We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Oasis in the middle of "desert"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chergui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Chergui
Ranked #34 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oasis in the middle of "desert"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Arranged the airport pick up with Emmanuel before our arrival. The taxi dropped us outside the some street where we were picked up by Emnanuel. The short walk to the riad was certainly not what we were expecting - narrow, dirty, dark lanes. But that us as we found out all of the streets within the Medina.

Once inside the Riad, the chaos is quickly forgotten and you are welcomed into a beautiful courtyard surrounded by high rise walls.

Emmanuel explained our location, places to eat and visit (and not to venture into!). We had dinner at the riad on the first night.

Each day we would leave around 10.30am to explore the medina. By 4pm we would be back into the oasis of the riad which was very welcome. We ventured out for dinner on most nights after a couple of hours of rest.

A useful hint us to bring plenty of euros as the riad charges in euros. If paying by credit card then the bill is converted to Dirham at a less favourable exchange rate.

Also we bought our bottled water from the cornershop out on the street which was a lot cheaper than the riads or restaurants.

On the whole an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CirrusHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    40
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
108
259
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the smallest (cheapest) room. We had a fantastic stay. The riad is in a great location for first timers, being out of the central souques it is much easier to navigate to and the immediate surroundings are quiet. Breakfasts were fantastic although we weren't made aware that we cold order extras such as eggs until our final day. We ate here one night and the food was great value and very tasty. Air Con in the room was a god send and the pool was a lovely addition.

Room Tip: The small room was great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MintTeaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We only stayed for 2 nights here but it is a beautiful Riad with warm hospitality. The management and staff are exceptional and the building itself has everything you could possibly want. The evening meals are excellent (the fish tagine was a particular highlight) and it's very well situation. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtom050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Riad Chergui is a fantastic place to stay. It is beautifully appointed in a traditional style, around a swimming pool. It has a roof terrace (with plenty of shaded areas), amazing breakfasts which you eat by the pool, and is very well situated - a10 minute walk from Jemaa el Fna, so you are right in the centre of things.
We were there for 2 weeks, and loved every minute of it. The most important thing about this place is the welcome from Ilham and Emmanuelle and their staff - warm, friendly, nothing was too much trouble, even though it was Ramadan when we were there and they were all fasting! We felt as though we were guests in someone's home.
We'd go back there like a shot, and would recommend it to anyone. If you're going to Marrakech, look no further - this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Have a look on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

A lovely oasis of calm in the middle of mad Marrakech. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Marrakech can be a bit full on so having somewhere like this to come back to each night was lovely. As soon as you open the front door to the Riad you experience a cooling calmness as the inner courtyard area is shaded and peaceful. There is a great little pool in the middle which is ideal after a long day in the medina! The rooms are immaculate, nice and airy and clean. What really makes the Riad special however is the staff, so friendly, willing to help with any detail of your trip, related to the hotel or otherwise. They gave advice and what to do/not do etc, where to eat, how to get about and pricing, really helpful. They were so flexible about everything too, offering us a late breakfast when we had not made it up in time, late checkout, meals of our choice, it really made a difference.

Now my missus has finished waffling on....... The place is fantastic .. Great roof terrace for napping on, great food and a smashing little pool to have a nice cool dip in. cannot speak highly enough about this place and the staff/owners. Stay and have a great time.... oh and the owner emmanuelle is so funny...ha ha cracks me up thinking about it !!!

Room Tip: Go for the one in the courtyard....lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puddleduckpaddlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Morocco, having spent our first 2 nights at Riad Chergui. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay in this beautiful Riad. Throughout the booking process they were incredibly helpful - arranging a transfer from the airport as well as cooking for us on our first night (which was delicious and very good value). We received a wonderful welcome from Emmanuelle who had also kindly upgraded us to a larger room. With the heat in Marrakech hitting 50degrees the swimming pool was very welcome as were the cold drinks that were available throughout the day. The room was well equipped (with air con - an absolute necessity for this time of year) and spotlessly clean. The Riad is well placed to visit the sites of Marrakech and easy to find, both during the day and at night.

We will definitely be returning in the near future and would not hesitate to recommend this Riad to friends and family.

Room Tip: Book direct with the Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Charming hotel, a real oasis of peace in the quite hectic medina. Friendly and helpful owner.Nicely decoarted all around the place. Cosy little corners to rest or read. You have the feeling there as if you were home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lieveCWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#143 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Property: Riad Chergui
Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chergui 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing