We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated elegance”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #27 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Understated elegance”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Riad Dar One is an oasis of understated elegance. It is impossible not to feel relaxed -the combination of colours and furnishings is very clever and tasteful -you just want to be there!
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our short visit was too short - our fantasy is to take some friends with us next time and have the entire Dar One at our disposal ! The owner, Jean, was the perfect host. Apart from making our restaurant reservations for us and coming up with a number of ideas to make our stay worthwhile, he arranged for a "champagne breakfast" in celebration of my birthday. We are not riad experts but we would,without,doubt, recommend Dar One

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    55
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
484
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We've just got back from a 3 night stay at Riad Dar One, which I booked as a birthday present for my Mum. We had an absolutely fantastic trip and staying at Dar One really was the perfect present! We had never been to Marrakech before, and it certainly was a bit of a shock when we arrived as there are literally people, mopeds, donkeys and cars everywhere! But arriving at Dar One, once we had been led down the winding alleys that lead to it, was like arriving in an oasis of beautiful tranquility. I really cannot fault anything about our stay there at all, and it was excellent value for money. Jean has styled the riad beautifully and all the staff are the most helpful I have ever had in a hotel. They helped us plan all the things we wanted to do on our stay, booked restaurants, took us to hammams and booked taxis for us. In a city that can be a bit of a culture shock, their help, advice and local knowledge was invaluable. I would thoroughly recommend staying here, and I would love to go back. Thank you so much to Jean and all the staff at Dar One!

If you are planning to go I would recommend booking your airport taxis through Dar One as the riad is quite hard to find, and the Dar One staff will come out to meet you if they know when you're arriving. Other recommendations are: going to a Hammam, the YSL gardens, the tannary, horse and carriage ride, going to a fixed price Artisanal shop before hitting the souks if you need an idea of prices and take lots of small change for tips.

Room Tip: We stayed in Dune room, which was lovely - it is a good sized room with a small sofa area, a very bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaraK620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you've never been to Marrakech before, then to land in amongst all the chaos can be quite overwhelming, but once we stepped into the peace of Dar One we could breathe a sigh of relief.

We have nothing but praise for Jean and his team who were incredibly helpful and friendly- providing tips, maps and Moroccan tea (and wine!) at any time of the day or night.

The beautiful touches of the fresh roses in our room, breakfast on the terrace whenever we were ready for it and the amazing smells in this cosy retreat, made this first trip to Marrakech all the more memorable.

Room Tip: We opted to pay a bit more to have the Sirocco room and the private terrace, which was well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just returned recently from three nights in Marrakech at the lovely Riad Dar One.

What a fantastic place. I honestly, can not find anything of fault with my stay that is of significance or importance. This is by far one of the best places I have stayed anywhere in the world. So when you see all the reviews on here and people raving about it, it's the truth in my opinion.

Some context though before I begin delving into my stay: a Riad is a traditional Moroccan courtyard house. There are tons of Riads dotting Marrakech and the old medina and this is quite frankly the only way to really experience Marrakech in my opinion. You can either go traditional "Riad style" in the old medina or stay at one of the mega hotels on the outer walls of the medina. That's pretty much your only two options for lodging in Marrakech.

A Riad will usually consist of a small quantity of rooms. In Dar-Ones case, they have 6 beautiful rooms. So comparable to what we have in the west, its very much on the same level as a Bed & Breakfast.

Riad Dar One is tucked away into one of the many alleyways in the old medina. To actually find the place the first time, you need to have someone from the riad lead you there (TIP: Book the arrival service with them to pick you up at the airport, it's impossible to find the riad otherwise on your own). Your first impression trying to get to the riad ducking through these alleyways may be "where is this guy taking me? What have I done, why did i chose to stay here?!"

But as soon as you walk through the front door, you are in a different world entirely. The hustle and bustle of the medina dissipates, and you find yourself in an oasis of calm, warmly greeted by Jean Peres (the owner) or one of his wonderful staff. Within 1 minute you basically walk from the character filled chaotic streets into a beautiful oasis of peace and calm. Riads don't outwardly project grand beauty to the streets; you only are able to ascertain that from getting beyond the front door. Just about every Riad will have a rather nice front door but the rest of the outside it will look like a plain and basic nondescript building. Inside though is a completely different story! never judge a book by its cover as the saying goes.

Dar One is beautifully appointed. A bit chic, a bit hip, but also a bit traditional Marrakech. You can tell that they put a lot of effort and time into outfitting the riad, the place is absolutely stunning and gorgeous inside. The library/sitting area on the first floor next to the fireplace is really a great place to unwind and sip tea, and -if you are lucky enough- to mingle with Jean's two dogs who occasionally are there; they are calm and tame and wonderful creatures and they may just keep you company for breakfast!

The room of mine was being made as I arrived. When I made my way up and finally got into it, I found a really really cool room perfectly blended with modernity and traditional moroccan accents with high ceilings of at least 13 or 14 feet. The bed was comfortable, the shower area was also very cool. There wasn't great ventilation in the bathroom so what happens is after taking a hot shower for a few minutes you wind up getting a steam room as well! (no need to go to the spa later!). Wasn't much of an issue.

Slept great just about every night. Breakfasts in the morning are simple but tasty. Marrakech has the best Orange Juice anywhere in the world; Florida has nothing on Marrakech!

But why does this place get 5/5 from me (and you can see from my reviews, its RARE I give 5/5)? It's because of Jean and his staff. They are quite possibly the most helpful people in all of Marrakech. Jean and his crew were able to arrange and book a hot air balloon ride, a cooking class, and also the Hammam (traditional Moroccan spa). They really go out of their way to make your experience in Marrakech perfect. And you can tell that Jean has a passion for what he does.

So if you are looking for a great, traditional Marrakech experience - look no further than Riad Dar One.

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor, I recommend one of the rooms up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQ452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Dar One 30th jan - 6th feb 2012 and had an amazing time! Wonderful staff,they are so friendly and helpful! Would definately recommend doing the mountain trip and we also did a hot air balloon ride all booked through the riad, which was fantastic! Thank you to all the staff and Jean! Xxx

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaCeinwenStubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

It is almost a year ago, but I still have a lot of good memories from Riad Dar One in Marrakech.
First of all the setting is gorgeous and it's fun to find your way, between the Southern Medina and the Kasbah, through the small alleys to the perfect oasis within Marrakech, almost at the gates of the Bahia Palace
The French host, Jean, is always there for some tips and if he isn't around, the friendly staff is always around to help.
We had the beautiful sirocco room and it was as perfect as can be, stylishly decorated, private terrace with view on the city and mountains, nice bathroom.
Wandering through Marrakech and visiting all those cultural sites is wonderful, but coming back to the riad in the evening or afternoon is as good. We even stayed a complete evening in the lounge by the fireplace without having the feeling that we missed out on something. Since I have my own fireplace, each time I smell it, I think back on Riad Dar One.
Breakfast is nice, maybe somewhat sweet for those who are used to continental breakfasts, but definitely good.
We stayed in several Riads before in Marrakech, and this is a place where I will, without a doubt, come back to.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mipstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just back from five days in Marrakesh at Dar One with the family. Perfect in all respects: Location (a quiet back-alley in the south part of the Medina), food (fresh and varied breakfasts), staff (friendly and helpful "above and beyond") and rooms (we had four rooms, all neat).

Room Tip: The Sirroco room is at the roof top with a private terass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MatsLofstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#37 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#14 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing