We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“best part of the trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Shemsi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Shemsi
Ranked #214 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“best part of the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

we visited the riad in august and had a very nervous arrival! The taxi we booked with the hotel dropped us on the main street and didnt even show us to the door. dont book a taxi with the hotel, over priced. We were greeted by abdellah, with tea and biscuits. Wow! amazing! such a beautiful riad, modern yet traditional. We had the whole place to ourselves for 5 days!
Plus - breakfast included, air-conditioning, clean, root top terrace for sunbathing, pool when in the hot august heat, out of town, peace and quiet, 'vanilla' room was a bargain - your paying the same price for a mid-range riad as you would for a not very nice riad closer to the square. staff very helpful, informed us on everything and helped us plan the rest of the trip. the kasbah (area of medina it was in) is nicer than the central or north medina, wider streets, better lit.
negative - poor selection for breakfast, it is a 25 minute walk to jammaa el fna, not a pleasnt one either, especially when its 40 degrees. get a taxi back at night. not much around the kasbah.
overall, the riad was so gorgeous it made our trip!!! would million percent recommend and go back. marrakech can be overwhelming so it was thankful to have a place like here to chill out in and have peace and quiet!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosier_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
172
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Have just returned from spending 4 nights 5 days in riad shemsi, a truly breathtaking place, we stayed in the chocolate room which was just wow..
I would highly recommend a stay there the staff were so helpful and Marrakech takes me back to my travelling days way back when
It's a must place to go :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in the chocolate which was more expensive but worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We traveled with our 2-year-old to Marrakesh in October and were delighted to find that Riad Shemsi met our family needs perfectly. We've heard that small riads can be tough to have toddlers in (since sound carries so well), but this was a lovely riad with the perfect sized pool and terraces for a little one. The staff was fantastic with our daughter and made our stay that much better. Breakfast on that beautiful terrace is wonderful!

We took a wonderful cooking class with the sweetest, kindest chef and shopped for all ingredients beforehand with the staff. They also arranged for a tour of the city with an English speaking guide which we thought was wonderful - but didn't realize they charged by the person and ended up paying twice as much as we expected. Oops! And don't let the guide not walk you home, telling you the riad is 'easy to find'. We were lost for a good hour at night before we found our way through the winding medina back to Riad Shemsi. This location is in the newer part of the Medina (by new, it's not 'new' - you're still in authentic Morocco) but is a short walk to the main souks. Out of the hustle and bustle. Our only criticism might be the decor - very classy and modern but I was hoping for something much more Morrocan (the boxy velvet furniture could easily be updated with authentic decor). Overall we felt incredibly safe and were happy to have found this riad!

Thanks to Peter for helping to arrange our stay! And for joining us for part of the cooking class!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This Riad is recommended for the ones who are tired from a busy, dirty and noisy Marrakech. The location is a little nit far from Jamaa El Funa (15 minutes walking) and there is no bank or ATM near this Riad. But the Riad has a small but a nice swimming pool and all rooms are with air conditioner. Then the staffs of this Riad are a little bit shy but very polite and helpful, very different than the people on streets of Marrakech. Home made yoghurt in the breakfast is very tasty. Mineral water and Moroccan tea are free of charge if you ask to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chihar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed four nights we had two rooms, the Orange and Berbere. As others have said provided relaxing tranquility after the hustle and busle of Marrakech.
The staff are very friendly but not intrusive. The breakfasts are good and arrives when you are ready.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e yorks
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Riad Shemsi. Abdellah was really helpful and informative. On the first evening he sorted the meal in the riad and helped us choose and book a restaurant for the following evening , he then walked us up to the square which is a must see at night but a mad place ! The following day he helped us plan our route around some places of interest. If you don't like bartering you might want to ask him where "Harrods" is. Our last evening was spent at a fab restaurant just round the corner called jardin in the medina. We could definitely rec this riad even at 46 degrees the pool was cool and the bedrooms comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The riad is very quiet and has a lovely plunge pool for cooling off after a day in the heat of the city. The staff are extremely helpful, Abdellah in particular, and nothing was ever too much trouble. They provided lots of useful information and helped with organising tours, taxis etc. The rooms are very comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was very nice and with plenty of variety.
Marrakech is a fascinating city and well worth spending two or three days minimum exploring the souks etc. Djna el Fna at night is an amazing spectacle and its great place to eat at the stalls. Delicious food at very reasonable prices. From the riad it is about a 15 minute walk to the centre.

Room Tip: We had rooms on the ground floor near the pool which meant we didn't have to carry heavy bags up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RegEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#89 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#52 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#105 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#147 of 501 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
13.1 mi away
Ecolodge Quaryati
Ecolodge Quaryati
#22 of 268 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Awa
Riad Awa
#268 of 1,162 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shemsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shemsi

Property: Riad Shemsi
Address: 194 Derb Chtouka, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shemsi 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Shemsi is a beautiful and elegant Riad in the heart of the Marrakech Medina. Situated in the Royal Kasbah, it is in easy walking distance of all the principal sites including the main square and the myriad souks. All the suites are delightfully presented in traditional Moroccan plasterwork and Marrekchi furnishings. The views from its elevated terrace are stunning. The celebrated Shemsi cuisine is sourced locally everyday from the freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Riad Shemsi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shemsi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing