We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best part of our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #25 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best part of our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booking this riad was the best decision we made for our trip to Morrocco. On sunny days, we sat on the roof for breakfast, and when it rained we sat by the open fire downstairs. The room was beautiful: this is the kind of place where they put flowers in your room in the morning. This was a welcome distraction from the hassle of shopkeepers, restaurant owners, and taxi-drivers in the rest of Marrakech. On top of this, it is next to the Bahia palace, just a few minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnah. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nujjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
461
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic. Gorgeous interiors. Superb staff. Perfect location. Dream riad. It was my 2nd visit to Marrakech and I wish I came to Dar one the 1st time. The staff are a dream, so friendly and really go the extra mile. Flexible breakfast times were a bonus. TIP! BUY THE MORROCAN ROSE FROM THE RIAD! I practically lived off it. The rooftop terrace was ideal for lie down with a bowl of olives. The living room with the fire was an ideal place to open a bottle of wine and chat to others.

Riad Dar One is so good I have made friends book. I think I may book again very soon.

Thank you so much

Nicola and Robert

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

... if you love authentic architecture, a mix of puristic design & moroccan tradition, subtle colors, oriental scents and a warm-hearted discreet service - than you have to stay in Riad Dar One in Marrakech.

I love the cactus flower scent of the perfume lamp in the patio, the iris bouquet in my room, precious cosmetic products from "Les Sens de Marrakech" in the bathroom, strawberry-mint-salad for breakfast, the lounge music and the birds' twittering during the day and the romantic light of dozens of candles by night, ...

An stylish sophisticated oasis of well-being, harmony and peace in middle of that wonderful crazy city.

Special thanks to Jean, Abdellatif, Ismael and the ladies!

Sure I will be back soon ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everything about Dar One from start to finish is sublime. Warm welcome, friendly service where nothing is too much, not to mention the amazing decor and atmosphere of the place. Stylish yet understated, this place is classy. The rooms have a modem design feel but at the same time you know you are in the heart of the Medina. Breakfast is wonderful, and can eat out on the terrace if you like.

Owner Jean is so friendly and kind, he offered us drinks after we'd checked out as we were waiting for our taxi to the train station (unheard of in most places!).

If you come to Marrakech and are looking for something a little different to all the other Riads but not astronomically expensive treat yourself to a few nights at Dar One.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h_russell23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a fantastic riad in a great position. It's close enough to all of the main sights and attractions so that you can do everything on foot.
Really lovely rooms ( Dune has the most enormous bathtub you have ever seen ) and great breakfasts that set you up for the day.
The staff are really helpful and go out of their way to look after you.
Unless you know the city very well, take advantage of the airport pick up. It's tucked away from the hustle and bustle and tricky to find at first.
It's a gem of a place Jean - we will be back.
Vanessa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This Riad is a haven of calm and style in the hectic centre of the Medina. Decorated in a chic contemporary European style Jean, the owner, and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. This included resturant recommendations, breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning sun and wood fires in our room at night. The Riad's chef is fantastic and I would suggest an evening meal at the hotel is a must which can be catered to suit your taste.

I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I’ve been travelling to Morocco very regularly for over 7 years. The trips are always part business and part leisure and I have been lucky enough to stay in a variety of hotels and riads throughout Morocco. I had wanted to, but never been able to stay at Dar One – its very popular and I tend to book last minute- however this time I was determined to make it. It was the last night of a hectic business trip elsewhere in Morocco and my partner and I were shattered and mentally ready for the flight home the next day.
From the moment we arrived all thoughts of going home disappeared! Wow what a place. From the lively hustle and bustle of the medina you are escorted down a lantern lit path to a haven of soothing tranquillity. We were greeted like friends by the owner Jean and his attentive and helpful staff. Mint tea and snacks by the open fire in the salon soothed away the stresses and strains of the day. After soaking in our vast bath and lazing in our bathrobes, we were re-invigorated enough to think of dinner. Marrakech is over flowing with restaurants offering cuisine from every corner of the globe and sometimes the choice is overwhelming! Making a decision after a week of eating out can be tricky but help was on hand from Jean. He knows a restaurant, bar or club for every occasion it seems and organised a booking and transport to and from the restaurant. The dinner did not disappoint.
After a sound night of sleep and breakfast on the rooftop terrace leaving was a wrench. Once night is certainly not enough and we will be back again very soon. All in all Dar One has to be one of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#18 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#22 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#33 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing