We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #23 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here for 5 nights, with our 2 year old.

We stayed in the suite with the private terrace which I recommend- especially if you have a child with you.

The Riad has been beautifully restored and the rooms are lovely and impeccably clean.

A short walk to Djemma el fna, but a completely tranquil escape from the busy medina.

The staff were amazing! So helpful and welcoming. They all went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and to make our stay easy and enjoyable.

We will certainly return to Marrakech one day and the Riad was a huge part of our experience in the amazing city!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia_bain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 839 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago. We had read all of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The riad is simply beautiful, with simple, tasteful decoration. Jean was so helpful and made us feel at home immediately. All other staff were also so kind and helpful, we could not have asked for more. The location is great and Jean provided lots of information to help us navigate the city. I would happily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staff amazing, they go out of their way to accommodate any requests. Abdul (day manager) made at least 6 calls to get me in for a massage at the last minute and then escorted me to the Hammam. On the day of check out he took us all the way to our new accommodation and then one day later returned some lost property to us, calling not once but twice until we were in. He wanted to make sure we got it!!
The room was excellent, bed and pillows just so comfortable. We really liked the fact that towelling robes were supplied.
Enjoyed the views and a wonderful breakfast on the rooftop.
The fact that Jean (the owner) replies so promptly to emails should certainly give you a clue that Riad Dar One would not disappoint.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The stay was wonderful.
Outstanding staff, and at all times was very attentive and helpful.
We stayed with our room "petit prince", despite being the smallest of the riad, its size was enough for 2of us.
It breathes an atmosphere of peace and serenity, a few meters from the daily bustle. They have taken care of every detail, and is also very welcoming.
Finally, do not miss dinner at the give one, which by the way there to warn him in advance, but we assure you it was the best meal we had in Marrakech, both for the quality of food, and its preparation. Shall pass an unforgettable night.
No doubt this is a good choice to stay in a riad in Marrakech.
cant wait to be back and stay for a long next time. we recommend this to every body wants to stay in marrakech. thank you again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wow! What a few days we've had in Marrakech and staying at Riad Dar One could not have been a better choice. On arrival you are made to feel extremely welcome and enter an oasis of calm from the bustling street. Jean and the team offer the best service you can hope to find...from the arrival chat with Jean for an overview of the city (complete with mint tea...of course!) to the team helping you navigate your way around the city....nothing is too much!
We stayed in the Petit Prince room, which is the smallest room in the riad but it was perfect for a few days with a large walk in shower and luxurious bedding. Other comments around the rooms being dark during the day are true but why on earth would you stay in your room with an amazing roof terrace at your fingertips .
Breakfast is served at your time of choosing, which is brilliant for those who enjoy a lie in. I would thoroughly recommend eating at the riad for lunch or dinner. The chicken tagine was probably the best one we had in the city (and we tried a lot!) so don't miss out on eating here.
The rooftop terrace is beautiful and a great place to relax during the heat of the day or enjoy the call to prayer at sunset, as this is a real experience. I'm not an astronomy fan but check out the stars from here.
Aside from all of the above (and more!), one of the best reasons to stay is the location. We only took a petit taxi once (to Jardin Marjorelle), as the city is easily accessible from here on foot and to be honest is the best way to explore and experience the vibrance of this city! You also get to walk off the main roads to get to the riad so can greet the locals and enjoy the children's bongo playing!
Amazing! Thanks to everyone at Riad Dar One for making our holiday incredible!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictoriaWelinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As has been said by most other visitors, the quality of service is what really sets this riad apart. As soon as you walk into the beautiful 6-bedroom 'house', Jean (the owner) welcomes you, provides recommendations, is happy to arrange your evening and help you navigate the local customs to ensure you have a good stay. His staff are just as helpful and provide an incredible high level of service. Even when we checked out, one of Jean's staff escorted us to where the transfer car was picking us up (which was sent by another hotel and therefore not used to picking up people at the Dar One drop spot), called the other hotel driver to check where they were and waited until we were on our way. Jean and his team made our stay in the medina an absolute pleasure.

The riad has only 6 rooms so you have an intimate experience throughout your stay. Dar One also has a beautiful rooftop terrace where we relaxed and had some nice Casablanca wine. The entire house has been built in 2005 (I think) and is done up to a very high standard. Spotless, high-quality fittings and the biggest bath tub I have seen to-date! If you book early enough and can pick your room, we would recommend the rooftop bedroom which isn't that much more expensive but has its own rooftop terrace! We stayed in the bedroom adjacent to the lounge which was beautiful and cosy but it is next to the lounge.

But in the end, Jean and his team really made our visit an amazing experience to remember and based on their exceptionally high standard of service, I would highly recommend Dar One!

Room Tip: Pick the roof terrace room if you want your own rooftop terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpine1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a gem. A total find. It's in the heart of Marrakech yet away from the hustle and bustle. Jean and his staff are simply incredible in terms of the attention and care they give people. From the pre-booking correspondence, right through to the stay Jean was SO helpful. Everything was perfectly executed and organised for us, from the airport pick up, to lunch on arrival at the Riad, to our coach tickets through to Essaouira. We only stayed one night, more's the pity, but it was a wonderful experience. We would love to return. The maids, cooks, manager were fabulous and so lovely in the way they cared for us and made our stay so enjoyable. Can't recommend highly enough. Right adjacent to the Bahia palace and just a short walk to the main square. Location was fab. Thanks everyone at Dar One.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank skl2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#11 of 499 in Marrakech
577 reviews
1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#34 of 499 in Marrakech
1,324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
853 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $95 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing