We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Dar Fakir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Fakir
Ranked #344 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was my first trip to Morocco and I have truly fallen in love with the culture. I especially enjoyed my stay at Dar Fakir as it made the experience even more special... and I would love the opportunity to return.

The location is superb as it's only a 5 min walk to the main square. So, there is plenty to explore on your doorstep which is ideal especially for a short stay.

The riad is breathtakingly beautiful from the first moment you step in. It's a treat for all your senses with the exquisite aromas from the reed diffusers and burning candles, to the soft music playing in the background through to the sight of the open court yard with the pool.

The rooms are super clean and quite frankly stunning! The beds are enormous and extremely comfortable. I would really enjoy to wake up the sound of the little birds singing that came to the open court yard every morning.

The service is impeccable and the staff are so friendly, professional and helpful if you need advice.

We only had breakfasts here and they resembled a banquet, filling the table with a variety of croissants, cake, yoghurt, baguettes, pancakes and more! Unfortunately, I'm gluten intolerant so I'd always opt for the omelet with Moroccan cheese. It has to be the most delicious omelet I've ever had, (thank you Ridwan).
We could have our breakfast laid out anywhere we chose within the riad, and quite often we would chose to sit by the grand fire place, but on our last day as it was warm and sunny we decided to sit on the roof top terrace overlooking the Atlas Mountains in the distance. It was the perfect way to spend our last morning in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack_pumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 173 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is the first time I've ever left a review on trip advisor but having just returned from the Dar Fakir for a surprise birthday present for my wife I have felt compelled too. There's not much else I can add to the best reports on here only to say that the service provided by the staff is as good if not better as some of the finest 5 star hotels, they really cannot do enough. Anyone deliberating whether to book this Riad based on location, quality, cleanliness, or service should just do it as it's difficult to see how it could be bettered, even if paying more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dar Fakir was the perfect location - close to everything, very comfortable, extremely friendly...the staff could not have done more to make our stay memorable. i know where we'll stay when next in Marrakech!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved everything about the Dar Fakir! It's immensely stylish, with the sort of seemingly simple décor that has entailed a great deal of thought and attention to detail, resulting in a calm and quietly luxurious atmosphere which is a striking contrast to the narrow streets of the medina outside. The staff were delightful and looked after us with the greatest care and consideration, and the breakfast was the best we had in Morocco.
It was fortunate though that we were the only guests, as our party included children of five and six who might have disturbed any other guests since the rooms all opened onto the central courtyard.
This hotel is so special that it would be worth going back to Morocco just to stay there again: and it would be a wonderful place to take a party of friends for a weekend in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joydunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from Marrakech and a fantastic stay at Dar Fakir - a little oasis of calm amidst the hustle and bustle of the city! Marrakech is a place of extremes - extreme hustle and bustle and then extreme calm and this is certainly the latter - it made for a fantastic stay.

After taking a trip down a winding alleyway you emerge into the most beautiful courtyard of the Riad - Very calm, very friendly staff and a good relaxing area after a wild day in the Medina.

Kerstin the manager was fantastic at offering advice on things to do and helped make booking for any excursions we made. The trip went without hitch.

The rooms themselves are spotless and full of character - facilities you'd expect in a hotel charging far in excess of the room rates of Dar Fakir - it is fantastic value.

The breakfasts that are prepared are also very tasty and filling and set you up for the day ahead.

I would certainly recommend this Riad to everyone - my folks will no doubt be following in my footsteps on an upcoming trip.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to one of the larger rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed at Dar Fakir with my boyfriend for 5 nights end of Sept/early October. It was the perfect place to stay for a romantic few days - I couldn't recommend it enough for the beautiful settings/decor/general gorgeous ambiance, it really is so luxurious and a real treat. We arrived in the evening, when the riad looks its best, and the courtyard was filled with candles. Really, really beautiful. Because we were there for a few nights (I think most people stay for less) we were upgraded to a suite and it was beautiful - huge with gorgeous furnishings. So impressed with the riad's appearance, honestly you won't find a better riad in Marrakech. The location is perfect too, right in the center of Old Town Marrakech but absolutely silent when you get in the riad.

Just a couple of tips for if you visit.....
- Definitely get the transfer to the riad from the aiport that they offer. It would be absolutely impossible to find by yourself, especially if you're arriving at night.
- Riad is at the end of a long, narrow alley, but it's completely safe - don't get freaked out (like I did a bit when we arrived)
- Apart from the transfer from the airport which is completely worth it, just get your own taxis everywhere else. We got a private car to Nikki Beach which was 350DH return, but just walk to the square and you can get a taxi there for 100DH and one back for the same price (basically, the Riad does overcharge for using private cars, and it's so easy to just grab a taxi).
- Breakfast is not wonderful. It's convenient, and served upstairs until midday, but cost quite a bit extra and was a little plain.
- The dinner we had on our first night was gorgeous - I would really recommend eating in the riad one night, and like I said the place is out of this world in the evening.
- Go to Nikki Beach! It's expensive and definitely a treat, but worth it for a full day of luxury by the pool, and the food is really good too. We ended up going twice.
- Very quiet and private - wouldn't recommend it for children at all, but perfect for couples.

We had such a wonderful time, and would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful, but I'm sure you won't be disappointed with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and summary of your stay in Marrakech and at Dar Fakir. We'd just like to clarify to other review readers that our breakfast does not cost extra it is included in our standard price. In this instance the guests had booked a special, reduced offer with other T&C, part of which excluded breakfast. The reduction given did not reflect the cost of our breakfast. Additionally private transfers are always more expensive than a regular taxi but our rates are extremely competitive compared to other private transport services. Many guests do not enjoy the trouble of having to negotiate fees with regular drivers and appreciate the value (reliability, standard of vehicle, careful driving) of the extra cost in return for private transfers.
We are happy that you really appreciated your stay with us and hope you have wonderful memories of Marrakech.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had an absolute excellent and relaxing stay at that Riad. We never expected such a wonderful Hotel after a short walk through all those small alleys. When you open the main door you seem to be in another world - a mix of "very aesthetic" but always original. The management was very friendly and care taking. We advice to make use of the opportunity to be picked up from the airport.

Room Tip: To be honest the rooms are all very nice the only difference is the size - so you can´t really choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#360 of 500 in Marrakech
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#211 of 500 in Marrakech
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#408 of 500 in Marrakech
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#185 of 500 in Marrakech
176 reviews
7.7 mi away
Dar Ilham
Dar Ilham
#324 of 500 in Marrakech
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $126 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fakir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing