We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, Brilliant, but a few very minor criticisms.”
Review of Riad Chergui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Chergui
Ranked #26 of 1,159 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

As per all of the other reviews, this Riad is exceptional in its tranquility, the room was the smallest on offer but still perfectly presented and functional. The hosts were very helpful, with breakfast a particular highlight. I would absolutely recommend it, and would visit again.

The few minor criticisms, which if resolved would have earned 5/5 are as follows:

- The transfer from Airport to Riad (organised by the riad) dropped us off as close as possible, however, the driver immediately gave our bags to local youths saying they 'worked for the riad'. In fact they didn't, and were disappointed when we had no change to pay them for their assistance at the riad door. As a first time in a new culture, we felt somewhat threatened in the dark of night.
- The wifi signal does not reach far enough, there was no signal in room 4 nor the poolside area.
- I would have loved to have a seen a simple menu of lunchtime snacks, or options for dinner.
- In the evening, we experienced some noise in Room 4. I believe this was staff in the kitchen area. Fortunately our sleep was not disturbed. :)
- While I know you don't go on holiday to watch TV, the satellite TV in the lounge does not have a single English channel.

Wifi
Menu
Transfer
Noise
Satellite

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyUpNorthBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Riad Chergui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 609 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

Paradise in the centre of mad Marrakech. Really good location.
Emmanuelle and her staff were the perfect hosts. Helped us with our car hire problems, without question.
Beautiful Riad, stunning pool area and a great breakfast. Worth every penny. The ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The fact that this is my 6th trip to Chergui should say everything, the Riad is always spotlessly clean, the welcome always warm and the service always impeccable. Thanks to Emmanuelle and Ilham as always. This has truly become one of my 'happy places' and I hope to visit many many many times in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at RIAD Chergui with my partner for 3 nights on our visit to Marrakech. It's all been said here before so I won't waste time repeating other reviews.

Suffice to say this really is a gem of a place and you won't be disappointed.

We spent our time lazing by the pool reading, just occasionally venturing out into the madness that is Marrakech. Great location too, not right in the thick of things but with everything walkable.

Thanks to all the staff who helped make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_0n_the_r0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautiful riad, great location away from the hustle and bustle of Marrekech. Lovely pool area and roof top terrace. Great staff, very attentive and friendly..nice brekkie and dinner served near the pool area. Highly recommend..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Arranged the airport pick up with Emmanuel before our arrival. The taxi dropped us outside the some street where we were picked up by Emnanuel. The short walk to the riad was certainly not what we were expecting - narrow, dirty, dark lanes. But that us as we found out all of the streets within the Medina.

Once inside the Riad, the chaos is quickly forgotten and you are welcomed into a beautiful courtyard surrounded by high rise walls.

Emmanuel explained our location, places to eat and visit (and not to venture into!). We had dinner at the riad on the first night.

Each day we would leave around 10.30am to explore the medina. By 4pm we would be back into the oasis of the riad which was very welcome. We ventured out for dinner on most nights after a couple of hours of rest.

A useful hint us to bring plenty of euros as the riad charges in euros. If paying by credit card then the bill is converted to Dirham at a less favourable exchange rate.

Also we bought our bottled water from the cornershop out on the street which was a lot cheaper than the riads or restaurants.

On the whole an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CirrusHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the smallest (cheapest) room. We had a fantastic stay. The riad is in a great location for first timers, being out of the central souques it is much easier to navigate to and the immediate surroundings are quiet. Breakfasts were fantastic although we weren't made aware that we cold order extras such as eggs until our final day. We ate here one night and the food was great value and very tasty. Air Con in the room was a god send and the pool was a lovely addition.

Room Tip: The small room was great value for money.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MintTeaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Palacio de las Especias
Palacio de las Especias
#20 of 1,159 in Marrakech
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,159 in Marrakech
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#27 of 1,159 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#18 of 1,159 in Marrakech
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,159 in Marrakech
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#13 of 1,159 in Marrakech
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,159 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $84 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chergui 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing