We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“just perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Irene

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Irene
Ranked #299 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
“just perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

great host family, great rooms, great roof top, great food, great location (in the medina but not in the middle of all the hassle around the jmaa el fna square), we liked the "open door policy" ;) we stayed there twice during our holiday in marocco and its the best "hotel" we had! I hope I will be back some day! you can also get a pick up from the bus or trainstation as it can be quite tricky to find your way in the medina...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Riad Irene is spacious, comfortable, and clean. The rooftop terrace is perfect for relaxing away from the chaos of the medina. Irene, Pascal and Zachia are wonderful hosts. Each time we came home they offered us mint tea, or invited us to sit and chat with them. They helped answer every question we had about Marrakesh and sorted out a wonderful Desert excursion for us, even letting us leave our luggage in the Riad for 2 nights! The breakfast on the rooftop every morning was splendid!! Some people have said it is too far into the medina, which is true, it is about a 20 minute walk to Jamaa el fna but it our opinion strolling through the medina in the less touristy areas was a highlight for us because you get to see what day to day life is like in Marrakesh. It is easy to get lost in the medina, and would definitely be hard to find so the the Riad gives you a great map and will meet you at the airport and take you to the front door your first time. We had no problems and enjoyed everything about our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room, the Tan Tan because we were on a budget. It was small, but fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Friendly, clean and fantastically well run.
zakia is worth her weight in gold, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DPOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This was the third time I'd stayed at this riad and the third time I didn't want to leave. Our arrival day happened to be the same day as the explosion at the Argana Cafe which may have put me off had I not visited Marrakech before. As usual we were looked after by the staff at this ideal riad beyond expectation and Zakia cooked amazing meals for us almost every night as we were there for a relatively lazy week, I would say everyone should eat here at least once when they stay for top home cooked food. The rooms here are well set out and it now feels like home from home with free wi-fi access for your Facebook convenience. On previous visits we have made day trips to both the Atlas mountains and Essaouira all with the help of the staff at Riad Irene so I would say if you need help on excursions while here then just ask.

Some of the reviews of this riad have noted it may be a little out of the way, but for me this is the appeal of staying here as you can see the real city. We can easily walk to the main square in less than 15 minutes walk passing through where locals live, go to school and shop, meaning you can see something different every time you pass through. It is close to Riad Losra, Riad Dyor and Riad Kheirredine for reference and you'll find these riad's rates are a lot higher and in the same location and the locals are friendly and helpful if you should get lost.

I can't rate this place highly enough and would return tomorrow if I could, I'm aware we all look for different things in our holiday places but this place comes highly recommended from me.

Book in and enjoy.

Dean and Paula.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulashaker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

When arriving in Marrakech and driving towards Riad Irene, one big surprise followed another. Starting with the location, in the middle of the medine. The advantage is, of course, that you are in the middle of everything. On the other hand, you can get lost easily. But if this happens, the owners will take care by themselves to bring you back where you belong to. They also provide maps to help navigate.
The owners and the staff of the riad were the next positive surprise. They welcomed us with opened arms, helped us with every little need right from the beginning, including preparing a little meal for us after a long travel or giving us valuable shopping tips inside and outside the medina! So, we really felt home away from home.
The stay itself was very comfortable and fulfilled all our expectations. Just be prepared to leave a bit more money, if you order one of the homemade dishes. They are delicious and freshly prepared, but cost their price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcouple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Had a great time in Riad Irene. The location is good once you get used to the Marrakech alleyways. The whole ambiance of the riad was lovely, Zakia the house keeper was very friendly and helpful and also a great chef. We met Irene and Pascal who were also very friendly and welcoming. I would fully recommend this as a great place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan64_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Excellent service and very friendly and almost familiar atmosphere at Riad Irene. We felt like home after just one day. Both staff and owners were very friendly and helpfull. The riad is very beautiful and gives you a true Merrakechian experience.

At first it was very hard to find the way to Djemna El-Fna and the center, but after a while we learned. It is about a 20 minutes walk to the main square, but we found that positive, because it gave us an opportunity to see less touristic parts of the town too.

Thanks for a nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristanSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Hcekarram
Riad Hcekarram
#364 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad SACR
Riad SACR
#252 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad La Rose Du Desert
Riad La Rose Du Desert
#12 of 251 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad Boutouil
Riad Boutouil
#256 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Irene

Property: Riad Irene
Address: 36, rue Kaa Akhlige | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Irene 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated inside the medina of Marrakesh, near the ramparts, Riad Irene was completely renewed in the respect for the local architecture. It consists of a patio all around of which get organized the various rooms : 5 air-conditioned rooms including each a large bed for 2 persons + bathroom and toilet, a "b' hou" (Moroccan lounge), a lounge-dining room, a kitchen and an office. On the panoramic terrace, 2 sheltered lounges, a dining area and 6 sunbeds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Irene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing