We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury retreat in the heart of old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A luxury retreat in the heart of old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Riad Dar One.

Jean & his staff were absolutely amazing and we cannot thank them enough for their first class service and hospitality.

Upon arrival we were greeted on the main road and walked down a couple of alley ways to the Riad. The contrast of walking through the old alleys then stepping into the luxurious Riad is brilliant. It makes you realise just how much time and attention has gone into transforming the place into a luxury oasis.

We were given a lovely pot of mint tea as a welcome beverage then shown around the Riad. The living room was so comfortable and inviting. The log fire made you instantly want to curl up and relax. The best materials and designs have been utilised throughout the riad and the lighting and music add to the wonderful ambience of the place.

We stayed in the Sirrocco room which had its own roof terrace and amazing views across the rooftops of the old town. The room was warm and inviting and we had freshly cut roses to match the decor. The bathroom was well appointed with complimentary toiletries and the bed was so comfortable that we struggled to get out of it everyday.

Breakfast is served whenever you want and where ever you wanted. The staff learned our preferences straight away, and as a result we never had to ask for anything. We felt like we were staying at our home away from home.

The Riad is conveniently close to most attractions. During our stay we walked to: Saadian Tombs, El Badi Palace, Jemaa el fna, the souks, Bahia palace, Les Bains de Marrakech and La Foundouk restaurant (the latter was a challenge but Jean made us a special map so we managed to navigate our way quite easily). We also went to La Comptior & L'Avenue both of which were less than a 20 minute ride away in a taxi.

Whenever we came home from dinner, we sat down by the fire and were always offered a beverage no matter what time of the night it was. Everyone was so attentive but in a very homely way.

It was my birthday on our final day and I asked Jean if we could have dinner at 5pm as our flight was leaving at 8pm. When we arrived back from our final run of the souks, dinner was ready and we had arguably one of the best meals in Marrakech. The food was fantastic, the setting was lovely and romantic and to top off our wonderful stay, they made me an amazing birthday cake.

We cannot recommend this enchanting place enough, we had such a lovely stay, we are returning in May.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just had the most fabulous stay in Marrakech, courtesy of Jean Peres & his amazing team at the Riad Dar One. I chose the Dar One on the basis of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and fully endorse them. The whole experience was wonderful - mainly because one is made to feel like a house guest of Jean Peres rather than a hotel guest. Much is on offer - golf, a day-trip to the Atlas Mountain foothills (including a most delicious lunch with a Berber family) with a wonderful guide Hassan, horse-riding & cooking lessons at Jean's house, La Vie en Rose. Everything is laid on with a smile and Jean's welcoming Gallic charm.
We had a fantastic time - merci beaucoup Jean!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed here a few months ago, we loved it, Everything about it was brilliant. You walk down these small back alley ways, with children playing games on the street, and then through this old looking gate and into a very narrow alley. There is then a big ornate arch door, and you walk into a fantastic looking lobby area with a small pool filled with roses.

The hotel dogs will give you a warm greeting. The rooms are fantastic. Well designed and decorated. Beds are very comfortable.

Highlight of the the road, was sitting on the roof having a few Casablanca beers, and listening to the call to prayer.

Highly recommended..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TemperedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed for two nights in Riad Dar One and another night in Riad Dar White.
Any of them are great choices for a visit to Marrakech.
We loved both Riads, but we prefer Dar White for the interior design and Dar One for the location.
In both the staff is very friendly and helpful, and we have also to thank Mr Jean Peres for make us a booking for Al Fassia restaurant.

We surely would choose one of this two Riads again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dmsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I was going to wait until I got home to write this, but realised I might never get around to doing it, so I write this sitting in the Riad.
This is the most amazingly tranquil place you could hope for in a crazy, crazy city.
The staff literally can't do enough to ensure you have the most memorable stay.
Last time I was in Marrakech we stayed in La Mamounia, which was nice, but if you want five star treatment within 10 minutes walk from the souks and square, this is where you need to be.
We came for my wife's 40th birthday and Khalid, one of the staff, organised her a beautiful cake and we were treated like royalty.
One of the other guys walked us over to the hammam to make sure we didn't get lost, then gave my wife a bottle of argan oil as a gift for her birthday.
Will definitely be back, thanks Jean and his team for the memories!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We had stayed in various places throughout Morocco and ended our holiday here. It was the best way to end our trip. Jean, Khaled and Ismail were fantastic hosts. They made us feel welcomed, well informed and they made all parts of our stay as comfortable as they possibly could. They were very nice as well as highly competent. The riad itself is beautifully decorated and the room we stayed in was lovely. The dinner we had at the riad was also the best meal we had had in Morocco - we wish we had stayed longer to eat there again!! If/when we come back to Marrakech, we will definitely come back here. We highly recommend this riad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adil_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our second stay at Riad dar One excelled our previous experience, which surprised us. Two years on many of the staff are the same and the beautiful riad is as relaxing as we remembered. Jean and his team, inc Abdel and Miriam, are welcoming, accommodating, generous and helpful. They book tables at restaurants, help with taxis and general information - all without hesitation and always with smiles.

The entrance to the riad is 'guarded' by a wonderful woman and her family and entering from the busy road beside the Bahia Palace (through an arch you turn right, right and right and you are inside within seconds) you go from sensory overload to instant relaxation. Mint tea, open fires in winter, sunny terrace and great bathrooms.

If you feel like doing something other than staying in the city then the cookery course organised by Riad dar One at COOK (the owner's home) was amazing - Amina taught us wonderful Moroccan salads and tagines and then we ate together out on the terrace. Great value for money.

Email any worries in advance and Jean will reassure you and pre book a taxi from the airport to meet you.

Room Tip: Sirocco is private off the terrace upstairs, for bath lovers the ground floor one (can't remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalleryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#25 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#36 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing