We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Fakir
Nearby Hotels
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$90
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$257
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$454
$366
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$225
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$592
$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
116
36
8
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
36
8
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squareshower roomrooftop terraceriadmoroccoel
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 173 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived early evening for a 4 night stay and we felt as if we were stepping into an oasis of calm. It was peaceful, absolutely beautiful; we don’t think we could have picked a better location or place to stay. Dar Fakir is run by Kirstin who runs it very efficiently and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. Included was breakfast which was always plentiful and delicious. Our room was beautiful as were the others which we sneaked a look at. Also included was our first evening meal served to us on the roof terrace and this was fantastic - one of our better meals during our stay. The location is perfect set behind the main square but once you enter Dar Fakir it is almost silent – a fantastic escape from the hustle and bustle outside. Whilst there we did a cooking morning at Maison MK which was fabulous but as a place to stay it was far too modern for us and prefer the more traditional style of Dar Fakir. I would highly recommend the cooking morning. All in all a great stay and already planning our return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cranefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Thanks to Kerstin and her fabulous team at Da Fakir. We had a superb time and would truly recommend it to anyone.

Kerstin is a wealth of knowledge and organised a wonderful day trip to the high Atlas, an awesome hammam and some top tips for finding our way around the medina. The service was attentive, the surroundings induced relaxation, the room was spacious and comfortable. The roof terrace was a wonderful space too and made the riad a welcoming place to return to after a hectic day in the medina and surrounds.

Da Fakirs location has to be one of the best in Marrakech and the airport transfer service was slick and professional.

Thanks Kerstin for making our trip the best it could have been and thanks again to your wonderful staff.

Robin & Michaela

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we arrived in the square and was met by a man with his trolley to transport our luggage down the hideaway alleys. When the door was opened to us it was like another world inside, it was warm cosy and inviting, decorated in a very morrocan style. However it was shabby chic, but a little more shabby than chic, but very clean, nice crisp fresh linen and soft fluffy towels. My one complaint was the lighting, theres ambient and there is cant see much at all so dont bank on reading in your room at bedtime!!! However we couldnt fault Kirstin the manageress/ director, she had so much info to tell you, ie where to visit and see, where is good to eat and drink how and what to tip etc.........she was great, so thank you kirstin. Dar Fakir is worth a visit and the other staff are wondrful working extremely hard and nothing was too much trouble for them, so take a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkSusie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Collected at the airport by a friendly driver, guided through the souks by a helpful young chaperon, welcomed by the Moroccan family living opposite, greeted warmly by the French speaking night guards. Our arrival in Marrakech could not have been smoother - all thanks to Dar Fakir.

The first thing that hit me about Dar Fakir, besides the impeccable range of services they were able to pull together and it's location close to La Place, was the sweet smell of the incense, followed by the friendly nature of all the people who greeted us. We were told to abandon our cases, and invited to sit in the lounge and sip the most delicious drink (which I now know to be sweet mint tea) to relax before being shown to our room.

The decor of Dar Fakir is so up my street - whitewashed luxury. Words cannot do the beauty of the place justice. It is exactly as it appears on the website - maybe a bit better in the flesh!

We instantly fell in love with our room and knew that it would be heart break when it came to leaving in a few nights time. The property has a chic but peaceful feel about it and to be honest we couldn't resist jumping into our robes and hitting the sheets so we would be fresh in the morning.

I woke up confused as to where I was - I haven't slept so deeply for a long time! The glimmer of sunshine through the bottom of the door was the first thing I saw. We were served a beautiful selection of Moroccan breads and cakes for breakfast - lots of sugar so we had energy for the day ahead. The female night guard ( I feel terrible I've forgotten her name) was interested in our plans for the day and kindly booked us into Nikki Beach for mid-day.

Not before we had checked out the views of the Medina from the roof terrace (which are breathtaking) did we venture out into the souks for some morning shopping. We were escorted to the square to our driver and were greeted at the doors of Nikki Beach - here followed 4 hours of pure relaxation, which included the owner of Dar Fakir introducing himself and recommending restaurants for our dinner plans.

On returning to Dar Fakir we were greeted by Kerstin, who I cannot praise highly enough. Kerstin knew who we were, when we had arrived and apologised that she hadn't been there as it had been very late at night. She wanted to help us make the most of our time in Marrakech and so arranged to see us later to go through things. Kerstin made reservations for dinner a cookery class and a hammam, on top of recommending places for lunch and routes to take through the Medina. Additionally, Kerstin made us feel so welcome just by chatting with us about her own experiences of Marrakech - she has so much time for her guests!

I hope I've covered everything I've enjoyed about this lovely riad. I whole-heatedly recommend it and cannot wait to return.

A special mention to the lovely Fatna who taught us how to make gorgeous lemon chicken tagine on my birthday. Shukran!

Room Tip: They're all beautiful, but there's quite a size difference between the rooms and suites.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lil_blenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed with my wife at the dar fakir of October 2012. What makes this riad stand out is the authentic Moroccan decor.The restaurant is fantastic
Waking up in the morning from the birds melody.But the main qualifications of this riad is the Director, Kerstin which is always next to each visitor ready to satisfy any requirement of.
Thank you Kerstin
Thank you dar fakir

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveltour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews