We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great spot to stay in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tizwa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tizwa
Ranked #138 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great spot to stay in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Riad Tizwa, is a great location and beautiful house to stay in Marrakech, close to all the great shopping in the medina, and pretty much a taxi to the door, so no problems getting home late at night, friendly staff who speak good english and wonderful breakfast on the terrace in the sun!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dar76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    36
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
144
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed at Riad Tizwa for one week in March. The Riad is beautiful and a perfect haven away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

We arrived in the evening to a candle lit and fragrant courtyard, and a very warm welcome from Hassan.

Hassan made our stay at the Riad very special and memorable. A really friendly guy who was always had a smile for us and the offer of mint tea on our return to the Riad.

Hassan, Mohammed and all the staff at the Riad Tizwa were great.

We stayed in Room 2 which is in the roof space. A spacious and nice room with large walk-in shower. The room opens up on to the peaceful roof terrace where you can enjoy breakfast in the morning.

The Riad is a short and easy walk to the main square and Souks. And being just off a main street, feels very safe at night. You can be dropped off more or less at the door in a taxi as it's not right in the heart of the Medina.

Arrange to be picked up from the airport, the Riad can arrange this for a small cost. Streets and buildings are not well signposted and I think we would have really struggled to find the Riad ourselves on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickimunr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

We had booked another riad in Marrakech but after two nights, we fled to riad Tizwa. It is quiet and quite tastefully decorated. The other positive comments on tripadvisor held true for our stay. But best of all for us was the service, especially by Hassan. When we arrived in Marrakech, our car was parked in an obscure lot by someone at the first riad, and when it was time for us to depart, Hassan insisted on coming with us in the taxi to find the car. Without his gracious assistance we would still be driving around Marrakech, searching for the parking lot. You can trust that you will be well-taken care of is Hassan is around.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olzybots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My husband booked this for us to stay at, he thought it would be an experience for us.
I would have prefered staying in a hotel to be honest.
Saying that it is a lovley riad, well run and the staff very friendley.The decor traditional and clean.Location good for sights.
Maybe the riad experience was not for me.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonlady41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Thank you Riad Tizwa for making our time in Marrakech memorable! Always happy to help and make you feel at home, we loved waking up to enjoy their breakfast. The owners are lovely and friendly - I wish I stayed longer. Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Oso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

On arrival at Riad Tizwa we were immediately made to feel at home with some gorgeous mint tea, and shown to our rooms. We asked for a recommendation for somewhere to go for dinner in and within 20 mins a table had been booked for us and we were clutching a map showing us exactly where to go - complete with hand written instructions. The restaurant was excellent and we followed Hassan's recommendations for the rest of our stay. He also recommended a hammam for us, showing us several options online and again, booking for us once we'd picked one.

On our last day we decided to eat at the riad and I can't rave enough about the meal that was prepared for us. We sat up on the roof terrace (where we'd been sunbathing all day!) and had rose petals scattered on the table before the food was served - very romantic indeed! I've been to Morocco before, and eaten my fair share of tagine, and I can safely say it was The Best Tagine Ever. The beef just fell off the bone and the prune and nut combo is definitely something I'll be trying at home!

We were really sad to leave (albeit with their gorgeous local toiletries stuffed in our suitcases!) and we'll definitely be back soon. I can't recommend it highly enough. Just go!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tubbsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed here for the first three days of a two week trip around Morocco. The room was beautiful, and the Riad had just the right amount of homeliness and luxury to make it a fantastic stay. The staff were genuine, helpful and very very welcoming. Coffee waiting outside your room in the morning is a definite bonus in my book!

Overall the place is haven from the bustle of Marrakech, can't wait to go back again..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fergus_mount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#304 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#86 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#103 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#168 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizwa

Property: Riad Tizwa
Address: 26 Derb Gueraba | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#75 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully proportioned and sensitively refurbished traditional home only a short walk from Jemma El Fna. 6 double bedrooms each modernized to the highest standard are built around the courtyard, with three floors (sleeps 14, with 7 staff) perfectly suited to the discerning traveler, families looking for a lavish home from home, or a special occasion. Riad Tizwa is Morocco'€™s first recognized environmental Riad – awarded by Clef Vert the world renowned Green label for tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tizwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tizwa Marrakech
Riad Tizwa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing