We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Alma
Ranked #102 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this place hoping to get a bit more of an 'authentic' Moroccan experience and overall it was very nice.
There are only 7 rooms but the property feels very spacious with lots of space to relax including a lovely little pool area.
We had a junior suite with the bathroom upstairs. The room was nicely decorated and furnished although somewhat lacking in mod cons: I didn't mind that there was no TV but i slightly did mind that there was no fridge. Not being able to have cold water in the room when it was 40 degrees outside wasn't really good enough especially @ €120 per night.
We had the set dinner the first night which was very good but a bit overpriced when compared to what was on offer outside.
The staff and management were very welcoming and helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The location isn't bad (about a 15 minute walk to the main square) but the riad itself can not be accessed directly by car or taxi - the streets which immediately surround it are too narrow - to be honest, lone female travellers would probably not enjoy the walk along the quiet, dimly-lit streets.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    32
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
107
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in Marrakech with my kids this past June, and am so happy we stayed at Riad Alma. Their hospitality is unmatched! They really made us feel at home, and what a beautiful home! We can't thank Mourad enough for all he did for us! Always met us with a big smile and willingness to help and show us around. Pierre also was always willing to help and make us feel comfortable. Their breakfast was wonderful, all homemade, including the crepes and jam. Try their dinner one night. The ladies cook it from scratch, and their brochettes and tagines are delicious. Very pretty and peaceful place! Loved staying there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiciaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad Alma is a great place to stay in the heart of old city of Marrakech. The biggest value of this place are people who are working there. Very friendly and helpful. They are going to help you to see what you want to see, to provide you a transportation to keep your luggage and provide you a shower once when you are checked out....
The hotel is located in the heart of the old city in very interesting area. Rooms are very, very clean and nicely furnished.
Highly recommended place for of you who wants to visit this very interesting city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamioni-Avioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and loved it. Beautiful room, was upgraded without asking. Loved the roof terrace and plunge pool. Decor is gorgeous and staff could not be more friendly. Good position, near enough to the centre to walk, but far enough away for peace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was my second trip to Riad Alma, travelled on the 9th April. Beautiful accommodation, fantastic hosts and great food. very tranquil and chilled Lunch at the Kasbah café is well worth a visit Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxted79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Riad Alma is a lovely home into which we were welcomed by owner Pierre. The Riad itself is beautiful, with a quiet roof terrace, and several courtyards for relaxing in the sun / shade, and lots of indoor lounge areas for chilling out in the evening with a glass of wine in the company of the other guests. Our room was small, but clean and functional, and decorated in a Moroccan style. The only negative was the location - a good 25 minute walk through dusty streets dodging cars and motorbikes to Jemaa el Fna (the main square). We were really pleased that we visited while Pierre was in town (he splits his time between Marrakech and France) as he was very friendly, ensured we had everything that we needed, and generally made us feel like old friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldramblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at Riad Alma was perfect. The food was tremendous, everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. Micheline made our stay so enjoyable I can't wait to return. Riad Alma was wonderfully comfortable and beautifully decorated, and the plunge pool was very welcomed after being out in the bustling streets of Marrakech. I cannot fault it at all, I would definitely recommend it 100%

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#29 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#38 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#86 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#77 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#80 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Property: Riad Alma
Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alma is our beautiful house of 1200m2 , with two courtyards with a pool and another with a fountain , the patio is equipped with misters for cool summer. We have 8 rooms for 20 people. Each room has a private bathroom , our rooms are bright and spacious 50m2 up . Seven of them have private terraces allowing for privacy and quiet time . The hammam spa and massage room are at your disposal to relax. Our chef one of the most famous of the city prepares dishes with market produce. Our team is highly qualified and works hard to make your stay a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing