We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #25 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pretty good location (although hard to find the first time), awesome atmosphere and awesome staff. The terrace on the roof is a really nice place to relax.

I was using the tripadvisor offline app for Marrakech and the location was completely wrong there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eggermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
461
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V DL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

A very good place to stay. Exceptionally friendly staff and very good location. Nice terrace, good wines and a silent neighbourhood.
Good value for the money
Small problems with electricity in our room but fixed quick

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just arrived back from riad Dar one! And WOW is all I can say... Had the best 2 nights ever.

I was blown away as I walked through the main door to the Riad... Breath taking. It's stylist, modern with that Moroccan twist.

I booked this weekend back in aug for a hen weekend. From the start jean was the host with most! Went above and beyond to make sure our weekend ran smoothly.

Everything was perfect. From Airport transfers, Riad, transport during stay, all reservations over weekend.

We have already started to arrange a return visit to this magical Riad in a secret garden!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydshaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our last visit we stayed at the sister riad (Dar White) but this time we booked well in advance in order to experience Dar One. Wow! What an amazing place. We stayed in the Sirocco room on the top floor with its own private terrace accessed via a spiral staircase. The view over Marrakech was spectacular during the day and magical at night. The service was exceptional yet discreet. The whole riad was stunningly decorated and the food was absolutely delicious - especially the dinner we had one evening on the roof terrace. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Jean Peres this time as he was away on business but we received excellent advice on where to go and what to see from Abdul and Kaleed. Dar One provides outstanding value for money and we hope to return again soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Miahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

100% quiet, though centrally located in this vibrant city. Nice roof top terrace, wonderfully decorated rooms. Perfect service, good breakfast and very comfy bed, all new. I would always come back! Make an airport transfer arrangement and hammam reservation BEFORE you go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
308 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Jean Peres welcomed us like family & that atmosphere continued throughout our stay. We rented the Sirocco suite which sits alone on the 3rd floor adjacent to the public terrace. It has a private terrace above, accessed via a circular metal stairwell. Very comfortable & quiet. One caveat: This means 3 flights of stairs . . .

As others have mentioned, do not try to find the riad the 1st time on your own & let a staff member guide you, but once you see the route – through some narrow alleys – it is easy & you will always be warmly greeted at the gated entrance. It is about a 15 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna.

The staff literally went above & beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. My wife had a cellphone issue which they really, really tried to help us with. Kudos to all!

The breakfast was standard Moroccan fare but fresh & good.

Jean also owns Dar White & has opened up his horse farm (with pool) for daily excursions. We did not go but I am sure that he maintains the same attention to detail there as well.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a calm boutique hotel experience in the madness of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Sirocco Suite is very quiet on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imcarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#22 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing