We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Samarkand
Ranked #53 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Lovely Riad in the old town...quiet, peaceful...really lovely. Be sure to have dinner at the Riad one night, it was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
131
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed at Riad Samarkand three times now - so clearly I love it. It's a gorgeously remodeled riad in a traditional style with a beautiful central courtyard. For me it's in the perfect location close to the souks, a quick walk to the main Place and easy access to Gueliz when you want a change from the medina. The staff is extremely courteous, the food quite delicious, and Cyril who's in charge, will do whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. I have to thank him again for finding a moroccan cooking course for me to take. To me this is a true oasis in the middle of the sometimes crazy and chaotic medina.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dab212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carquefou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

So peaceful, friendly and enjoyable !
This is a place to recommend to our friends.
A special thanks Cyril to answered all our questions.
We cannot wait to return.
Tristan from carquefou in L.A. (Loire atlantique ! :-))

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank treetsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is a true hidden gem, and great value for the money. Cyril and the staff are extremely helpful. When the wi-fi didn't work, Cyril even allowed me to use his office whenever I wanted. Cyril arranged a wonderful guide for us who gave us a spectacular day tour of Marrakech. Perhaps most importantly, you get to stay in the heart of the vibrant city without the saccharine barrier of a massive western hotel. Truly lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhkester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Samarkand. Cyril is really kind and helped us in many ways getting orriented in the craziness of marrakech. They have very good taste - the riad is stylish, impeccably clean, calm, and altogether well done. A bit tough to find at first but once you get it, the location is good.

Also - some of the only softish beds we slept on in 10 days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrohn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

More than perfect. Our trip to Marrakech would not have been a success had we stay elsewhere. I was told by a friend who had travelled Morocco extensively to stay in a Riad within the Medina, he was right. I would never have imagined being able to experience such a different culture first hand to the extent we did. We found the listing for Riad Samarkand on many luxury travel sites, as well as on Trip Advisor, so we felt confident in booking the whole Riad (5 rooms) for our group for our week business trip in Marrakech. From the arrival at the airport ,when a driver was waiting for us, to the final good-bye when we left at 5:30 am and Cyril, the manager, accompanied us to the car, we were all treated like Royalty by the many staff members. Each staff member is professional, dressed in uniform (Caftan) and very helpful and pleasant. Each room is very spacious (very high ceilings and large windows as well) and beautifully furnished with typical Moroccan furnishings. The Riad has been restored to its original splendor with all modern conveniences (including WIFI that we all used as most of us were on business and had our laptops) all the while keeping its stunning architectural details (too many to list - but do notice the ingenious ancient hardware on the room doors that allows you to choose the size of the opening). There are also many common areas indoors (living rooms, sitting areas, dining room) and outdoors, including 3 terraces on the roof that we much enjoyed. The layout proved to be most perfect as everyone had their own privacy all the while being able to find common areas for sub-groups to meet and discuss without bothering or restricting those who needed to work or wanted to relax. Breakfast varies from day to day and includes local breads, pastries and jams, yogurt, home made fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, hot milk, etc and is served at the hour you request. You can pretty much ask for whatever you need. Drinks , hot and cold, as well as snacks are available throughout the day and at reasonable prices. We organized lunch for our clients twice at the Riad. Both times the Riad's cook (who has a beautiful singing voice by the way) made a light and tasty typical meal with a fresh salad and a beautiful piece of fresh poached glazed fruit for dessert ( pear the first day, white peach the second ). One night we hosted a diner at the Riad including local wines. All our guest much appreciated the opportunity to visit a Riad and the break from the hustle and bustle of the convention's main venue which was the Sofitel. I used the pool nearly every day. A perfect lap pool size. Those of us who used it brought the measure of the pool home hoping to fit a similar one in our back yards. The garden is beautifully maintained and is home to many birds. The staff even put fresh roses in the water fountain. Cyril, the manager was on hand throughout our stay and arranged all our needs from booking a driver and giving him detailed instructions where to bring us on our day off outside Marrakech, to making diner reservations and hair appointments. We will all truly miss this beautiful Riad and the excellent service. I really cannot imagine finding a better place to stay, it was magical. We had the opportunity to visit the many 5 star hotels in Marrakech as most of the other delegates were staying in them. They are fine but most are modern constructions and have been done quite economically. If you have a bit of a sense of adventure and want to get a feel for the culture and way of life in Marracheck, I recommend that you stay in the Medina in a Riad, Actually I srongly recommend you stay in the prestine Riad Samarkand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iknowwhatsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Tough to reserve a place via web pictures so we had some trepidation when we booked the Riad Samarkand. We were hoping for a special place. Took about a minute for our worries to float away and for us to relax and enjoy this wonderful place to stay and its superlative staff. Our flight arrived three hours late but the arranged driver from the Riad was patiently waiting there and gave us a good indoctrination to the area on the drive in. He helped take our bags down the winding pathways of the Medina that became very familiar to us in the days ahead. Arriving around 10pm with two tired children in tow, Cyril met us and walked us to a main street where it was easy to find a restaurant for our hungry group. Each day he patiently answered dozens of our questions, got us dinner reservations and gave us some welcome insight to the city. The next 4 days were filled with wandering with breaks to lounge by the pool in the heat of the day. We were there in July of 2010 - a hot month to visit for sure but not enough to deter us in the least. Our 7 and 9 year old kids lounged by the ample sized pool, on our private balcony or on the rooftop terrace. Plenty of room inside the Samarkand suite for all of us. Air conditioning made sleeping very comfortable and the bathroom is luxurious. The design of the entire Riad is fantastic.
Breakfasts were a perfect start to the day - strong coffee, fresh fruits and delicious breads. If only we had more time to stay and enjoy the place. With favorable winds, we will be back to Marrakech and surely stay at the Riad Samarkand once again. Thanks to all there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclipsesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#24 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#6 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#1 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Jaaneman
Riad Jaaneman
#169 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Property: Riad Samarkand
Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing