We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Riad Amina March 19-22 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Amina
Ranked #119 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riad Amina March 19-22 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Riad Amina is exactly what we were hoping for. A little north of the souks it is an oasis of quiet from the hectic city. Miriam and her team were welcoming.

We experienced both lunch and evening meals here and were not disappointed with the variety and choice on offer. We enjoyed drinks served on the roof terrace and mint tea and Morrocan petits four in the courtyard.

Nothing was too much trouble and we were cheerfully provided for throughout our stay.

We would thoroughly recommend the Riad Amina. One tip for the first time visitor to Marrakech - Ask the Riad to arrange a transfer from the airport, it will be cheaper and you won't get lost as vehicles can't get very near the Amina.

Room Tip: We had a simple room with en suite bathroom. For longer stays a larger suite may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolo1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    41
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

After having been let down by Thomson Airways as they did not check in my luggage properly and had lost one bag at London Gatwick the least I was expecting for my holiday to get better. When me and my boyfriend were making our way to Riad Amina we were expecting things to get worse as the cabin crew were not helpful enough to get my luggage on board the flight.

The moment the staff opened the door at Riad Amina we were welcomed by the staff and Miriam who then offered us mint tea and snacks. I would recommend this Riad to all as the staff were all helpful. everything is spotless and so clean. The Riad is not far at all to the souks we found our way around in a couple of hours. We booked our stay for four days bed and breakfast everything was perfect. Hawla the assistant was absolutely lovely our breakfast was perfect and always served within minutes of going down to the lounge. We also had a lovely meal the first night as we were too tired to go out for a meal. We would like to thank Miriam and the staff for looking after us and we really enjoyed our stay and will definately recommend this to others and will definately go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F_M1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Amina in early November in a superior room. The Riad was fantastic. The staff were friendly and efficient. We were welcomed by Miriam and over leisurely mint tea and petits four she gave us lots of information regarding routes to and from the Riad (as it is in the Medina and vehicular access stops some 5 minutes away through winding alleys.)
Our room was just as shown on the website.
We ate in the Riad for 6 out of our 7 nights. Initially MIriam put forward menu suggestions (taking into account dietary requirements) however by day three we just left it up to her and asked her to surprise us. Every meal was superb. The harira needs special mention as does the swordfish.
Marrakech is 'in your face' We enjoyed our trips out into the Medina and further afield each day but returned with relish from every trip to our Riad. This Riad is a fantastic haven from the bustle of the city.
The majority of the other guests were from other european countries.
In my opinion this Riad would appeal to those seeking to sample the atmosphere of Marrakech in a traditional setting. It was laid back,atmospheric and a joy to stay there.
If you are looking for peace and relaxation in your holiday accommodation with superb food and friendly staff I can recommend the Riad Amina.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aborg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in Marrakesh for the first time. We found this riad excellent. Miriam and her team very very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Like others the city is not for the faint hearted, life is busy, locals are helpful though. However be aware that getting lost in the Souks is part of the fun. There are plenty of places to eat out and the cost is cheap. Getting out of the city is definitely recommended. Trips can be booked via the riad this is cheaper that booking through your agent. We would definitely go back to this riad

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tagomago03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you are looking for a central location in the Medina, I would definitely recommend his Riad. It is close to the Souks and easy access to the new city, yet also providing a haven of peace after a long day of sightseeing/ shopping etc.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and we always felt we were returning to a friends home each evening.
The room we had was in a traditional style, whilst basic, was really pretty and perfect for 3 nights stay.
The breakfast was continental, with bread, croissants, cake & yogurt. This was too many carbs for me, but they were very accommodating and kindly made me an omelette one morning.
Lovely place...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazeen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Your car from the airport will drop you off by the big blue gates of the school as from there on in the roads and alleyways are too cramped for motor vehicles. At this point you'll wonder what you've got yourself into if this is your first visit to Marrakech! Fear not. It's quite safe and you'll observe that the locals are not one bit interested in you and are more intent on going about their daily business - at least in this area. ( by the way you'll be hassled near the square and in the souks so just don't get into any conversations! ) You'll have made a good choice to stay here though for your first visit to Marrakech. Make sure you use wheeled luggage as your guide from the hotel escorts you through the alleyways.
Tip him a 20 Dirham note ( about £1.50 ). The welcome from Miriam the manageress was warm and the complimentary mint tea very refreshing as she made us feel quite at home. We ate there the first night and the Tagines were the best we had throughout our stay - if you want to eat Moroccan do it here. It’s tasty home cooking at it’s best ( for Marrakech ) and reasonably priced too. Our suite was very comfortable with a good comfortable lounging area. Breakfast was comprehensive with plain yoghurts, three different types of pancakes ( that varied from day to day ) excellent French style coffee, a selection of teas, French Bread, Croissants, two slices of a very light and fragrant Madeira style sponge cake and Apricot and Strawberry Jams. The staff are very gentle and nothing is too much trouble. The top sun terrace is perfect for sunbathing and if the Riad isn’t too full ( it wasn’t on our visit ) it can be yours exclusively.
Once you get used to the area it’s easy enough to find your way back to where your car from the airport dropped you off. So, to get back onto the main route and back to the school’s blue gates, come out of the Riad's door, turn left, immediate right and second left. Follow onto the school gates. To get to the Souks ( and ultimately the big main square ) just follow the taxis and traffic flow to the small square that has the Pharmacie Populaire on your left. To the right of the Pharmacy is the start of the Souks. Now, you can wander through the Souks and eventually come out onto the big main square. If you want to get straight to the big main square and mosque then just keep following the taxis and traffic flow ( for about 10 minutes ) until you get to a corner where you can bear right, go down to the big and wide main road and as you look to the left you’ll see the giant mosque on the right hand side of the road. Walk towards the mosque and the entrance to the big main square is opposite the mosque on your left.
Minor gripes were a blown light bulb that never got changed, a basin plug that was extremely hard to lift up and drop down and croissants and pancakes that weren’t always warmed through. So, no major problems there and it’s important to realise your’e not paying five star Hotel Mamounia prices. All in all, with its charming courtyard and staff, it’s perfect for a first stay in Marrakech to really absorb and find out what makes Marrakech tick. If you returned again then perhaps stay in the Mamounia ( as Winston Churchill chose to do ), if funds allow, and mostly remain on site eating and drinking there as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Arriving at the Riad was like all, an Oasis in the Medena a short walk down lane ways and Moroccan tea and sweets on arrival.
On being taken to the room it was then downhill.
The room measured 2m x 3m and the bathroom 1m x 3m, just room enough for the bed.
We had dinner there and it was good.
On leaving we the owner inquired how our stay was, other then the room ( some may call it a cell), it was good.
We were asked why we did not complain about the room, my response was we should not need to complain the get an adequate room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Les Jardins de la Medina
Les Jardins de la Medina
#44 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Catalina
Dar Catalina
#174 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Opale
Riad Opale
#901 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Chergui
Riad Chergui
#28 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Itrane
Riad Itrane
#24 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#55 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amina

Property: Riad Amina
Address: Sidi ben Slimane Derb Si Mouh No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Amina 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Amina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing