We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, fresh and airy.”
Review of Dar Fakir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Fakir
Ranked #338 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed August 31, 2011

A stunning property really close to the square, tucked away from the lovable chaos this remarkable little gem is a cool oasis of calm and tranquility. The staff are really very helpful, in particular the director of the Riad Kersten Brand, who is on hand to help with any query from booking dinner reservations to recommending places to go, routes to take and divulging Marrekeshi etiquette.

A fab little getaway we will most certainly suggest to friends and family and indeed we plan to be back in the New year.

Thank you Kersten for all your help and hospitality :-)

Room Tip: Suite Salama has a huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CharlieJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 173 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

Had a 2 night stay during ramadan with my love... Even though this riad is REALLY very near Jemaa El Fnaa (when others pretend to be - but you actually have to sweat before reaching it), we stayed there all day and (almost) all night. Cool place, warm welcome and good chat (thanks to Kristin), excellent food (thanks to Fatna) , dedicated service and empathy (thanks to Mustapha), constant pleasure for the eyes (thanks to the owner !)... So this time, we did NOT get out, we just enjoyed our stay, hours of sweet easy living, on the "stah" (rooftop - with freshened air!) or lounge or just the gorgeous bedroom. One bad thing to say ? may be the huge bed was a little too firm.. maybe the rooftop furniture could be changed ... Well I must find something !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolvencyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Hello,
sure not to mention that Marrakech is something special we were quite happy not end in a standart hotel but to stay at the Riad Dar Fakir! Friendly & nice would be the words to find for the whole staff of the Riad. From the hotel director Ms. Brand to the lovely ladies who manage the all around service everything was perfect. We booked the airport transport on our arrival and when we left (sadly) Marrakech. A driver picked us up at the airport lobby and brought us to the famous Djeema el Fna Place. From there on a man guides us with a cart for our luggage through the sideway corridors of the medina straight to the Riad. Just a 3 minute walk from the place the Riad.

Our suite was nice, clean and as the rest of Riad had a real marrocan ambiente. Including the air conditioning. We had the possibily to get a padlock for our suite but security is not a problem in the Riad. Not like in a hotel nobody can get into the Riad without let in by the service ladies. So our suite door was 24 hours unlocked and nothing happened!

The only thing in our room could be, for some people/couples, a problem is the missing door to the bathroom. With just a swing door it could be for couples a bit of a problem to hear "everything". For everybody else...just turn on the music and have a laugh about it! ;-)

It was also very helpfull that Ms Brand sits down with the guests at the beginning to show on a easy looking map where is what and of course how to behave best in Marrakech.

So we find Marrakech and the Dar Fakir the place to be - even once in a lifetime!
But we will, thats for sure, come back...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

What a gorgeous place! We loved every minute of our stay! Dar Fakir is absolutely beautiful and the staff was ever so lovely and friendly. We especially loved the balmy evenings on the stunning roof terrace We will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aflocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at Dar Fakir as a family in June and had an amazing stay, the help we received from Kerstin was outstanding and all of our needs were taken care of. The raid itself is beautiful and calm even though it is close to the Medina which is great. We loved our trip to Nikki Beach which was a definate bonus of staying in the raid. The rooms were fantastic and we really could't fault anything- we have stayed in 3 other places in Marrakech and Dar Fakir was by far the best, we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We very much enjoyed having you here. Excellent to hear that all of you enjoyed the Birthday trip and celebrating at Nikki Beach. Thank you. Next time bring a few more family members and enjoy exclusive rental of our wonderful riad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

a beautiful airy sanctuary that has every thing you need to seriously chill out. 2 mins away, the atmosphere of the market . brillianit! Food & hospitality was exceptional, comfort & peaceful ambience, everywhere! loved it. booking again. thanks to kirsten x

Room Tip: all rooms are fabulous with detail that is individual to each georgeous room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarFakir1, General Manager at Dar Fakir, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Hello Dee, it was a lot of fun having all of you girls here. Glad you enjoyed it and Nikki Beach and us will be ready for you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel was excellent in everything, the service ,the cleanless, the food etc....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fahmindache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#219 of 499 in Marrakech
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#105 of 499 in Marrakech
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Danka
Riad Danka
#21 of 499 in Marrakech
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#106 of 499 in Marrakech
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fakir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fakir

Address: 16 Derb Abou El Fadail, Kennaria | Kennaria Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $122 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fakir 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fakir is a Riad de Charme located just 3 mins walk from Djema el Fnaa square. It reopened at the beginning of 2011 to visitors after a complete refurbishment. We differ from other riads in the sence that we offer an extensive service over other riads including not only the normal cooking courses but yoga, artisanal workshops and a very intimate service bordering onto concierge at very affordable rates. We provide extras such as meet and greet throughout your stay if required by our security guard during the evenings and at night. Mobile phones are provided to guests on request and are free of charge during their stay. We spend a lot of time with the guests making them feel welcome in the riad but also at home in the hectic maze of the Marrakech Medina. In total 5 languages are spoken in the riad - English, German, Swedish, French and the local Arabic, Darija. The rooms all have individually embroided bed linen made from Egyptian Cotton. The toiletries provided by Sence de Marrakech are Shower gel, Body lotion, shampoo and hand soap. For the Suite we can provide black soap and a gommage flannel.All rooms and Suites are decorated in elegant beige tadelakt on the walls as well as in the bathrooms. The floors have terracotta zellige. Rooms and Suites are furnished with traditional dark wood furniture in traditional berber style. The suites in addition have beautiful leather clad writing desks that tastefully match the decor. You will experience the ambience of arabian night in the evening when the handcrafted lamps and lanterns cast magical shadows on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Fakir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fakir Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing