We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“You have to stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #26 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You have to stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago. We had read all of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The riad is simply beautiful, with simple, tasteful decoration. Jean was so helpful and made us feel at home immediately. All other staff were also so kind and helpful, we could not have asked for more. The location is great and Jean provided lots of information to help us navigate the city. I would happily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuiceMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
465
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Dar One toward the end of a 10 day trip in Morroco. The first thing you notice is the tasteful decor that is not just another variation of the tile motif in many places but is still in tune with the Morrocan experience. We stayed on the roof terrace room and it was the most comfortable bed of the trip. There are so many lovely well thought out touches it is hard to list them all
The staff were very helpful assisting in getting to locations, making reservations and recommendatioins that were all very useful. You often did not have to ask they volunteered when you brought something up. We had massage in the room and it was great.
Breakfast is the usual in the area but had interesting flavorful variations.
This Riad is very well located to getting into the heart of Marrarech and not too difficult to find once you have been there the first time in a city that can be very confusing.
I very much recommend this as a place to stay if your travel take you to Marrakech. you can book direct and do not have to go through Smith and Smith.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlacatNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This riad is just beautiful. From the smallest room, which is Petit Prince, to largest room on top floor with terrace everything is elegant and the decor stunning. Breakfast was excellent and served by the pool in the atrium, due to inclement weather. Jean, the owner, was extremely helpful. He even offered me his phone to call home when my internet would not work, gave us suggestions on dining and made sure we had taxis ready and waiting when needed.
Loved our stay!

Room Tip: Petit Prince is elegant but at night with all the windows closed clautrophobics might have issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Having booked the Riad through Mr and Mrs Smith for our honeymoon we were not to be dissapointed. We had a beautiful, contemporary room with the biggest bath-tub ever! The Riad staff Abdel and Haleed were incredibly helpful with advice from shopping to excursions to where to eat and drink.

Would a highly recommend a stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wow is all I can say!
From the moment you walk into this tranquil Riad you feel relaxed.
Myself and my partner headed to Marrakech at the beginning of November 2012 and found this Riad on Mr and Mrs Smith, checked the reviews on tripadvisor and booked, but it will never do it justice. Khalid was absolutely great, could not do enough for us and Jean was just a wonderful, helping all our needs that we required.
If ever I return to Marrakech or I need to recommend then I will 100% use this beautiful hotel, calm in a mad city

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just stayed at Riad Dar One in Marrakech. Great location. Very quiet in the rooms. Beautifully decorated. Great service. Safe . Secure. Breakfast was outstanding. Staff was very helpful. Staying here was a joy! Just steps from the palace. Easy walk to the night market. Access to atms and money exchanges closeby. Wonderful sitting room with full range of beverages. Wifi worked very well. Only disappoitment was that it rained a lot during our visit amd we couldn't spend time on the magnificent terrace.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the most tastefully decorated Riad I have visited so far. The wow factor when walking through the door is definitely there. It retains its original architecture, which has been beautifully restored with a modern edge in terms of colours and tones. It's not pretentious or trying to be retro, but it is very elegant and has lovely rooms with excellent mood lighting. It's location is very good and easy to get to near the palais of Bahia. The only minor negatives were that the service whilst professional and friendly did not add as much value as it could have done, i would have liked to see more in the way of excursion advice etc, however this is a very minor point and is certainly not be a reason to avoid going here. In fact I think it represents the best value for money I have exerienced in terms of hotels and riads, I would definitely go back again and would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: We had the petit prince room, perfectly nice, maybe a bit small if you planned to stay there for a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#30 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing