We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“wonderfull stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chergui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Chergui
Ranked #33 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wonderfull stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

a marvellous stay , Emanuelle is a delight and very welcoming , the Riad is a short walk from the main square , be careful of people wanting to show you around and ask you for money .

Breakfast was very good , we had dinner there on our first night , it was excellent , they also do snacks and light meals during the day .

It is very clean and beautifully kept .

Room Tip: higher floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    40
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
108
259
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
upstate NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I first stayed at Riad Chergui in July 2011 on a side trip from some business. I am happy to say that my stay this July, two years later, was just as great. Even better really. I brought my 18-year old son and his reaction was just as mine was in 2011, the Riad is jaw-dropping beautiful. Sabine is a thoughtful and accommodating hostess and the staff is very attentive.

The Riad is an oasis of peace and tranquility in Marrakech; the pool is particularly wonderful. It is well-located and the perfect place to relax between morning and late-afternoon outings during the blistering midday summer heat. The staff prepares a sumptuous breakfast each day and accommodates requests if you need to leave early for an excursion before regular breakfast hours. Lunch and dinners are available with notice, though I have never tried them, I imagine they are as good as everything else at the Riad.

Two great discoveries for food near the Riad this trip: Chez Yassine- great, cheap local fare. Henna Cafe- great food, good prices- all profits go to charity to help local Moroccans (artwork for sale too). Both have listings here on TA.

Room Tip: If the Riad isn't full, ask if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knight_w_o_armor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent two nights there. The place was great but too much oriented to Europeans. All prices were quoted in EUR and any extras was definitely overcharged. We were given wrong instructions on the hotel location and when we arrived (after midnight) nobody offered much assistance. To be honest for the price we paid, we should have been offered a free ride from the Marrakesh station to the Riad... never mind. The room we had had an old door that did not lock and every time somebody was passing by it would open. That added to the noise we had to experience in the room. The door was fixed the day we were departing and no discount was offered for the inconvenience of lack of privacy. Shame really. As said, great place and very clean but overpriced. Great location too.

Room Tip: Ask for exact location information, do not choose many extras (such as transfer etc.) and ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Chergui was a real highlight of our trip to Morocco. Staff were friendly, the hostess genial, location excellent, surroundings beautiful. Dipping in the cool pool surrounded by palm trees after lounging in the fierce sun is a memory that will stay with me forever.

We had the cheapest room which was cool, cute and quirky. Just what you we wanted from our Riad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Extraordinary environment and service. Good location in Medina. Fantastic contrast between the busy and messy life at Djemaa el Fna and this "true oasis" where to find real relax and balance. Don not missRiad Chergui and you will not be disappointed. Emmanuelle has got it right!

Mattias & Simo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We rented the whole riad for a weekend in October for a 30th birthday. We couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the riad had lots of interesting communal spaces to hang out in, including on the roof and by the pool, the pool was very welcoming in the heat and after wandering around the souks and there was even an honesty bar.

We had one evening meal in the riad beside the pool - it looked magical. The food was very good Moroccan affair and Emmanuelle even arranged for a bellydancer to come and entertain us (and embarrass us by making us join in! Well, embarrassed the sober ones at least!).

The riad is a stone's throw from the souks and a 15 minute walk from the main square.

I would recommend this riad to everyone and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen_Bean_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I researched long and hard for a nice place to stay with my mum and sister, this place was perfect (we booked both places in Morocco through www.hipmorocco.com/ I definitely recommend them!) The rooms were beautiful, and the lounging area around the pool was perfect during the day and also for a pre dinner drink. The staff got a shisha ready for us, brought over drinks and snacks, it was heaven. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHolidayDesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#146 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#17 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Property: Riad Chergui
Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chergui 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing