We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Dollar des Sables - wonderful traditional guesthouse, beautiful rooms and living areas, great food and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Ranked #216 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Riad Dollar des Sables - wonderful traditional guesthouse, beautiful rooms and living areas, great food and service!”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Riad Dollar des Sables. We had a double room overlooking the main courtyard which was beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The staff were all lovely and very helpful, and Cathy was an excellent host sharing her local knowledge and recommendations. The location was really central and enabled us to get our bearings in the souks. We really enjoyed our meal cooked to order, fresh that same day - the fish tagine was amazing and the traditional soup and salads to start were excellent as well. If we could change one thing, it would be be hot water! I think this just a consequence of such an old traditional house but a little frustrating you couldn't have a decent shower. I would definitely recommend the Riad and I would return for another stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy_haddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    39
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

In 14 trips to Morocco, this is the worst place we've stayed. Constant pressure to eat at the hotel, buy trips, have the hamman. Dinner there was more than twice the rate in Jemma el Fna and they charged us 400 dirhams for a taxi to the mountains which cost us 100 dirhams on the way back. Budget place charging mid-range rates - and we were kept awake every night by dogs barking outside and the plumbing gurgling inside.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stayed in the Riad Dollar Des Sables in one of the standard rooms which was clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We had an amazing home cooked meal in the Riad which I would highly recommend and Cathy the owner gave us endless advice on how to make the most of our trip. This riads best quality is the peaceful feeling when walking in after a visit to the souks and is blissfully quiet despite its central location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Char1ie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

While the riad appeared initially atttractive, some nasty surprises were in store.
Despite being told that a taxi from the airport would cost under 150 dirham (about £13), the riad charged us 220 dirham for the 10-15 minute trip. This despite the fact that the taxi was over 1 hour late, despite 2 phonecalls, and we had to wait a further half hour for someone from the hotel to meet us in the main square (Djemaa El Fna). A petit taxi would have cost 50 dirham (about £4), we discovered later. The riad owner was unsympathetic and apparently deliberately misled us.
Also, the cookery course was very poor value for money, costing 900 dirham for 2 people for a rather rudimentary lesson...including being introduced to the local carpet seller which meant an unwelcome hard-sell every time we came to or left the riad. We had booked to stay another 2 nights but cancelled and found another riad-definitely the right decision.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla_Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathMarrakechmedina, propriétaire at Riad Dollar Des Sables, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Google Translation
Bonjour ,
Je suis assez étonnée du commentaire laissé par ces clients, qui ont "oublié" sans doute de préciser que leur vol ayant été retardé, notre chauffeur a dû les attendre durant une bonne heure à l'aéroport;
Le tarif officiel des taxis à l'aéroport de Marrakech est de 150 dirhams quand ils le respectent . Notre chauffeur est à notre disposition et ne peut donc pas prendre d'autres clients que les nôtres, même si le vol est retardé, d'où la différence de tarif .De plus, Il est inexact que les taxis demandent 50 Dhs..;c'est plutôt à la hausse en général, surtout de nuit!
Dès que les clients sont de le véhicule de notre chauffeur , celui ci nous appelle pour que Le gardien du Riad vienne chercher les clients à la Place Djema El Fna afin de les escorter jusqu'au Riad, ce qui évite d'être alpagué par les faux guides!
Concernant le cours de cuisine, cette dame oublie également de mentionner que vu le choix du plat (Tangia) qui prend moins de temps que pour un autre type de plat, j'ai inclus les entrées ,le dessert et la bouteille d'eau pour compenser...
Je suis désolée que ces clients n'aient pas apprécié leur séjour chez nous, on ne peut sans doute pas plaire à tout le monde.... Dommage que cette dame fasse preuve d'autant de mauvaise foi, et de manque d'objectivité .
Reading this review , I have to give my point of view and correct some things this lady has written about us;
First it seems that this lady has forgiven to tell that our private driver had to wait for them during 1 hour at the airport as their flight was delayed; of course our price is a bit more expensive as our driver cannot take other clients;
The official price is 150 Dhs but taxis often don't respect it especially by night, and ask an extra charge for the luggage! which cannot occure with our driver.
When our driver has the clients inside his car, he calls us and the night guard goes within 5 minutes to Djema El Fna Square to meet them and escort them to the Riad;
This service we provide avoid the false guides! and garantee safety.
Regarding the cooking lesson, this Lady has also forgot to mention that I offered spontaenously their first course, dessert and water, as the "Tangia" is simple to cook..of course their meal was included in the 900 dhs they have paid!
I have to say that I'm really sorry if those guests didn't appreciate their stay with us! of course my interest and will is not to unsatisfy my guests to whom I try my best to make them feel as if they were at home...though we cannot please everybody and I wish this Lady could have been more objective and honest..
Please read all our reviews ...to have an idea of what most of our guets think about us.
Cathy The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezuela
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We had an excellent time there.
Great location, servise, very clean and amazing food.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed at Riad Dollar Des Sables for 3 nights during our first visit to Marrakesh. They arranged transport from the airport to a location where Abdul met us and helped us to navigate the windy streets to the Riad.

It is located in the middle of the souks, but just away from the hustle and bussle. You do have to make your way through a dark alley to get there at night - but we had no problems.

The riad itself is very atmospheric. The room was pretty and comfortable and the downstairs area for eating etc was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRadcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Marrakech is wonderful city for colours, smells and most definitely haggling with the traders for leather, silks, lamps etc. We used Riad Dollar des Sables as our base as we travelled around Morocco for 2 weeks and each time we returned to Marrakech and to this riad, we felt as we were returning 'home' which is perfectly located for the bustling souks. Despite its proximity to the souks, the minute you step through the door into the riad, you are greeted with friendly and helpful staff and most noticeably peace and quiet too. It has been restored beautifully and we definitely would recommend this riad to anyone who wants to experience staying in the Medina and in a charming old house.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenelopeQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#123 of 500 in Marrakech
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#255 of 500 in Marrakech
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Mirage
Riad Mirage
#161 of 500 in Marrakech
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#260 of 500 in Marrakech
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chorfa
Riad Chorfa
#235 of 500 in Marrakech
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dollar Des Sables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dollar Des Sables

Property: Riad Dollar Des Sables
Address: 13 Derb Deffa Ourbaa | Laksour Smarinne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dollar des Sables is a nice traditional guest house of 6 rooms ( 3 doubles, 2 twins and a very romantic Suite for two and can be transformed into a triple with an extra charge ). The ideal location inside the Medina ( 400 meters walk from Jema El Fnaa Square) allows you to explore the city easily. The Riad is located at the entrance of the main Souk,called "Smarinnne" and the famous Square "Jema el Fna" only at a 2 minutes walk. Upon arrival, we recommend you to book our airport pick up, especially by night , to avoid the fake guides; we can also meet you at the Square , or pick you up at the airport, for an extra charge (150 Dhirams :1or 2 guests . So don't hesitate to contact me , giving me your flight details so that I can arrange this service with my private driver.Our driver will drop you at jema el fna Square within 10 minutes, and we will be there to meet you. As soon as you get inside the House , you will be touched by the enchanting atmosphere of Riad Dollar des Sables. The whole staff is welcoming you with a smile, and a special attention : coloured candles, fresh roses petals at your feet, delicate flavor in the air and oriental music..Just to make you feel in the mood and comfortable.Passing through the corridor, you will discover the peaceful courtyard and its fountain made of traditional mosaics.On its terrace, Riad Dollar des Sables offers a relaxing and traditional Hammam ( run with wood) and massages for a very good price;First, you will be invited to share with me (Cathy) a sweet refreshing mint tea and moroccan pastries.As I'm living all year long in Marrakesh since 2006, I know quite well the city and shall be happy to share with you my experience , giving you all the useful information and good adresses to enjoy your stay .We shall give you a map to sign the main monuments to visit or restaurants around. We can also provide moroccan meals at the Riad,cooking classes ( mornings) with my cook Mouna, guided tours in your language with official guides, or excursionsinthe surroundings of the city, body treatments at the Riad provided by professionals only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dollar Des Sables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing