately 10 minutes walk from the northern edge of the souks and 15 mins from the big square. There are many Riads that are a lot closer to the centre of things, but after visiting a couple of these we decided the space and peace provided at Samarkand was well worth the extra walking. There is oodles of space at the Riad, right through from the suites to the courtyard and roof terraces, most of the time you feel like you have the whole place to yourself.

We found the beds comfy and wet room facilities very good, there is a safe in the bedroom and plenty of hanging space. We slept with some of the windows open and the call to prayer did not disturb us after the first morning.

We flew with Ryanair - be warned you have to go to the check in desk at Marrakech airport even if you have checked in on line and as with all Ryanair flights make sure you are not last on or you'll have no where to stow your cabin luggage!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKRatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our charming host Cyril offered guidance before and during our trip. He arranged taxis to pick us up and a guide who was very reasonably priced and invaluable to us. The Riad itself is a little paradise, perfect for our group of 10. Each suite is exquisite. We used the pool, dining room and the rooftop terrace when we returned at night. Lanterns in the outdoor areas and roses everywhere create a magical effect. Breakfasts and dinner were healthy and delicious. The Moroccan staff are delightful. Having stayed in La Mamounia before I would choose Samarkand as a true Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrudenBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley du Loir
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

There are two images that spring to mind when I think of the most relaxing place on earth – one is a beach in the Maldives and the other is sitting in the garden of Riad Samarkand watching the reflections of the swimming pool. Our room, the Isfahan, was exquisite; the breakfasts (freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, crumpets and other breads and jams) and dinners (couscous, tanjier and pastille au lait) were divine; the staff were wonderful. They even had two tortoises that scuttled round the garden. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonerinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in Samarkand suite and loved it. The Riad has been fully restored and maintained to the highest standards, it is spotlessly clean and quiet, and represents a true oasis in the back alleys of the Medina. The alleyways are safe at night and the riad is well positioned for the main square. Cyril is a delightful host, I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#83 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#21 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#1 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jaaneman
Riad Jaaneman
#171 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Property: Riad Samarkand
Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing