We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Full of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Ranked #64 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Let's start by saying that this is Marrakech. Things aren't always going to go smoothly. But that being the case, what you want is a Riad where the staff can't do enough to help and whose main aim is to make sure you have the best stay you can. This is what you will get here and the riad has been restored with oodles of charm and character. If you want to stay somewhere with no character and where little breakdowns or power short circuits don't happen from time to time then book a big expensive chain and have an unreal experience. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. They will make you feel at home.

The breakfasts are plentiful and delicious. The main evening meal will feed about 3 people (rather than 1) with serveral courses and is fantastic, meals served wherever you desire. But bear in mind if you do the cookery course you will likely learn how to make what you ate the night before so I suggest you choose to do one or the other to avoid eating the same thing twice.
The double room was small but for one person, just perfect, and I always holiday on the principle that the room is really just somewhere to sleep between explorations. That said, as a single female traveller who will be up and out early exploring, and tucked up in my room safe at night, what is really important to me is internet in the room (which is what this riad advertises) so that I can report back home that I am safe and well, and keep in touch in my own relaxed space. Sadly this is not the case here. My room was on the top floor (also very cold at this time of year, so maybe ask to be lower if you are visiting off-season) and there was no internet there. So I would have to come all the way down to the lounge to use it (once in my pyjamas!) and even then it was intermittent. Given I made my booking choice partly based on knowing there is internet in the rooms, I don't think this riad should be advertising that they have it, as they know they don't. You may be luckier in lower rooms. On the flip side, I felt so at home that I didn't really care about sitting around in my pyjamas (no I'm not a total weirdo) but you really will feel at home here and there are lots of nooks and crannies to hide away in downstairs.

The location is great. Half way between the souks to the east and the bus station to the west (10 mins walk approx, each in a straight line). And Hammam de la Rose right around the corner, which I shall review separately (DO IT!), as well as the bus to Essaouira.

DO get picked up from the airport, as said before re finding this place initially) and DO take a compass (on your phone?) to save you walking miles in the wrong direction when you emerge from the souks with no concept of where you are. Maps won't help, and you'll likely have to pay for directions, which may or may not be correct. Don't expect landmarks or road signs to help you, either.

All in all, a lovely Riad, and an interesting visit to Marrakech, but I can't give 5* due to the misadvertising. If accommodation says internet in the rooms I expect that to mean ALL rooms. Otherwise, I don't think you would be disappointed if you booked here. (NB if anyone makes reference to the call to prayer at 5.30 in the morning, you will hear this EVERYWHERE over town, even with ear plugs in, and it is very atmospheric. Just make the most of the cultural experience if you can).

Room Tip: Off season, the upper rooms are very cold and there is no internet upstairs. If this is important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    56
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
124
346
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our second time visiting Les Trois Palmiers and our visit this time was as wonderful as it was when we first came, back in 2011. The riad itself is beautiful and provides a calming environment in which to relax and really get in to holiday 'mode'. We loved lazing on the terrace in the afternoons with some mint tea, alternating between cushions in the sun and shady corners.

The location of the riad is perfect for exploring the Medina, being about a 15 minute walk from the main square Djema el Fna which is the hub of the action. It's equally easy to go the other way and grab a taxi if you want to go further afield or you could simply walk to the Nouvelle Ville as we did to visit some of the attractions there like the Majorelle Gardens.

The staff at the riad could not do any more to make your stay as relaxing and memorable as possible. That was our main recollection from 2011 and one of the reasons for going back again; they did not disappoint this time around. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always advice and suggestions if and when we wanted them.

This time we also took advantage of some of the excursions on offer going in to the Atlas mountains one day and doing a cookery class in the riad one morning. Both were fantastic experiences, again made all the better by the friendliness of the staff as well as their flexibility to adjust plans to suit our preferences.

Patrick, Caroline and all of their staff make any holiday here a wonderful experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending Les Trois Palmiers to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpatMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello JC, you promised first time on our guest house book to come back, you did it.

Thank you for this and also thank you for your review.

We were so happy to see you again with your wife and please don't forget to send us some pictures about the meals you prepared for your friends after cooking class you had here with our chef Dalila.

Best regards. All staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The service in the Riat was very good. Everybody speaks English and they are very willing to help you. Everytime we came home they offered as a cup of mint tea.

The riat is very close to the center of Marrakech, everything can be done by foot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaAnne1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was a fantatastic experience. The staff were extremely friendly, the food was excellent and it had a very unique feel. Patrick the owner was very helpful and we were right in the heart of Marrakech - a 10 minute walk to the main Place. Highly recommended and will hoepfully return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkritchie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpatMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hello and thank you so much for this review, staff was really happy to welcome you. Hope to see you soon again.
Caroline and Pat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I cannot say enough about this hotel and their staff. They were absolutely wonderful. From picking us up at the train station, giving us directions to navigate the souks and organizing a day trip, everyone was so nice and overly accommodating. The riad itself is gorgeous and is equivalent to a five star hotel. The pictures do not do it justice. We stayed in a rooftop room and it had a nice view of the city and plenty of lounge spaces to relax. The room and bathroom were very beautiful and clean. We also had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and both were fantastic. I have always wanted to go to Morocco and had visions of indoor pools, beautiful tiles and traditional Moroccan details. This hotel has all of this with modern amenities and is just steps from the souks. We researched a lot of riads while planning for this trip and many were considerably more expensive. I honestly think this hotel is a terrific value and really does feel like a luxury hotel. If I am ever back in Morocco, I will definitely be staying here.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our rooftop room. We opened the windows at night for a nice breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Patrick has developed a beautiful haven within the craziness of Marrakech. The rooms are well designed and spacious and there is a lot of room in the riad to relax, including a huge roof terrace.

Easy to find after a couple of attempts, it is easy to walk into the main square plus, you can find taxis easily by Dar El Bacha palace.

Highly recommend a stay at this beautiful riad and Patrick and his staff are wonderful hosts, thank you Patrick, we hope to be back soon!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Passportstamp967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

From the original pick up from the airport by Ali their driver to the return to the airport after 3 days, we couldn't fault the hospitality, of this Riad. After a walk through the small alleys of Marrakech we arrived at the door of the Riad which opened to reveal a fantastic 12 room full of character right in the middle of the medina. Well decorated, clean and very welcoming. Patrick the owner welcomed us and introduced us to the staff. All of them were brilliant and gave us all the assistance we needed from providing maps to help us find our way out to organising a Guide to take us round Marrakech. Breakfast and lunch on the terrace was lovely, and they even explained how to cook a tangine and their breakfast pancakes. A return is a must. Thank you
Sue and Eddie.

Room Tip: Middle and upper rooms are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#256 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#89 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#101 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#68 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Property: Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Address: 35 - 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 44030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha is an amazing house built in the 18th century by a rich family of Marrakech. Very well located in the middle of the souks, Caroline and Patrick bought this Boutique-Hotel 10 years ago, made 2 years of renovation and decoration. They offer now 12 rooms, 2 pools, 2 courtyards, 3 terraces and a stunning overview on the Medina and the Atlas Mountains. They will both make unforgettable holidays for you. They will welcome you personally to Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing