We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Shemsi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Shemsi
Ranked #227 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Shemsi from the 2nd to 6th of July, in the middle of Moroccan summer (hot with a capital H). We were expecting alot from this place due to all the good reviews by previous patrons, and we were thoroughly suprised. Riad Shemsi is a true oasis in the Medina, and far exceeded our expectations! The staff are very attentive, uninstrusive and could offer genuine advice on places to eat and see. We stayed in the Chocolate Suite which is by any standards a lovely room, and the rest of the Riad is equally immaculate and well appointed. The swimming pool was greatly appreciated, and although not olympic in size, it is a genuine pool and not a converted fountain.

On arrival the AC was faulty, and after 15 minutes a repairman showed up. I assume he could not fix it as he was given a (descrete, but audiable) ear ache from the woman in charge, and shortly afterwards another man showed up and to fixed the fault after a good hours work. I am familiar with ear ache regardless of culture or language...

The location is perfect as it is easy to find after a walk round the Souks, and also because it is in a quieter (and cleaner) part of the Medina - which you will really appreciate as Marrakech gives new meaning to the words "hectic" and "chaotic".

The food and drink offered are of good quality at a fair price. Water, english tea, mint tea and juice were offered FOC (all day and night) as well as light breakfast (served upon request) consisting of maroccan pancakes, baguette, jam and natural yoghurt with a choice of tea or coffee. My only comment would be that the seasoning is suited to european taste, which will suit most, but probably not foodies.

Finally, I must add that I am a rather spoilt traveller, who usually stays at rediculosly over priced resorts and hotels - and I'm usually rather dissapointed. Riad Shemsi is by any standards, world class. We will definately return again soon.

Room Tip: Choclate suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
170
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in riad shemsi for 4 nights and had a wonderful time. It was clean, light and really well decorated, with a pretty courtyard and a small roof terrace for breakfast, sunbathing or a refreshing mint tea after a hectic day in the souks. Noura and Mohammed looked after us so well booking taxis, restaurants and nothing was too much trouble. It is well located in the South Medina, 10 minutes from the main square and near many good restaurants. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loumcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shemsi from 11th to 22nd March 2013. This Riad is very attractively furnished and the staff are charming, good humoured and could not do enough to be of help and assistance. The rooms are decorated in the Moroccan fashion and are very comfortable.We were served an excellent breakfast every day. We thoroughly recommend this Riad. It is situated off the rue de la Kasbah inside the Medina and most sights are within walking distance..It was delightful to stay there.

Room Tip: The pink Berber rooms although charmingly decorated have very small bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Girls trip, we had the riad to ourselves. It is beautiful! From the rooms, the pool to the breakfast quarters to the lounge on the roof!

I loved the mint tea and the flat bread served for breakfast.

The staff were quite friendly and helpful.

It is 10 mins away from the city and costs a few dhirams by taxi. You could get lost walking back as its in a maze and very secluded spot. But beautiful inside, worth the stay

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimples_djls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

As we were staying in Riad Shemsi for a week we decided to book the Chocolate Suite and we did not regret it. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The large shower room had lovely toiletries and bath robes.
Breakfast is very nice with delicious homemade yogurt but there was no variety. We had two lovely evening meals in the Riad and another in Les Jardins de Medina very close by. (booked by the Riad)
It takes more than 15 minutes to walk to Jmaa El Fna through the hustle and bustle of the very busy Marrakech streets. It was hotter than we expected so the air conditioning in our room was most welcome on a few occasions.
The Riad booked the trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. It is expensive but we really enjoyed it. We walked for two hours with a local guide and learned a great deal about the Berber way of life. To take advantage of this you do need to be able to walk on steep, rocky ground.
Riad Shemsi is a lovely place to come back to after a hectic, hot day. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful and I became addicted to the wonderful sweet mint tea. We loved the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for just one night but it was lovely- the staff were really friendly and helped us to plan our short time in the city, suggesting a great hammam etc. Its peaceful and beautifully decorated, comfortable and reasonably priced! highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

we visited the riad in august and had a very nervous arrival! The taxi we booked with the hotel dropped us on the main street and didnt even show us to the door. dont book a taxi with the hotel, over priced. We were greeted by abdellah, with tea and biscuits. Wow! amazing! such a beautiful riad, modern yet traditional. We had the whole place to ourselves for 5 days!
Plus - breakfast included, air-conditioning, clean, root top terrace for sunbathing, pool when in the hot august heat, out of town, peace and quiet, 'vanilla' room was a bargain - your paying the same price for a mid-range riad as you would for a not very nice riad closer to the square. staff very helpful, informed us on everything and helped us plan the rest of the trip. the kasbah (area of medina it was in) is nicer than the central or north medina, wider streets, better lit.
negative - poor selection for breakfast, it is a 25 minute walk to jammaa el fna, not a pleasnt one either, especially when its 40 degrees. get a taxi back at night. not much around the kasbah.
overall, the riad was so gorgeous it made our trip!!! would million percent recommend and go back. marrakech can be overwhelming so it was thankful to have a place like here to chill out in and have peace and quiet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosier_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#27 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Awa
Riad Awa
#262 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dar Hanane
Dar Hanane
#103 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hikaya
Riad Hikaya
#10 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Zamzam Riad
Zamzam Riad
#46 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Property: Riad Shemsi
Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shemsi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing