We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Miriam's Palace - Marrakech's best kept secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amina
Ranked #105 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Miriam's Palace - Marrakech's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We cannot begin to let you know what a great place this is. Yes it's hidden within a rabbit warren of back streets but once there it is a veritable oasis of calm and quiet. Watch the door as you go in - no matter how tall. Once inside, Miriam the owner greets you and makes you feel at home. All the staff are great and nothing is too much trouble, believe us. The food is excellent. From a great tasting breakfast to an evening meal should you so wish. Very reasonably priced too.

We have just left this Riad and we could not wait to tell all. We witnessed a rainstorm which was fantastic. The taxi journey to the square is no more than 50dh but try and haggle. Great near by café to the hotel. The owners look like Moroccan 'Mitchell Brothers' but good food and tea.

The Amina is THE place to stay in Marrakech and handy for along weekend trip. Give it a go!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 - HUGE bed. Very comfy!! Quiet and good view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy.lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Staying at Riad Amina on our first trip to Marrakech was definitely the right choice. Miriam and the team were so helpful and welcoming making our stay really special. Navigating the medina streets isn't easy and we were given maps and pointers to find our way round. 10 minutes away from the main square and many of the main sights too.

We found the breakfasts to be ample and the courtyard was cool and peaceful to start the day. The rooftop jacuzzi was a welcome retreat after a long day in the hot city too. A great choice all round.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_bloomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My fiancée and I came here for our anniversary and it definitely made our holiday memorable. Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely French couple who are currently running the riad. They gave us traditional Moroccan tea /snacks etc and made us feel very welcome. Likewise, they always accommodated to our needs and were generally very friendly.

The rooms are stylish and cleaned daily, as is the rest of the riad. It is particularly nice at night whereby the lanterns are lit and mellow music is sometimes played, which makes for a very relaxing and romantic atmosphere.

We did however find the location a slight issue. This riad is situated in an area not too far from the souks, surrounded by hustle and bustle. It can be difficult to locate the riad and we did get lost on one occasion, which can be disorientating at the best of times but particularly in Marrakech-this is a place where we discovered that you have to be very cautious, I.e. personal belongings etc.

This is a fantastic accommodation which cannot be faulted. However, the location is not ideal for the reasons explained above. Likewise, if you have never been to Marrakech before, do your research because it did not quite live up to our expectations and on many occasions we did not feel safe, except of course, for when we were in the riad. It provided peace and tranquility away from the busy surrounding area and we would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone wanting to experience a typical Moroccan riad as opposed to a hotel complex.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VSilva88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Riad Amina is exactly what we were hoping for. A little north of the souks it is an oasis of quiet from the hectic city. Miriam and her team were welcoming.

We experienced both lunch and evening meals here and were not disappointed with the variety and choice on offer. We enjoyed drinks served on the roof terrace and mint tea and Morrocan petits four in the courtyard.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were cheerfully provided for throughout our stay.

We would thoroughly recommend the Riad Amina. One tip for the first time visitor to Marrakech - Ask the Riad to arrange a transfer from the airport, it will be cheaper and you won't get lost as vehicles can't get very near the Amina.

Room Tip: We had a simple room with en suite bathroom. For longer stays a larger suite may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After having been let down by Thomson Airways as they did not check in my luggage properly and had lost one bag at London Gatwick the least I was expecting for my holiday to get better. When me and my boyfriend were making our way to Riad Amina we were expecting things to get worse as the cabin crew were not helpful enough to get my luggage on board the flight.

The moment the staff opened the door at Riad Amina we were welcomed by the staff and Miriam who then offered us mint tea and snacks. I would recommend this Riad to all as the staff were all helpful. everything is spotless and so clean. The Riad is not far at all to the souks we found our way around in a couple of hours. We booked our stay for four days bed and breakfast everything was perfect. Hawla the assistant was absolutely lovely our breakfast was perfect and always served within minutes of going down to the lounge. We also had a lovely meal the first night as we were too tired to go out for a meal. We would like to thank Miriam and the staff for looking after us and we really enjoyed our stay and will definately recommend this to others and will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F_M1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Amina in early November in a superior room. The Riad was fantastic. The staff were friendly and efficient. We were welcomed by Miriam and over leisurely mint tea and petits four she gave us lots of information regarding routes to and from the Riad (as it is in the Medina and vehicular access stops some 5 minutes away through winding alleys.)
Our room was just as shown on the website.
We ate in the Riad for 6 out of our 7 nights. Initially MIriam put forward menu suggestions (taking into account dietary requirements) however by day three we just left it up to her and asked her to surprise us. Every meal was superb. The harira needs special mention as does the swordfish.
Marrakech is 'in your face' We enjoyed our trips out into the Medina and further afield each day but returned with relish from every trip to our Riad. This Riad is a fantastic haven from the bustle of the city.
The majority of the other guests were from other european countries.
In my opinion this Riad would appeal to those seeking to sample the atmosphere of Marrakech in a traditional setting. It was laid back,atmospheric and a joy to stay there.
If you are looking for peace and relaxation in your holiday accommodation with superb food and friendly staff I can recommend the Riad Amina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aborg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in Marrakesh for the first time. We found this riad excellent. Miriam and her team very very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Like others the city is not for the faint hearted, life is busy, locals are helpful though. However be aware that getting lost in the Souks is part of the fun. There are plenty of places to eat out and the cost is cheap. Getting out of the city is definitely recommended. Trips can be booked via the riad this is cheaper that booking through your agent. We would definitely go back to this riad

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagomago03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#46 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Catalina
Dar Catalina
#184 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Opale
Riad Opale
#899 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#29 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#23 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#55 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Property: Riad Amina
Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing