We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Celia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Celia
Ranked #499 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The owner does anything possible to make your stay worthwhile. We arrived early in the morning (8AM), and he offered us an extra breakfast for free. Similar, we returned to our room for a while during the afternoon, and he told that we could get tea or orange juice, free again.

The whole riad is clean and well maintained, it used to be owned by a local big chief, the architecture is wonderful.
Our room was at the lowest level, a bit chilly. Would be the best to get when it is hot outside, otherwise better ask for a room at a higher floor.
The Riad has a terrace on the roof, you can have your breakfast there too (failed in our case: occupied by a group).
Our bathroom was nothing special. The owner also showed us the big main room, can be rented as a studio.

The location is great: you're in the medina, typical small street, people walking by, bikes, ..; and indeed just 5 minutes walk to Djemaa El Fna. There is also a good restaurant (with roof terrace) three houses away, direction of El Fna, Rue Riad Zitoun el Jdid.

Room Tip: If hot: ask for the room at the lowest level. If chilly ask for one at a higher floor, but then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    25
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarifa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was back again, greeted like a long lost friend, everything was done to make me feel welcome. I had reserved the suite which is enormous (with a very small bathroom!) so my friend, who was next door, and I had a lovely area to sit with our tea - we had to spend quite a lot of time in as the weather was appalling. The staff are so friendly and helpful, tea is offered (and they do not charge for this), breakfast (adequate if not exciting) is included. It is very clean, good bedlinen (hard pillows). Given the awful weather we ordered dinner - the vegetable pastella was the best I have ever eaten; a three course dinner for a more than reasonable price. The rooms are all attractive (look up at the ceilings) and we found rooms 2 and 4 (next to the suite) very acceptable (less stairs to climb when you return to the Dar). The location is excellent. The whole place 'grows on you'. I have stayed in many dars/riads in Marrakech, but find this beats them all when it comes to value for money. I feel very at home there and shall go back.There is TV in the salon which was useful this time as given the rain we spent more time than usual in the Dar. My compliments ro Redouane and Khalid for the way they look after all their guests.

Room Tip: The suite if you want space - and it is very 'exotic'. All other rooms are smaller but all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Reid-Tarifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

After visiting Riad Celia last January i came back again in March. This time with 7 of my travelling friends. We decided to book Riad Celia for its good location and pleasant staff. From experience we know that our guides need to park their cars and this is easy at the Bahia Parking. Unfortunately i never got to meet Samira but the new manager, Redouane is just as professional. Khalid was so kind and was always available when needed. thank you both for a lovely stay.
While we were there (2 nights prior to departure (2nd & 3rd) and 3 nights on return (13th, 14th and 15th of March) they changed the furniture on the roof terrace. I had booked all the rooms on the roof terrace; the best ones. By the way the local Hammam on the Bahia Parking is ok, the massages are good! Un déjeuner a Marrakech serves excellent food and is just opposite the Riad. Excellent for late arrivals!
I will be back!

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HolaTarifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We (three girls) stayed in the RIAD CELIA in March 2012.
It was really a wunderful riad: nice staff, clean rooms, nice terrace,cool patio, great location.
It is close from the Jemma El Fna (5 minutes walk) but really quiet.
We loved the place and will come back, should we be in Marrakesch again.
Nevertheless, the pillows were a little bit to hard and the staff could only speak little english.
But all in all I would really recommend the RIAD CELIA.

Room Tip: Take rooms 8-12 which are on the second floor and therefore more quiet and with lots of natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Bagpuize, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Riad Celia is in an almost quiet spot set just a few minutes walk from the traditional markets in Jemaa El Fna. The rooms, although not modern by any standards, were very comfortable and the staff very helpful. Tea seemed to have been included in the price as we never paid for it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryLoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarifa, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have just come back from a fabulous holiday with my family (hubby and 2 kids) in Essaouira. We decided to leave Essaouira one day earlier to spend our last evening in Marrakech. We travelled by car so it was an easy decision. I rang Riad Celia to enquire about availability and we were offered the grand suite for a very good price. Parking was no problem on the Bahia parking. We paid 40 dh for the night (twice the price as in Essaouira) which was absolutely fine. When we arrived our room was nice and warm....what a treat! Our breakfast was the best of that whole week and the coffee tasted like 'coffee'. It was warm enough to sit out on the cozy terrace with the morning sun coming up. A pity i didn't get to meet Samira but i am back with a whole group of ladies in March when we leave for our anual trip into the South, so i know i will get that chance. A good place to stay with kids (8 and 5).

Room Tip: i would probably recommend the top floor rooms when travelling alone or with partner. For us the gra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HolaTarifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in the Kaidal Suite here & it was really nice. Great bed, great space & after walking through the medina all day lazing about on the couch with an ice cold drink gazing at the amazing tiles was the perfect way to cool down before heading out again! All the staff were really friendly & helpful. Sitting in the sun on the rooftop for breakfast surrounded by the smell of jasmine (which every now & again would also drift under the door of your room) was beautiful. We had dinner at the Riad on our first night & it was amazing. Location is fantastic, just a few minutes from Djemaa el-Fna.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thad_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#27 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#108 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Celia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Celia

Property: Riad Celia
Address: 1 Dourar Graoua, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #499 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Riad Celia 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Celia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Celia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing