We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Book here now, stop searching you've found it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #25 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Book here now, stop searching you've found it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

A truly chic hotel. The best part of Riad Dar One is the feeling that you get just being there. You feel special. You feel relaxed, yet you are right in the middle of everything. The moment you walk through the doors there is a 'vibe' of cool, both in energy and temperature (very welcome in the searing May heat). Jean, the owner, has created an exclusive feel about the place, where anyone would feel more than welcome. With only 6 rooms it’s intimate (and books out fast so get moving!) yet it retains a casualness, all the other guests while we were there we're really friendly without being overly friendly, a few hello's or waves over evening drinks on the terrace, the odd brief conversation about what’s worth checking out in Marrakesh or exchanging reviews on where to or not to eat (although anyone at Dar One will happily recommend a load of different dining options). This is an atmosphere that Dar One envelopes you with, carefully nurtured by the Dar One team. They even have very cool music playing at just the right times, never too early or late, and its mellow to suit all tastes, you can have a look through the vast collection of music and choose something of your own if you prefer.
Jean runs a relaxed, informal place that can answer to your every need. He’s on hand daily to offer advice and recommendations for restaurants, places to see, travel, whatever the question he will do whatever he can to answer it for you and help you out if you need it. Dar One’s fabulous and friendly staff are always invisible until you need something. They, like Jean, will do what they can to make your stay wonderful. On one occasion a member of staff, while cleaning up after breakfast, noticed I hadn’t eaten much of my food, I mentioned that I usually just have fruit for breakfast, the next morning a freshly prepared exotic fruit salad was presented to me for breakfast along with all the regular breakfast. A really REALLY nice touch.
And I cannot write this review without mentioning Jean’s two fabulous dogs. Tosca, the mother, and Loukoum, the daughter are extremely friendly and so gentle. They, if nothing else, will show you what it means to relax. They loll around the Riad when Jean brings them to work with him and move from shaded place to shaded place. They barely move when you pet them except for the odd glance of gratitude for the pet! They are by far the most well mannered and obedient dogs I have ever met.
I trawled through 100's (and I am not exaggerating) of Riads. Asked the Riad versus Hotel question and decided that I wanted a taste of Morocco. Hotels although varying in service and facilities are hotels no matter where you are. Riads are a taste of Morocco and Dar One was the best of the lot, in terms of facilities, value for money and luxury.
If you want to read more about the place itself continue on…
The Low Down:
Facilities were fantastic; the common areas are like something out of an interior design magazine, modern with a flavor of Morocco. There are two 'common' areas. The main room, where you can have breakfast, dinner, or just drinks. Here you will find the very cold pool, perfect for dipping your feet in and cooling down. Every night it’s aglow with candlelight, cool music and the gentle sound of the modern water feature over the pool. There is also a roof terrace and it is probably the best roof terrace in Marrakesh. Its highlight being the shaded lounge-bed, the size of about 2 kingsize beds put together, take an afternoon nap here, shaded by the canopy from the hot sun, listen to the vibe-y music and while dozing off you may see some storks flying over head. Or enjoy a pre-dinner glass of wine while the sun-sets and listen to the exotic sound of the call to prayer.
Each room is beautiful. There are fresh flowers (roses) in every room and an abundance of them all over the riad. Self-controlled air-conditioning is present in every room although if you get some of the rooms on the ground floor it can be cool enough in your room without it. There was also a fire place in our room for the winter though we did not need it this time. The bathroom was huge and fabulous, a massive double sink accompanied by a massive double bath, definitely big enough for two. Beautiful robes to use while your there were a really nice touch. They also provide a good proper hairdryer and not one of those awful little ones attached to the wall. The beds were very comfortable and big.
Food and drink is available almost at all times in the Riad. Breakfast is served when it suits you each morning (for us it was nearly afternoon sometimes!) and it’s an array of local specialties along with coffee/tea and fresh juice and they will change one of the dishes each day so you get a taste for a few different local dishes. They serve alcoholic drinks and charge VERY REASONABLE prices. We had beers at other locations, hotels, bars, other Riads and Dar One was the best value, at 2.50 euro a beer, we paid 6 euro and more at other places. For dinner you must book in advance, if you tell them that morning I am sure they can arrange something.
Location. We got a taxi from the train station and were meet at the nearest drop off point by staff from the hotel. Smiley and genuinely wanting to help, they led the way back through the medieval streets to the Riad, insisting on carry at least my luggage (I was the only girl!). It’s about an 8 minute walk from the main square Place de Jemmna. It’s a perfect distance, far away from the madding crowds yet close enough to pop up and back as you feel like it. You will pass through street with many shops along the way so there is plenty to keep you occupied on your very short journey. However it is perfectly located for visiting the Bahia Palace, Badi Palace and its nearby Kozybar, a trendy restaurant and bar.
You could get romanced into other Riads, you could be tempted to go to ones that charge more under the assumption that you will get more, however there are a lot of overpriced Riads and really you could not get any better than Raid Dar One.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessicarenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
465
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We were planning our trip to Morocco for a long time, and the most difficult choice seem to be where to stay in Marrakesh! So many charming riads.. So how to pick one? Photos, location, helped to eliminate some. Then i just started to mail the others. By the end of the first mail with Jean (the owner) we have just made our decision ;)) The best decidion of our Trip!
The Riad is very well located, Jean and all the staff are very kind and helpfull, the breakfast is delicious :P And our room was ver nice (Room Oasis).
A place definitely to return and to recomend to our best friends :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

My partner and I just got back from Marrakech where we stayed 2 nights at the wonderful Riad "Dar One" in the middle of the Medina. I am extremely picky and have a great attention to detail, and I have to say, the Riad was spotless! We feel very lucky to have chosen this Riad as everything- from service to cleanliness, to rooms- was just perfect!!! Jean and his team are all very friendly and accommodating. We loved it so much that we are already planning our next trip back to enjoy more of this paradise Riad.
One last thing to note, the location is great, too! Very central, and a lot of things to do in this area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

The holiday was excellent. We stayed at The Riad Dar One, run by a very nice French man and his two very large dogs. The hotel catered for our every need as well as providing us with a room on the top floor terrace that gave a view over the city. Cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarloweEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

I can only echo all the positive comments already written in previous reviews. The riad is beautiful and I couldn't think of a better place to relax after hours exploring frantic Marrakech. Location is very convenient and once familiar with where the Bahia Palace is with regards to the Djemaa el Fna which is simple in itself, the riad is always easy to return to. Breakfast was delicious, the rooms well appointed, beds very comfortable and service was second to none. Huge thanks to Jean and his lovely and attentive team.

We asked for rooms with a shower so stayed in the Sirocco room with its private terrace our first night and then St Ex for another three after our trip to the desert. Despite Sirocco's private terrace we preferred St Ex as it's a bit more spacious with wonderful high ceilings. Loved the blue and orange too. The private terrace is lovely but we felt the communal terrace was just as nice (although we're not a couple so that might be an influence on my opinion!)

We would explore Marrakech during the day and then come back to the riad for a couple of hours before heading out again for dinner, and it was always wonderful to come back to. So peaceful and calm. Another reviewer mentioned that the noise of the air-con was a bit loud during the night but we didn't have a problem with this at all. I loved Morocco and if I return to Marrakech I wouldn't hesitate to book Riad Dar One again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wusmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Dar One. Each morning their delicious breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff was very friendly and since they only have five or six rooms, the service was very personal. One evening they made recommendations for a restaurant, called for a dinner reservations and arranged for a cab. The choice was delightful. The location was also very convenient. The only negative thing was the AC which was noisy and we could not sleep without it because of the heat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

Being a very picky person, I did a lot of research before booking this riad, and it was well worth it!
Riad Dar One has a lot to offer:
-perfect location, right next to Palais Bahia
-great hosts, Mr Perez and his team are very professional, very friendly; nothing is a problem, they are always there for help and yet they are not in your way.
-stunning Riad, contemporary furniture meets moroccan architecture.
We stayed in the Sirocco room, on the roof terrace. It is worth paying extra for this room, it gets more light and you get your private terrace above the room. Great decor! Mr Peres has an eye for design.
2 very small minuses:
-there is no sign saying it is a private terrace above the sirocco room, so a few other guests used it while we were there.
-the neighbour (art student..) sketching you from his terrace while you're sunbathing on the private terrace is a bit awkward.
But do not let this prevent you from staying in what is probably the best riad in Marrakech, and without a doubt the best service I've ever had in a small hotel.
I am a Wedding Planner and would not hesitate to book my clients there.
And try the Beldi Country Club for the day, Spa & Swimming pool are fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THANDACREATIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#24 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#28 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#22 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#18 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#29 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing