We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful & Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shemsi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Shemsi
Ranked #236 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful & Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June. We were welcomed with mint tea by the pool whilst we filled out the necessary paperwork. Noura (the owner) explained everything to us and gave us a map with a route from the Riad to the main square, along with some recommendations of restaurants. She was very friendly and helpful.
We stayed in the chocolate suite at the top of the Riad - the room was huge and had a lovely terrace just outside. We had lunch in the Riad on our first day, it was delicious and all freshly prepared. Water and mint tea was free throughout our stay.
The Riad is a very quiet part of the town so it is lovely and peaceful when you return from the hustle and bustle of the centre! It is only a short walk to some shops and the local market, and the main square and souks are a 15 - 20 stroll away.
Thoroughly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatsyPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
166
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

After the hustle and bustle of the streets, this is very tranquil and a perfect place to get away. I even decided to continue working on my book one morning - no children, telephone calls and just more haggling to look forward to.
Some local teenagers showed us the way to the riad when we were lost and proceeded to ask us for money every time we came back. Be warned that this is a precedent that the locals wish to avoid. I told them that if they asked for directions in England I would have given then happily without expectations of a reward.
In the main square, we practically had 200 dirham snatched from our hands by the snake men. Nothing is free! Someone died two months ago from a bite from a cobra whose teeth had not been filed so therein lies a warning. Riad Monceau provided a wonderful patisserie course, the highlight of this trip for me.
Haggling is both exhausting and fun so be prepared! What an experience this has been. Stay here, feel at home, maybe ask for a large room as ours, the pink room, was a little small but comfortable, and enjoy. Highly recommended as the closest to a home away from home as you may get.

Room Tip: Maybe not the pink room as a little on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a little gem. Prior to going I contacted Riad Shemsi and they replied very quickly, and this efficiency was just how the Riad was run. We stayed at the Riad Shemsi for three nights. Arrived at 10pm and was greeted with mint tea and cakes, very welcome. We stayed in the turquoise room, which is really spacious and has a very big shower. The bed and pillows were very comfy and the air conditioning unit was the quietest unit we have ever had. Breakfast was simple, bread, pancakes and home-made yoghurt, jam and cheese with tea. Enough to see you through to lunchtime. Mohammed was very accommodating with our early start on two days and had breakfast ready for us. The pool was an added bonus after a hot day out we spent a couple of hours each evening relaxing before going to dinner.

Tea and water was available free of charge any time day or night. On our last day we were not due to leave until 6pm and they let us keep our room on. A tax was organised by the Riad and was there early to collect us for the airport.

Well done Riad Shemsi you are up there at the top of my list.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Shemsi for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. It feels like you are staying on someone's home. The decor is beautiful, our room was on the ground floor- which we didn't mind, it had a small but adequate shower room and the rooms decor was traditionally Moroccan which was nice. There is a pool but we didn't use it- we did use the roof top terrace which provides a peaceful getaway from the busy streets. Being in the south of Marrakech it is close to some of the main tourist attractions and only a 15-20 minuite walk to the souks. I would recommend staying here if you like boutique B&Bs :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmiEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I with our 2 teenage daughters stayed here for 5 nights in the Berbere bedroom and the Orange bedroom which are next to each other.
We travelled in early April as we were expecting the temperature to be around 25C but summer came early which meant most days it was around 35C!! This made us extremely grateful for the pool (definitely a swimming pool NOT a plunge pool at 1.2m deep and roughly 20ft x 10ft) which we used a lot to cool off in.
The Riad is truly beautiful, only 6 rooms, very peaceful, each room traditionally but stylishly decorated with air conditioning, great showers, delicious Bains de Marrakech soap, shampoo, shower gel and body milk, a safe in each room and very firm matresses! Plenty of towels for the bathroom and by the pool and large towelling robes which we used by the pool as well. Most importantly for our 2 daughters, free Wifi throughout the Riad!
The roof terraces are both beautifully done with the tented area a great shady place to sit or plenty of smart loungers to lie in the sun, surrounded by potted plants and flowers.
We had pre booked a meal for the first night at the Riad as we knew we wouldn't be arriving till 8pm. I'm so glad we did as our flight was delayed and we didn't end up getting to the Riad till much later but it was no problem for the cook, who had waited for us and then proceeded to cook us a beautiful Morrocan meal - I would thoroughly recommend having a meal there.
Breakfast, which is served from 8.30 till 10.30am every day was delicious - freshly squeezed orange juice, homemade yoghurt, jams, breads and Berber pancakes and eggs cooked to order. I know one reviewer commented that there was no variety in the breakfast and whilst the above was on offer every day there was also sometimes dried fruits, sometimes fresh fruit then either croissants or pain au chocolate or homemade Maderia cake, I also had scrambled eggs which were beautifully cooked and spiced with cumin - with so much choice it would have been hard to be bored with the food! Oh and hot chocolate every day for my daughters.
Mohammed, who is there from about 5pm till about 10.30am each day is a quiet, gentle soul who is very helpful and will book or sort out anything for you - I was a bit of a pain - booking treatments and taxis and then cancelling them when our plans changed but he never batted an eyelid or made me feel I was being difficult!
The ladies who run, cook and clean the Riad during the day are charming - very little English,but if you don't speak French you can make yourself understood. The Riad is spotless and even though my daughters were a quite messy in their bedroom the maid tidied and cleaned their room every day always with a big smile. As other reviewers have mentioned it is incredibly quiet at Riad Shemsi as it is tucked away down a back alley at the bottom of the mainly residential area of the Kasbah, this means there are very few tourists around, however it is still only a 20 minute stroll to the main square (Jemaa el Fna).
This meant that on several occasions we felt very comfortable leaving our young teenage daughters there sunbathing and swimming for couple of hours whilst we visited some sights they weren't interested in.
Having visited the much busier, noisier far more touristy North Medina I was so glad we weren't staying there.
I don't think Riad Shemsi would be suitable for large, noisy groups unless taking over the whole Riad.
Mint tea, coffee, juice and water are provided free of charge and we would often have coffee on the roof terrace when we returned at night which was lovely. I honestly can't fault Riad Shemsi, it offered far more than I was expecting for the price and I think its only fault is underselling itself - I didn't realise until I got there that I could have had a cookery course there, massage treatments there and many trips can be booked from there including guides round the city! Would definitely return. I just hope all these comments get passed on to the staff?

Room Tip: Orange Room is a good size with large walk in shower. Berber Room is on the smaller size with a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finedinerStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The entry way and (small/very cold) plunge pool are beautiful. To lounge there after the noisy market (medina) area you need to pass through every time you come and go anywhere is a real pleasure. The suite is on the third floor (no elevator) and feels like you have the entire roof area to yourselves as the terrace is there too. (Maybe noisy if guests are partying in Summer?) The owner was not there apparently having a baby and the relief staff were nice enough but dropped the ball by having breakfast ready AFTER we were scheduled to be picked up by our city tour guide. No breakfast, big tour, not good ! Mohammed (nice guy) the night man forgot it was Sunday (stores open later apparently). He also locked himself out for an hour until I happened by. There was no food service offered and that's not a bad thing as the Les Jardins de la Medina riad is steps away and has a great restaurant, atmosphere, full staff and they change money for guests---at the official rate.

Room Tip: Chocolate suite big and has an extra single bed. A safe too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#43 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#37 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Issil
Les Jardins d'Issil
#6 of 248 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Awa
Riad Awa
#264 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#25 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Property: Riad Shemsi
Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shemsi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing