We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool, classy and yet down to earth and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #26 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cool, classy and yet down to earth and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed one night in the Dune Room and wish we could have stayed longer.

We planned to "splash out" on at least one of our hotels whilst we were on a 10 day trip around Morocco, and I am so pleased we chose Riad Dar One to do so. The photos on the website are very accurate, but still do not do it justice - it oozes chic design and uber-cool furniture so much that it feels like you are stepping into an interior design magazine. But at the same time, the staff, without exception, make you feel welcome and at home, relaxed and peaceful. So you don't feel like it is stuffy or you can't sit down anywhere.

I had some email correspondence with Jean when booking, and spoke to him on the phone to make the final arrangements. Nothing was too much trouble. There was no pressure to use their airport/station transfer facilities, but they were available if we wanted them. We made our own way and called when we were at the Palais de Bahia, and Ishmail came to collect us (with umbrellas as it was starting to rain). Ishmail also took us to the local taxi rank and made sure we got a taxi and paid an appropriate fare to the airport.

I really do not want this to sound like a criticism as it is not mean as such, more as a guide if you are choosing your room. Some rooms have the bed next to the window or the door - as these are glass (with ample curtains) and look out onto the main courtyard this does mean that you need to have the curtains fully pulled if you don't want people to see you in bed, or getting changed. We found this in other riads too, so if you are a very private person or you want to have light in your room whilst you are in bed (eg reading in bed in the morning) then I would highly recommend the Dune room as the bed is at the far end, away from the courtyard.

I was unwell whilst I was there, and so cannot really comment much on the food - I hasten to add that I was ill before I arrived and it was nothing to do with the food at the riad! The staff could not have been more helpful and kind - asking after me, offering me things to make me feel better and when we had to move out of our room (as someone else was arriving), offering me use of another room to use if I wanted. I chose to relax in the cool courtyard, the cosy sitting room and the warm and relaxing terrace instead (so much choice). Considering how miserable you can be when you are ill on holiday, the team at the riad made me feel so comfortable it was like being at home.

The riad is in a perfect location - the Palais de Bahia is only minutes away and it's a short and easy stroll to the main square. There are small shops around if you need to pop out to get water, or go to a Pharmacy (like my husband did!) without needing to go through the maze of the busier section of the medina.

If you think of riads in marrakesh being cool, trendy and yet peaceful and relaxing, Riad Dar One sums this up and is well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    51
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
461
31
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I really want to point out the excellence of the Riad Dar One.
The owner Jean PERES and all his staff welcome us on this wonderful and peaceful traditionnal moracan home decorated with modern and stylish taste.
Jean was also very helpful to organize our stay and to help us in choosing restaurants and spa.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannibal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Riad Dar One is a wonderful place to stay. Jean is the perfect host, friendly , helpful, warm and welcoming, it was like staying with a friend we felt so at home and comfortable. The riad is in a great location as its in a quiet area just a few minutes’ walk from all the excitement that Marrakech has to offer. It is beautiful decorated and both bedroom and breakfast were perfect. Definitely a place to recommend. I looking forward going back there

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ33HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

After much research for the perfect Riad for our first visit to Marrakech, I booked the Riad Dar One for 5 nights in the Saint Exuprey room. I had some email correspondence with Jean, the owner to fix up the airport pick up, which is recommended.

What more can I say that has not been said before! The Riad is very chic, you can see the attention to detail at every turn. Our room was a good size, plenty of storage space for our bags and clothes. The bathroom was compact, but the shower was excellent and after some fine tuning the temperature and pressure was consistent. The staff changed the towels daily and kept the whole room spotless just like the first day we arrived. We had fresh flowers in our room each day, and there are flowers all through the courtyard.

Breakfast was simple and just the right amount of food to start the day, no need to ask us what we liked to drink, as this was remembered from the first day to the last. There could be a little more variety, but this is a minor point.

As for the staff, they would be the envy of any great hotel. Both Hicham and Abdel looked after us without complaint, recommending places to visit and places to eat. On return each day to the Riad they would great us with a smile and offer refreshment.

If you are looking for a top quality Riad, then look no further! With a great location, environment, safe, spotlessly clean and above all a super host and staff. Thank you to Jean and his team for making us welcome in his Riad and their city.

Room Tip: Located near to the Palace Bahia, so easy for taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilkoCornwall_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed in this Riad for 2 nights. We exchanged a number of e-mails with the owner prior to our trip and communication was always quick and helpful. No problems with being met at the airport ( about 10-15 min drive away) and once you got your bearings the Riad was easy to find and really close to the action. The Riad itself is stunning. Really calm and peaceful and tastefully done up. Fresh flowers, candles and total attention to detail. Service was excellent. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the owner had the right blend of making you feel comfortable and attended to without being too over the top. We had our rough guides etc but went with his recommendations for dinner and sights and these worked really well. Breakfast is very good,,pancakes bread omelettes, yoghurt etc. Our room was the sirocco. Great large comfy bed, good shower and there was no noise from inside the Riad itself. We were woken by the call to prayer and the birds but that was all good. We ate in the Riad one night, nice lamb tagine, some salads and a good wine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dirobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I can't say enough about Jean and his staff ... they redefine service! Jean is the consumate host.

The Riad is lovely and a wonderful oasis after a long day out and about.

My husband was having terrible back pains and we were afraid it would ruin our trip. Jean suggested a French chiropractor, who worked magic. Soon my hubby was up and going again.

Need a guide? a dining suggestion? The staff at Dar One will provide it.

Thanks, again, Jean. Hope to be back soon!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcmDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

There isn't much to add about Dar One that hasn't already been said by other equally impressed visitors. Although the building itself is simply spectacular, this alone would not be enough to keep drawing us back time and time again. The thing that makes this place so special and which gives it its heart and soul is the outstanding team who run it. If I could chose a boss it would be Jean Peres. His kindness and fairness has been justifiably rewarded by a staff who are exceptionally loyal and dedicated to him and together they have a shared pride in this remarkable riad. Our only disappointment with this visit was the absence of our good friend Hicham who was unfortunately unwell but it did allow us the opportunity to meet the lovely Khalid who did an admirable job of covering for him. We are returning for a longer visit in June and hope to fit in another quick visit to Marrakech in October when we plan to see if Jean has managed to recreate the magic with his new venture. Shukran jazeelan Dar One!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oasis_Is_Ours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing