We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing retreat in the heart of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Ranked #64 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing retreat in the heart of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A beautiful riad run by a lovely couple who have resurrected this riad from ruin. Friendly, helpful staff made our holiday very special. Gorgeous decor, lovely food. I would highly recommend their cookery course to learn how to make an amazing tagine!

I will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room for 3 which was in the courtyard so very cool, no need for A/C and it was 37C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliewilson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    56
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
125
346
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2013, and much like the rest of the reviews, we were a bit overawed with the activity of the old city, and the labyrinth of lanes and alleyways to get to the Riad. Do yourself a favour and arrange an airport pickup with the Riad. Entry into the Riad is like entering another world, with luxurious surrounds, waterfalls, pools and comfortable lounges etc.
The staff are fantastic and very welcoming, the driver Mohamed is particularly helpful and knowledgable, and nothing is too much trouble. Eg. One staff member walked us out to the nearest main street(?) "Dar El Bacha" (about 150m) through the alleys and pointed out all the landmarks we would need to find our way back. Turns out it only looks confusing until you know what to look for.
We arrived late in the afternoon and had pre arranged dinner at the Riad to save the hassle of finding somewhere at short notice. Glad we did, the food was local themed and excellent with tagine, and several other courses. The nearby restaurants are also extremely good.
We were initially worried about walking after dark in the area, but felt safe throughout our stay.
In summary, an excellent place to stay, with good facilities and great staff within a very short walk to the stalls and markets of the medina, and about 10 minutes walk from Jamaa el Fna

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GlennB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a super home from home this riad is. The family who run it and their staff are delightful and attentive without being intrusive, and the ambiance is that of tranquility and relaxation in the heart of Marrakech's bustling medina. It's beautifully decorated and restored by a couple who clearly love it and wish for their guests to be happy and comfortable.

I am already missing my mornings on the roof, welcoming the sunshine and catching a chorus of muezzins from the surrounding mosques while enjoying a delicious breakfast, and my afternoon Moroccan mint tea with a side order of French/English/Arabic banter. Definitely a place to recommend wholeheartedly and to return to again and again...

Room Tip: We stayed in the room for three and it's actually larger than the photographs suggest. The beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a fabulous Riad! I was very lucky to be upgrade here and was given a beautiful room. When we were picked up from the train station and were going down all these very creepy alleys, I thought Oh Dear, but on entering it was like an Oasis! very tasteful and welcoming. We were given directions on how to negotiate the souk, and got hopelessly lost, but hey that's half the fun of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

everything about this place is excellent - it is a haven in the craziness of the old town of Marrakech. Our family of five stayed here for three nights and everyone loved it. Beautiful rooftop terraces for breakfast or evening drinks, charming pools inside to cool down in, great personal service and rooms with character. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRMrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Do yourself a big favor and just book your reservation to this riad right now! My husband and I just had a six night visit at this riad and we were so happy with everything about it. Yes, it is down a long and winding alley, but this is Marrakech after all! From the moment you enter you are made to feel welcome and at home. This open courtyard with the three palms, the well trained and very friendly staff, the beautiful furniture and stained glass windows and iron work and pools....and the relaxing and breezy and cool rooftop patio, this is a place that is an oasis after navigating the souks and squares of Marrakech! Patrick and Caroline want you to feel at home...and do a wonderful job of attaining that goal. They will also set up day trips for you that are reasonably priced and adventurous and you will be driven by their friendly guides. So let Ibraham pour some hot mint tea for you....try out your ( at least in my case) rusty French... and Arabic and Berber....listen to the quiet from the roof and the water trickling in the pools in the courtyard and you will feel like you could stay here for a thousand and one nights!

Room Tip: The Sadienne...by all means!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acandkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I think this place gets good reviews because compared to its surroundings it is definitely a haven. When one walks in one is charmed by the decor, the owner Patrick, everything is so clean and fresh compared to the donkey poo, small alleyways, dust, rubbish and loose pavements to get there.

My family did a short stay in March. The service by the staff is faultless. The breakfast inc is good, though you will only get carbs and no protein. 2/3 beds were comfortable though the third bed was missing planks in the middle which meant the mattress sagged. The bathroom had an awful sewer smell coming from it the entire time. To top this all off, you do not get a key or code to enter. Once you finally negotiate your way to the Riad you have to knock on the door or press the bell to be let in. You could be standing there for 10 minutes or more and this is what happened for many guests at 12-1am when I was trying to sleep.

Knock, knock, ding-dong, ding-dong, knock, knock. If that's not enough local kids hang around the Main Street to help show you to the Riad if you are lost and then ask you for money afterwards. In fact, I was harassed by the kids for 2 days about it.

It's a lovely Riad compared to where it is, but probably not compared to other Riads and hotels you could choose from.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sn0bby_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
1.1 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#254 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#88 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#55 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha

Property: Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Address: 35 - 36 Derb Tizougarine | Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 44030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Trois Palmiers El Bacha is an amazing house built in the 18th century by a rich family of Marrakech. Very well located in the middle of the souks, Caroline and Patrick bought this Boutique-Hotel 10 years ago, made 2 years of renovation and decoration. They offer now 12 rooms, 2 pools, 2 courtyards, 3 terraces and a stunning overview on the Medina and the Atlas Mountains. They will both make unforgettable holidays for you. They will welcome you personally to Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Trois Palmiers Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing