We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Alma
Ranked #99 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights over New Years and could not have been happier. The staff were really friendly and helpful with advice on what to see/where to go. The interior is stunning and at night, when the weather turns a bit cooler, the fires in each room just add to the homely atmosphere. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean. The roof terrace and 2 courtyards are lovely to sit in during the day. I would highly recommend staying here as the food (and a glass of wine) are very welcome at the end of a day in the Souks. The evening meals, if you decide to eat in, are very well cooked- the moroccan salad was especially good!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    32
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
107
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

A peaceful and beautifully maintained Riad in an interesting area of the city. Great to be in amongst the old streets rather than in the newer parts of Marrakech. It isn't far to walk into the main square and souks (about 20 mins at a leisurely pace), so everything feels accessible.

Rooms were simply and tastefully decorated, with some beautiful communal areas to relax in. Comfy beds! The pool area was spotlessly clean and tranquil.

It's a bit of a maze the first time you find it, but actually very straightforward once you know how. As a girl travelling alone I found the local area was fine to walk around alone, even at night. I'm glad I stayed in this end of town, as the local shops were very good value and authentic.

Will definitely stay here again on future trips!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustfromthestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My friend and I arrived a different Marrakech riad (NOT Alma) and encountered a rude owner, stuffy courtyard (yep, they exist) and clerk who turned verbally abusive and physically threatening. Thankfully, we escaped to Riad Alma. This Riad is gorgeous--2 interior courtyards (one with a fountain, which wasn't on when we were there but was still nice, and one with a small pool, perfect for cooling off in) and several beautifully decorated indoor sitting areas. Our room was large and opened to a terrace overlooking one of the courtyards. It had 2 levels--the downstairs sleeping/sitting area and an upstairs bathroom (which tended to get overly warm). Breakfast (served in the courtyards) was fine- coffee/tea, orange juice,yogurt, bread, jam.  Pretty as it is, this riad shines because of its staff. We didn't see Pierre (the owner) very often, but when we did he was always friendly and had the perfect recommendation for where we should go that night. Mohad took care of most of the hosting duties and we were in very good hands-the guy is delightful. He was endlessly patient with my subpar French and gave us expert directions every morning to wherever we wanted to go. He even walked us to a nearby restaurant one night to make sure we found it (the door wasn't very well-marked). The neighborhood is also great-the riad is tucked away on a side street that seems to be populated mostly by families with adorable kids. You have to cross a few busy streets to get to the square, which isn't that close, but a few of the main sights (the tombs, the palaces) are nearby. 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmoBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

I can't praise the Alma highly enough.
We stayed for 3 nights and came away thoroughly and utterly relaxed, that being the whole point of the break.
The food was magnificent, the hospitality was not even that, you were made a part of the family as soon as you walked in the door and the facilities once inside were everything you need just to while away a few chilled days.

The only downside I have to say would be Pierre calling me down to watch England being beaten by France in a room full of his compatriots !!!! But I'll forgive him for that....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gazroma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Riad Alma is absolutely beautiful: it has been decorated with amazing attention to detail and all of the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend this riad and would love to return there some time!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed with some friends at the beginning. Riad Alma was slightly away from the Medina (About 20 minutes walk away) in a much quieter area of the Kashba which suited us fine. It was in an area in the heart of Moroccan daily life
We couldn't fault the Riad at all. Very charming. Excellent service and nothing was too much trouble for Pierre and his staff. Mourad was absolutely great. We had a meal cooked for us personally on the second night and that was good.
We would definitely recommend the Riad to anybody.
There was one slight negative however and that was that they charged us each 10 Dirhams EACH for what was a FREE map. It was a shame really that they persist in doing this. But this musn't put you off. Just refuse the map or ask that you don't want to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnySouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Can't speak highly enough of the riad or pierre and his staff. friendly and unobtrusive made us feel very welcome and our stay very comfortable. it was always re assuring to know that the oasis was waiting for us after the hurly burly of the city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinners_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
2.8 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#98 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#44 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad O2
Riad O2
#223 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alma

Property: Riad Alma
Address: Derb Kbala 77 | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#119 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alma 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alma is our beautiful house of 1200m2 , with two courtyards with a pool and another with a fountain , the patio is equipped with misters for cool summer. We have 8 rooms for 20 people. Each room has a private bathroom , our rooms are bright and spacious 50m2 up . Seven of them have private terraces allowing for privacy and quiet time . The hammam spa and massage room are at your disposal to relax. Our chef one of the most famous of the city prepares dishes with market produce. Our team is highly qualified and works hard to make your stay a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Alma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alma Marrakech
Riad Alma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing