We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great villa - thank you”
Review of Dar Cherif

Dar Cherif
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar Cherif
Ranked #686 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were a group of 12 friends stayed here for a week. We had a wonderful time: the villa itself is beautiful and very well furnished (gardens are immaculate); the staff are incredibly kind and helpful and Maria (owner) couldn't have been more amenable to our needs throughout the stay.

We rented the entire villa (highly recommended) which meant we had full access to Lateef (the driver) who took us wherever we wanted each day or evening and made us all feel very safe. We also had fantastic kitchen staff and chef (Amina and Soukayla) who prepared whatever we wanted. Maria was very knowledgeable and helpful when it came to organising excursions such as a day trip to the stunning Atlas mountains. She also made us feel very much at home while giving us our privacy.

All in all a great villa - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

Dar Cherif is a great place for a get away from it all relaxing holiday. The rooms are all very comfortable and oversized, with en-suites containing lovely treats in a spotless and spoiling private house. There is an independent charming suite set in a private corner of the delightful gardens that lend even more privacy if that is what you wish. The house, pool and gardens are large enough that you never really notice other guests. The hosts make sure your every request is met with charm and nothing is ever considered too much trouble, arranging excursions, advising on restaurants or organising a round of golf was all undertaken with efficiency, charm by the knowledgeable owner.
We will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lojohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very very lovely place, and great service!! We stayed there for a week, and we really managed to relax and disconnect from our daily life. The house is beatiful, and has the right mix between authenticity and comfort. The staff was very nice and attentive to our needs. Food was excellent, and the hammam/message service was so good that we did it 3 times.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie_Z_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

great house. great atmosphere. great food. very clean and luxurious. many thanks!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank rita a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed 3 nights in a spacious and beautiful room (very kindly upgraded as the place had no guests on our arrival) in Dar Cherif, and it was a great place to relax and soak up the wide open skies. We chose to stay out of town for our first few days to ensure we had some real chill time. We ate a fabulous meal the first night - however it was rather pricey for what it was. 30 euro for soup, a main and fruit salad. Even the top restaurants in the city charge about that for much more food / ambience / finesse.

This theme continued and ultimately we felt like we were being slightly taken advantage of. The place is VERY remote so any food, drink or transport needs to be booked through the owner and it is without doubt very expensive and restrictive.

That said if you are used to luxury resorts this is to be expected and that was our error. However as an independent traveller on honeymoon i found being so totally cut off from cheaper / better alternatives very frustrating.

Booking a car to Essaouria we were told we couldnt get one for less than 130 Euro (for a two hour journey). It turned out after we paid there were coaches for just a few euros - and even hiring a car for 24 hours is half the price.

All in all a lovely place but the sense of being 'leveraged' once checked in is not something that worked for us.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MopedDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Loved the Dar Cherif, the service was superb and tailored to our requirements (fussy 13 year old boys), the suites immaculate and very tasteful, the pool a dream.
We had a look at the tent - don't hestitate book it! Large, spacious, light and luxurious - and private.
5 stars - many thanks for starting our holiday so well.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ravilious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2008

The previous review sums up our experience perfectly but I wanted to add another positive rating as we can't believe how lucky we have been and how we have really landed on our feet here.

The aim of our trip was to escape the hectic pace in London, take in some sun and a little culture. Within the first day we were so relaxed and well looked after that we could have gone home content. Maria is a delightful host and nothing is too much bother for her or her three charming staff. Traditional teas, coffee and water are brought to you on demand, there is fresh fruit in your room everyday and the fragrant roses by your bed are picked from the garden right outside your room. The food is delightful and we can eat where we chose. The Moroccan wine was delicious and when we couldn't finish our bottle the first night, Maria popped a cork in it and served it up the next night for us.

With only 6 rooms this residence has the feel of exclusivity and utter privacy without paying the handsome price tag. We have seen the other guests briefly but the pool, the hammam, the sitting room or the sun terrace have been essentially ours alone when we used them - and you certainly don't get that at one of the 5-star hotels in the city!

Although quite a distance from the city itself (and therefore not suitable to those wanting to revel in the constant bustle and noise), access is very simple - Maria will arrange a car to suit you and you tell the driver what time you would collected, avoiding the hassle of petit taxis around Djeema el Fna. Perhaps more expensive than using public transport, the chosen taxi firm is clean, prompt and friendly and as the fare is added to your room bill, the hassle of negotiating a price is removed from the equation. Our driver was very knowledgeable and he offered his telephone number should we wish to change our time of collection which took a weight off our minds that we had to be done by a certain time (we did more shopping in the souks than planned!) A range of excursions are available on request (e.g. Atlas mountains 1-hours drive / Essouria 1-day) or a car and guide can be arranged for your disposal, and you do not need to book days in advance, rather decide over dinner when Maria pops by to see how you are getting on.

Having travelled extensively over the last 10 years I have to admit although perhaps a little sceptical when we first drove through Marrakech and down a short bumpy track to get to Dar Cherif, I was certainly not let down - this is a beautiful serene residence for anyone wanting to escape a busy life and I would recommend it at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheHope06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#203 of 501 in Marrakech
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
185 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#450 of 501 in Marrakech
703 reviews
3.6 mi away
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
#93 of 501 in Marrakech
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Cherif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Cherif

Address: Km 11, Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #686 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $721 - $1,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Cherif 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nearby the three main golf courses of the region, just a few minutes away from the city, Dar Cherif offers everything for an idyllic and peaceful stay. Born out of a desire to share and destined for discerned guests, this wonderful riad is the result of the combined effort of a Moroccan family who conceives hospitality like a privilege. In the middle of a splendid Andalusian garden, this villa opens up on the fantastic spectacle of the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Cherif reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing