We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant Riad.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved this place. They organised a transfer from the airport so we got there easily and were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was extremely comfortable, well made and stylish, while the living room and foyer looked amazing, especially at night. The roof terrace is a great place to unwind, their food is excellent, while the whole lot is good value for money. Definitely go here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenH5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a weekend here with 4 other girlfriends. What can I say? The whole experience was fantastic! We were met at the airport and transported to the riad. When we arrived we had lunch on the gorgeous rooftop terrace. Very reasonably priced at E 12 each and good priced wine, and the food was plentiful and delicious. Jean Peres the owner then gave us some tips on where to go and booked our restaurants and taxis. He made it so easy for us all.The riad is perfectly located near Bahia Palace so easy for taxi drop offs and access to the main square.
The riad was stylish, cosy and had a great ambience. There are staff available 24 hrs to cook your food and provide drinks. We would sit in front of the fire in the cosy sitting room and have drinks before going out and when we returned in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble. Khalid was especially warm and friendly and always had a smile on his face.
All of our rooms were gorgeous with amazing bathrooms (on par or better than many 5 star hotels I have stayed in). The only slight issue was the shower attachment would not stay fixed and had to be used by hand but otherwise everything was perfect!
Our stay there was magical and cannot wait to return! Could not stay anywhere else now that we have found it!Amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dar One is truly an oasis of peace in the middle of Marrakech.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in December and loved it. The service was phenomenal, the atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable, the staff are fantastic (including the owner) and the location is great.

We stayed in the Oasis Room which is on the first floor. It is by no means big but certainly a good size and the bathroom was beautifully designed and styled. The entire Dar has a modern, simple, Moroccan style to it and has been very tastefully decorated. There is also a very comfortable lounge area with a running fountain and another quiet room on the first floor with a fireplace and couches. Our bed was very comfortable.

The staff were truly a highlight of our stay. We requested an airport pick-up and Fwed (spelling?) greeted us and was wonderful from the start. Dar One is very close to the Bahia Palace and because the streets are so narrow, you can't drive right up to it. Staff greeted us and walked with us through the labyrinthine streets. They had also helped us make dinner reservations, provided us with a map and very good directions for getting to the souks, and our first night walked us out to find a taxi and advised on pricing.

In the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, I can't emphasize enough just how wonderful it was to have a place that was quiet and really easy to relax in. We also ate breakfast up on the roof one of the mornings which was very nice as well as downstairs in the lounge area. The breakfast was like any Moroccan breakfast with plenty of bread, crepes, yogurt, fruit and juice.

Our entire experience at Dar One was wonderful. The staff are incredibly gracious and available. It is a very small building and there was always someone around in case you needed something and there is no question they would go the extra mile in service and hospitality. They were incredibly friendly and we can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: We only saw our room, the Oasis. The bathroom is sizable and one of the best parts of the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pretty much agree with all the positve comments. Our stay in early December was magical. Wonderfully clean, stylish and hospitable service. You could spend twice as much and not have as wonderfully an authentic experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartSoTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed from Dec 13th - 15th.
The service was first class, rooms were beautiful and the staff so helpful.
Walking distance from the market, square and the palace.
This hotel feels more like a home and it just make you want to go there again and again.
I cannot wait to return there.
AAO

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Dar One 13th-17th December.
When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character. We stayed in Saint Ex, which was a lovely spacious room with high ceilings, a lovely big bed, a large bathroom with a huge shower. The Riad is very clean and comfortable.
Taking breakfast on the terrace was superb. Even for December we had sunshine everyday with temperatures topping 23c.
The Riad is a minute or so walk from Bahia Palace and around a 6-8 minute walk to Jeema El Fna square.
Although Marrakech is a crazy city, it is still an amazing place to visit, from the hustle and bustle of the Jeema El Fna square to the souks and further afield with tours to the Atlas mountains, which were breathtaking.
We chose to eat at various places to experience Marrakech, but one place did stand out that Jean Peres recommended, Le Comptoir, which was just outside the Medina. The is a trendy upmarket restaurant and bar, but still very Moroccan in decor. When we arrived they played live music and we also had belly dancers. The food is a mixture of classic such as Tagines, to modern Mediteranean.
Overall we had a great stay at Dar one. Jean Peres is a lovely host, helpful and friendly. The Riad is located well to everything. Although we had a continental breakfast it was slightly different everyday which was a nice touch. All the staff are always on hand to answer any questions or just to order some of there lovely mint tea. The lounge area with the log fire was lovely just to chill in the evenings. We shall certainly be visiting again!!

Room Tip: We choose Saint Ex room, whish is on the first floor. If you are a couple opt for a room on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yags456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The riad was absolutely beautiful, the service was brilliant and the atmosphere was just what we needed after a crazy day in the city of Marrakech! Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, I would highly recommend the Moroccan cake. Jean is a great host, and all the staff are lovely and very polite. The room itself couldn't have been better... Perfectly clean and very comfortable. Great attention to detail all round! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#25 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#36 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing