We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here!!!”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #23 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Having been informed by my wife 2 years ago that I needed to arrange something special for her 40th I decided to go for Riad Dar One, Marrakech. Well, she wasn't disappointed and thanks to Jean, Abdel, Hicham and the rest of the Dar one team I have earned some serious points!

This Riad is amazing, from the moment you open the front door (after going through a series of alleyways that felt like you where in a scene from Indiana Jones) to when you leave, you are made to feel so welcome.

Jean and his team have created a hidden gem and have done this by excellent service and a very impressive Riad. I simply communicated via e-mail with Jean and he arranged everything including the pick up from the Airport.
The accommodation is clean, comfortable and very stylish and if you stay in the Dune room the bath tub is massive! Ideal for Valentine’s Day!

Excellent value for money and even with the additional drinks we had every night.

The roof terrace is fantastic. A great sun trap with very comfortable loungers and cushions.

You must stay here if you can. Well done Riad Dar One.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 839 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2011

Wonderfully located Riad with stylish interiors and very attentive staff.
Wish I'd have splashed out and upgraded but our standard room was still more than lovely.
The riad was impeccable clean and the owner has great taste (he is also extremely lovely and very helpful).
Lovely roof terrace provides ideal location for a delicious breakfast in the sunshine. Sumptuous lounge and crackling fire made the evenings a delight.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We just returned from Morocco and while I have never written a review on Trip Advisor, I was more than compelled to do so for Riad Dar One in Marrakech.

We spent 3 nights at Dar One and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. Dar One was an oasis within the glorious craziness of Marrakech and was always such a calm and peaceful place to return to. On our long and treacherous drive back from Erg Chebbi, all we could think about was getting to Dar One.

Jean Peres and his entire team were amazing from start to finish. Jean communicated with us so well from my first email and upon our arrival, had a driver at the airport and then once we got to Dar One, everything was perfect. Abdel, Amina, Meriam, Asma, Hicham and everyone made us feel so at home. From the food to the rooms to the riad itself, It is truly a wonderful place to stay. I can't imagine what our time in Marrakech would have been like without them!

I cannot say enough about how great this place is. Dar One will forever be our home in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goodfoot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Believe the reviews - Riad Dar One really is fantastic. We stayed here over Christmas and can wholeheartedly recommend it. Great location just beside the Bahia Palace - central but not completely in the middle of it. Beautiful Riad. Intimate enough to get to know the other guests but at the same time private and the service! Jean and his staff really were wonderful. Helpful, informative, friendly, responsive. All the tips we got for food, massage etc were spot on. Sitting on the terrace sipping mint tea or drinking wine by the fire in the lounge checking our mails on the wireless internet or just relaxing in our room. Full marks all-round (and we travel a lot).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tagesthemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This definately beats any 5-star hotel! I'm giving them 5 out of 5 stars on all point, there is just nt 1 bad word I can think of.
The Riad is decorated with such a great sense of style! We spent 2 nights in another Riad, which was also loverly, but by far not as perfect as Riad Dar One.
The staff was very polite and helpfull, showing us all the places to go, booking restaurants, bringing us in contact with shops....we simply loved it!
We heard that the owner is busy with a new Riad and we cannot wait to vusit that one too!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passeerder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

We are very experienced travelers and absolutely cannot say enough wonderful things about Riad Dar One. We are a family of 5 with 3 kids ages 17-22. We stayed 5 nights including Christmas, in two rooms. Jean, the owner took care of everything down to the last detail. He had a taxi waiting for us at the airport (highly recommend that); one of his assistants met us at the taxi and led us through the winding alleys back to the Riad. Jean met us upon our arrival, had pastries and mint tea served to us on the roof terrace, and made us feel very much at home. We always felt completely safe in the Riad even walking back at night through the crooked alleyways. The Riad itself is a lovely oasis of calm.
We had two dinners there - both were served by candlelight and the food was delicious. In the evenings, wine and hors d'oeuvres were served in the living room by the crackling fire. On Christmas Eve, Jean gathered all the guests for champagne and lovely appetizers. In the morning, breakfast is served whenever you're ready. Everyone who works at the Dar One was wonderful and willing to go out of their way to help.
Jean arranged two guides plus drivers for us - Yusef to show us all around Marrakesh and give us a lesson in both culture and history, and Hassan, who took us on a wonderful trek in the High Atlas mountains stopping for lunch at a Berber home.
We recommend Dar One without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lrf83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We have stayed in Riad Dar One on 3 separate occasions, and each time have been treated to the most fantatsic hospitality from Jean and his team. I wanted to pass on my eperiences again and urge any prospective travellers to ignore the single negative comment left. In our experience none of the complaints are relevant or indeed true. We would choose Dar One every time we return to Marrakech and indeed will condiser doing so later this year with a very little baby - something we would never do if we had an ounce of concern over our potential stay. It is a joy to stay there and a joy to experience the wonders Marrakech has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanditoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
580 reviews
1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#39 of 500 in Marrakech
1,324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#30 of 500 in Marrakech
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $96 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing