We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hide-a-way”
Review of Dar Fakir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Fakir
Ranked #338 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our recent stay at Dar Fakir made our Marrakech trip especially memorable. This quiet, peaceful Riad is the perfect tonic after a long day of exploring the Medina. It’s unpretentious and comfy - yet very refined. You can tell that much care was taken in designing the décor – which is such a big part of the any traveler’s experience. Kerstin was amazing! She was very helpful and gave you her personal insight to navigating the medina. Dar Fakir was the perfect choice. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnStefanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 173 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I love to stay in Marrakech’s best Riads for a few days. That enables us to truly disconnect with our stressful jobs. This is what you should be looking for when choosing Dar Fakir. It is a very peaceful place, splendidly decorated, comfy and unique. It is like being in a cocoon while only a few meters away from place Jemaa El Fna and the best spots in the city. A unique experience, highly recommended!

Room Tip: the higher the better ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Fakir in September 2012 in the junior sutie for 4 nights for a city break. The location of the riad is PERFECT for getting to all the medina sights, and surprisingly, due to it's central location is not noisy at all! From the pictures we saw we knew it was going to be something special but it surpassed out expectations - the decor is beautiful and classy. The 3 course set meal was sublime and the staff, especially Kirsten and Hassan were all attentive and very helpful! I would have no hesitation to recommend this Riad to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review. You already let us know during your stay how much you enjoyed it but we appreciate that you have taken the time to share the experience and your opinion with other Tripadvisor readers too. You truly settled into Marrakchi life and made the most of your time here. Congratualations again on the good batering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We had only 3 days at Dar Fakir and wish it could have been longer. We took over the riad for my husband's 50th and it was amazing, perfect in every way! Kirsten couldn't have been more helpful and more enthusiastic towards helping me organise the weekend. I asked if she create a treasure hunt for us as my husband and I thought it would be fun for our group of friends to get lost in the souks but with some kind of order. Kirsten did an amazing treasure hunt and my only disappointment was that I asked for it to last only until lunch time but wish it had lasted all day as it was such good fun and we learnt so much about the Moroccan culture too! I would highly recommend the treasure hunt! Kirsten also helped me book our chosen restaurants and hammam and couldn't have done more if she tried. Hasan and the rest of the staff were so kind and patient with us as we constantly demanded more cold beers.

Thank you to all at Dar Fakir in making my husband's 50th a truly memorable and special event!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gisela12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Having you and your group of friends stay with us and take over the whole riad was a real pleasure. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the treasure hunt as much as we and the locals that took part enjoyed it. We very much believe in supporting the local community and offering visitors a mix between fun and culture. We are very happy to hear that our goal seems to have been achieved and we look forward to welcoming you or friends back in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed at Dar Fakir for 3 nights and would definitely stay here again if we come back to Marrakech. I thought the photo's on the website were a true reflection, and it was exactly what I hoped it would be. We had a standard room, Ghalia, which was small but absolutely fine, although the bathroom would have been a struggle for a large person. We ate on the roof terrace one evening and on the ground floor next to the pool another, and the ambiance in the candlelight was delightful and romantic, the food was very good too. We particularly enjoyed breakfasts on the terrace, and the staff were very pleasant and attentive. The riad had a very relaxed atmosphere and was in an excellent location, very close to the main square. Kerstin was very helpful and answered our many questions, and arranged a driver to take us to the Kasbah du Toubkal for lunch in the Atlas mountains which was well worth the journey, and booked a hammam and massage for us at the Mythic Oriental Spa which was absolutely beautiful.
We were very glad we chose this riad and would recommend it to our friends. We enjoyed Marrakech but 3 nights was enough in this crazy city. Be prepared to be very assertive with people on the street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrs6ardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable 3 nights at Dar Fakir to celebrate my birthday in Marrakech. The Riad is perfectly situated in the Medina and within walking distance to the main square and the souk. My group hired the whole Riad which was perfect as it has a very beautiful homely feel. The staff went out of there way to be helpful and made some delicious breakfasts for some very hungover guests each day!! I think with all Riads if you look to carefully you can pick fault, but for the price its good value.

Room Tip: I believe Salma and Iswane are the two best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdK350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We (myself and 6 female friends) chose this riad as our last stop on our mini adventure around Morocco (we stayed in several places in Marrakech and Essaouira) and were very glad we did slightly sunburnt and tired from our 3 hour coach journey from the beach this was the quiet, beautiful and relaxing place we were looking for. It's fantastic location meant we were a couple of minutes walk from the main square where we enjoyed our last evening (highly recommed the street food markets for dinner one night its a great experience) , although i would warn it's a little tricky to find down the windy streets especially with most of the road names in arabic but with a little help from friendly locals we found it!

The rooms were perfect, cool and beautiful and we spent a lot of time on the terrace area where the bed like sofas surrounded by sheet like curtains were a great place to chill out both during the day and in the evening.

The assistant manager was amazing, although she doesnt speak much english we muddled along with our french, she was friendly, helpful and provided us with a delicious breakfast the morning we left including omelettes, moroccan breads and freshly squeezed orange juice. The airport transfer was really easy and quick, would advise anyone staying here to use it!

It is a little pricey but I would say if your looking for a little oasis stumbling distance from the heart of the action this place is worth it.

The only thing the made it less than perfect was a conversation with the manager when we came to pay, 2 our our group paid their share on card and we gave her the rest of the total in cash and asked for 70 dirham change the manager said she didnt have change and that anyway she assumed we would be leaving that as a tip so should she just keep it. We felt a little put out by this as it seemed she didnt believe we would tip unless she pressured us into it (which we were planning on doing anyway and of a larger sum than the 70 dirham she seemed intent on taking) , we felt so uncomfortable we said she could keep it . We did in the end also leave another tip with the assistant manager when we left but did feel that due to our age (young looking mid 20 year olds) the manager was patronising us and sadly did feel this way on several occasions when we spoke to her which did slightly sour our stay as we didnt feel as welcomed by her as we did my the french speaking other staff!!

I feel that regardless of the age of the visitors everyone should be treated with respect especially when staying in a high quality place where you're paying so much. It also might be worth mentioning you're not able to offer change when settling up payment so that vistors can prepare for this on arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

Thank you for your feedback it's great to hear that you enjoyed the riad and our breakfast so much and I remember your group very well. We are used to receiving young guest especially after having featured in "Made in Chelsea" and make absolutely no difference with the treatment in terms of age. On the contrary to us it felt we were trying to assist but your group of 7 girls was not really interested and seemed quite content just lounging on the terrace for the 1 night that you stayed. As you had already been in Marrakech prior to coming to our riad your group mentioned you didn't require any of the normal introductions/ information etc we normally provide. So we had very little contact.
I also want to make clear that we never assume tip. Tip is something that the guests give by themselves. As you overpaid on checkout I did question if the rest was meant as tip, especially as the amount could have been paid exactly given part was paid by card (there in the confusion). You are correct in saying that, we did not have change at the time, but we offered that a member of staff could go out and get the money changed so we could give back the DH70/ Euro 7. However it had been mention by yourselves that you would like to leave tip later on, so it was simply a question if this amount might match/ contribute towards the amount you had in mind? It was supposed to be a practical solution not by any means patronizing. Shame you took it the wrong way.
It is appreciated that you tipped our night duty separately (the assistant manager who also speaks English was on holiday). The extra tip will also have been appreciated by the rest of the staff . At Dar Fakir we run a general tip kitty policy and all tip is shared equally because not all staff members have equal amounts of guest contact, however they all contribute their share to making the guests stay special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#101 of 500 in Marrakech
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Riad Danka
Riad Danka
#21 of 500 in Marrakech
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#194 of 500 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#67 of 500 in Marrakech
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#263 of 500 in Marrakech
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $121 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fakir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing