We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Really lovely Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Alma
Ranked #94 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really lovely Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just back in the UK and already missing Riad Alma, it was such a relaxing experience. It's a typical Riad, looks nothing from the outside but an oasis of calm on the inside. The hotel were great in organising airport transfers and were really welcoming. The meal we had at the hotel and breakfasts were great and the overall place was clean, friendly and spacious. It is set in a quiet area in the Kasbah but it is a 20-25 minute walk/gauntlet run to the Djemaa El Fna which is the only negative when you want to go back out in the evening after a hard days sightseeing. The area though is buzzing with locals and if you can cope with the fun of dodging scooters, bikes, cars and donkeys its fine!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaD12326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    31
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
104
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Riad Alma is a 7 bedroom well run Riad in the Kasbah area in the south of the Medina with comfortable communal spaces and a lovely roof terrace. The house is like a tardis - seems small on the outside - inside it is large and spacious. Set in a quiet and peaceful pedestrian area where the locals live, a 20 minute stroll from the main square and the souks. This can be an advantage as going to and fro you get a good feeling for every day life in Marrakech without the hustle. It is also conveniently near to fascinating attractions like the Tombs and the Palaces. Micheline and Mourad are delightful hosts and will happily advise and arrange any restaurants or taxis that are required. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Like most houses in the Medina, Riad Alma is down a twisting sequence of narrow alley ways with no direct vehicle access - at first this might seem intimidating, but in fact after a few hours acclimatisation it is very easy to find your bearings in a safe and friendly environment. If you want more pzzazz and luxury book a hotel but for a comfortable, personal sample of what it is like to live in Marrakech a Riad is the way to go and Riad Alma is definitely a good and caring example of Moroccan hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goanpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My friend and I stayed four nights in the senior suite which was certainly worth the treat with lots of space, traditional furnishings, a private terrace and views down into the courtyard.

The Riad management organised our airport pick up which was jolly useful as you need a friendly taxi driver to walk you down the maze of alleyways to the front door. On arrival - well in advance of the official check in time our room was ready with twin beds as booked. Staff just couldn't be more helpful with advice on where to visit and were always on hand to supply a glass of wine or pot of green tea and nibbles as required. If you stay make time for an afternoon relaxing on the day bed and braving the plunge pool which makes a lovely contrast to the hustle and bustle outside of the Riad walls.

The Riad is a good stroll from the main square but the stroll via the Rue de Kasbah was always of interest, leads you close to a number of 'things to see' and culminates in the wonderful Kasbah Cafe which I would highly recommend for a rooftop lunch or dinner.

Many thanks to Mourad, Martine, Micheline and the catering and cleaning team for making our stay so special - excellent customer service delivered with warm smiles - lovely.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the treat of the Senior Suite you will not be dissappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Alma with my wife for our 20th wedding aniversary and had a great stay. We were lucky enought to get an upgraded room and stayed on the second floor overlooking the courtyard. The Alma was a lovely peaceful haven in the bussle and noise that is Marrakech. The staff were really friendly and helpful gave good adive about the best restaurantrs and how to get around. The room was cleaned daily and was spacious enough for two. Would definitely recommend

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms do get the pleasure?? of birds walking each morning around 6:00 but by the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this place hoping to get a bit more of an 'authentic' Moroccan experience and overall it was very nice.
There are only 7 rooms but the property feels very spacious with lots of space to relax including a lovely little pool area.
We had a junior suite with the bathroom upstairs. The room was nicely decorated and furnished although somewhat lacking in mod cons: I didn't mind that there was no TV but i slightly did mind that there was no fridge. Not being able to have cold water in the room when it was 40 degrees outside wasn't really good enough especially @ €120 per night.
We had the set dinner the first night which was very good but a bit overpriced when compared to what was on offer outside.
The staff and management were very welcoming and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The location isn't bad (about a 15 minute walk to the main square) but the riad itself can not be accessed directly by car or taxi - the streets which immediately surround it are too narrow - to be honest, lone female travellers would probably not enjoy the walk along the quiet, dimly-lit streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in Marrakech with my kids this past June, and am so happy we stayed at Riad Alma. Their hospitality is unmatched! They really made us feel at home, and what a beautiful home! We can't thank Mourad enough for all he did for us! Always met us with a big smile and willingness to help and show us around. Pierre also was always willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Their breakfast was wonderful, all homemade, including the crepes and jam. Try their dinner one night. The ladies cook it from scratch, and their brochettes and tagines are delicious. Very pretty and peaceful place! Loved staying there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiciaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad Alma is a great place to stay in the heart of old city of Marrakech. The biggest value of this place are people who are working there. Very friendly and helpful. They are going to help you to see what you want to see, to provide you a transportation to keep your luggage and provide you a shower once when you are checked out....
The hotel is located in the heart of the old city in very interesting area. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely furnished.
Highly recommended place for of you who wants to visit this very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamioni-Avioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#82 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#62 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#133 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#105 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#113 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#84 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Property: Riad Alma
Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alma is our beautiful house of 1200m2 , with two courtyards with a pool and another with a fountain , the patio is equipped with misters for cool summer. We have 8 rooms for 20 people. Each room has a private bathroom , our rooms are bright and spacious 50m2 up . Seven of them have private terraces allowing for privacy and quiet time . The hammam spa and massage room are at your disposal to relax. Our chef one of the most famous of the city prepares dishes with market produce. Our team is highly qualified and works hard to make your stay a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing