We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miriam's Palace - Marrakech's best kept secret!”
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Amina
Ranked #110 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We cannot begin to let you know what a great place this is. Yes it's hidden within a rabbit warren of back streets but once there it is a veritable oasis of calm and quiet. Watch the door as you go in - no matter how tall. Once inside, Miriam the owner greets you and makes you feel at home. All the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble, believe us. The food is excellent. From a great tasting breakfast to an evening meal should you so wish. Very reasonably priced too.

We have just left this Riad and we could not wait to tell all. We witnessed a rainstorm which was fantastic. The taxi journey to the square is no more than 50dh but try and haggle. Great near by café to the hotel. The owners look like Moroccan 'Mitchell Brothers' but good food and tea.

The Amina is THE place to stay in Marrakech and handy for along weekend trip. Give it a go!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 - HUGE bed. Very comfy!! Quiet and good view of the courtyard.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy.lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
There are newer reviews for Riad Amina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying at Riad Amina on our first trip to Marrakech was definitely the right choice. Miriam and the team were so helpful and welcoming making our stay really special. Navigating the medina streets isn't easy and we were given maps and pointers to find our way round. 10 minutes away from the main square and many of the main sights too.

We found the breakfasts to be ample and the courtyard was cool and peaceful to start the day. The rooftop jacuzzi was a welcome retreat after a long day in the hot city too. A great choice all round.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali_bloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My fiancée and I came here for our anniversary and it definitely made our holiday memorable. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely French couple who are currently running the riad. They gave us traditional Moroccan tea /snacks etc and made us feel very welcome. Likewise, they always accommodated to our needs and were generally very friendly.

The rooms are stylish and cleaned daily, as is the rest of the riad. It is particularly nice at night whereby the lanterns are lit and mellow music is sometimes played, which makes for a very relaxing and romantic atmosphere.

We did however find the location a slight issue. This riad is situated in an area not too far from the souks, surrounded by hustle and bustle. It can be difficult to locate the riad and we did get lost on one occasion, which can be disorientating at the best of times but particularly in Marrakech-this is a place where we discovered that you have to be very cautious, I.e. personal belongings etc.

This is a fantastic accommodation which cannot be faulted. However, the location is not ideal for the reasons explained above. Likewise, if you have never been to Marrakech before, do your research because it did not quite live up to our expectations and on many occasions we did not feel safe, except of course, for when we were in the riad. It provided peace and tranquility away from the busy surrounding area and we would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to experience a typical Moroccan riad as opposed to a hotel complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSilva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Riad Amina is exactly what we were hoping for. A little north of the souks it is an oasis of quiet from the hectic city. Miriam and her team were welcoming.

We experienced both lunch and evening meals here and were not disappointed with the variety and choice on offer. We enjoyed drinks served on the roof terrace and mint tea and Morrocan petits four in the courtyard.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were cheerfully provided for throughout our stay.

We would thoroughly recommend the Riad Amina. One tip for the first time visitor to Marrakech - Ask the Riad to arrange a transfer from the airport, it will be cheaper and you won't get lost as vehicles can't get very near the Amina.

Room Tip: We had a simple room with en suite bathroom. For longer stays a larger suite may be better.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After having been let down by Thomson Airways as they did not check in my luggage properly and had lost one bag at London Gatwick the least I was expecting for my holiday to get better. When me and my boyfriend were making our way to Riad Amina we were expecting things to get worse as the cabin crew were not helpful enough to get my luggage on board the flight.

The moment the staff opened the door at Riad Amina we were welcomed by the staff and Miriam who then offered us mint tea and snacks. I would recommend this Riad to all as the staff were all helpful. everything is spotless and so clean. The Riad is not far at all to the souks we found our way around in a couple of hours. We booked our stay for four days bed and breakfast everything was perfect. Hawla the assistant was absolutely lovely our breakfast was perfect and always served within minutes of going down to the lounge. We also had a lovely meal the first night as we were too tired to go out for a meal. We would like to thank Miriam and the staff for looking after us and we really enjoyed our stay and will definately recommend this to others and will definately go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F_M1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Amina in early November in a superior room. The Riad was fantastic. The staff were friendly and efficient. We were welcomed by Miriam and over leisurely mint tea and petits four she gave us lots of information regarding routes to and from the Riad (as it is in the Medina and vehicular access stops some 5 minutes away through winding alleys.)
Our room was just as shown on the website.
We ate in the Riad for 6 out of our 7 nights. Initially MIriam put forward menu suggestions (taking into account dietary requirements) however by day three we just left it up to her and asked her to surprise us. Every meal was superb. The harira needs special mention as does the swordfish.
Marrakech is 'in your face' We enjoyed our trips out into the Medina and further afield each day but returned with relish from every trip to our Riad. This Riad is a fantastic haven from the bustle of the city.
The majority of the other guests were from other european countries.
In my opinion this Riad would appeal to those seeking to sample the atmosphere of Marrakech in a traditional setting. It was laid back,atmospheric and a joy to stay there.
If you are looking for peace and relaxation in your holiday accommodation with superb food and friendly staff I can recommend the Riad Amina.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aborg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in Marrakesh for the first time. We found this riad excellent. Miriam and her team very very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Like others the city is not for the faint hearted, life is busy, locals are helpful though. However be aware that getting lost in the Souks is part of the fun. There are plenty of places to eat out and the cost is cheap. Getting out of the city is definitely recommended. Trips can be booked via the riad this is cheaper that booking through your agent. We would definitely go back to this riad

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tagomago03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#56 of 502 in Marrakech
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ines home
Riad Ines home
#976 of 1,160 in Marrakech
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#47 of 1,160 in Marrakech
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad Opale
Riad Opale
#544 of 1,160 in Marrakech
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#28 of 1,160 in Marrakech
588 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#284 of 1,160 in Marrakech
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing