We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful holiday experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Zolah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Zolah
Ranked #142 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

We have visited Marrakesh before. On that occasion we stayed at a 5* Spa hotel which was excellent but this time as we were on honeymoon we wanted to experience the intimate atmosphere of a Riad located in the Medina. We were not disappointed.
From the time we made intial contact with Riad Zolah by email we received excellent service. Before arriving at the Riad a Hamman had been booked as requested at another Riad, a day trip to Essouria on the coast (perhaps too far to go for a day until the new road has been completed) in addition to restaurant reservations.
We were picked up at the airport and once we arrived at the walls of the Medina were guided by Aziz through the maze of alleyways until we came to the Riad door.
The Riad is light and spacious. It is traditionally decorated but with a contemporary twist. It was spotlessly clean and the extra touches such as candles lit in the bedrooms at night, and rose petals scattered made it quite special.
We ate at the Riad on the first evening and the food and the wine list was very good. Breakfasts were eaten on the terrace and were varied and of an excellent standard. What makes this Riad very special in addition to its location and style is the service. Nothing is too much trouble for Ismail, Fatima and Aziz and all of the staff are friendly, efficient and extremely pleasant.
There are plenty of stylish restaurants and booking ahead is advisable. For quality and value it is hard to bet Al Fassia, a restaurant that is run by the women's cooperative and now serves wine and beer. Other favourites include Bo Zin and le Foundouk. Watching the baby storks on the rooftop terrace of the Cozybar is a lovely way to spend an hour or two, as is a walk in the Yves St Laurant gardens and lunch in their pretty courtyard.
We spent a day in the Atlas Mountains. The Riad organised everything and we enjoyed a 3 hour walk before having lunch at the Kaspah. We enjoyed a tradiitonal Moroccon meal while looking out over the snow capped mountains...heaven! We completed the day by enjoying a drink in the gardens of Sir Richard Branson's beautiful hotel at the foot of the mountains.
There are a number of 5* hotels being built in Marrakesh and whether this will spoil the atmosphere of Marrakesh in the future I do not know. For us staying in the Medina, walking through the Souks and main square and experiencing the hustle, bustle, colours and smells of this vibrant city is quite special. Returning to the quiet oasis of our beautiful Riad made our honeymoon quite magical.

Thank you to everyone at Riad Zolah.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surreygirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    34
    9
    8
    1
See reviews for
77
346
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

We booked this Riad after reading reviews on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. We were picked up from the airport by the riad staff, and met at the gates of the medina by another staff member. He proceeded to take us through the streets, down a dark alleyway, and we were wondering what we had let ourselves in for. Going through the doors of the riad was like stepping into a beautiful oasis which was immaculately decorated.
Once we had been led there, it was never difficult to find again, and within easy walking distance of the sights.

As our flight arrived late on the first night, we opted to eat in the riad - this can be booked in advance. It is well worth doing, at least on one of the nights. The food was excellent. The breakfast was also very good.

There was complementary tea, coffee and water (and slippers) and the staff could not do enough to help. There was a roof terrace, although it being January, we preferred the log fire!

One day we went on a trip to the Ourika valley, in the Atlas mountains. This is well worth a visit. However, our piece of advice is to wear sensible shoes, for the walk over (and up) the rocks to the waterfalls.

Overall, this was a excellent riad, which we would recommend to all of our friends (and already have done)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Riad Zolah, it was our first time in Marrakech and we had a faboulous time, it really is the perfect Spring city destination. We can't reccommend Riad Zolah highly enough, the location is perfect, 2 mins from the souks and 5 mins from the main square, the staff are really friendly and exceptionally helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. We eat at the Riad on our first evening and for me it was the best meal I had while I was there. We both really hope to return to Marrakech in the next couple of years and we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else, I would highly reccommed Zolah to anybody, it will really complete your Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACYANDALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Riad Zolah to celebrate my 50th birthday. All I can say is that it was the perfect place to escape to after the madness of the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff were so friendly and helpful yet unobstrusive. We actually stayed in two rooms, room 2 and room 6. Both were fabulous, although we particularly enjoyed room 6 as we felt like we were hidden away from everyone. Breakfast on the terrace in the heat of the morning sun, after escaping grey skies in England was brilliant. Chilling out on the terrace in the late afternoon after hours of walking was just so relaxing. I really can't think of a negative thing to say about our whole stay. It was a perfect romantic place for a celebration. We dined at Le Foundouk one night which with both enjoyed and thought it was good value. We opted for a main course from the A la carte menus as we were targined out! I have to say that we also dined at Dar Zellij and were hugely disappointed. We spent over £100 on a four course meal and didn't enjoy the experience at all, compared to Le Foundouk we really felt like we were being ripped off. We had a day in the Atlas mountains which was arranged by the Riad. We both really enjoyed this. We went on about a two hour walk with a guide and then had a fantastic lunch at the Kaspah with fantastic views of the snow topped mountains. Do make sure that you visit the remains of the El Badi Palace to see the storks nesting on the old walls, it's incredible. You can actually climb up to the top; we got some brilliant photos of the storks and babies in their nests. I was apprehensive about visiting Marrakech but it was such a fascinating experience and holiday which was largely due to staying at the Riad.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingsMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

My first foot step on the African continent and the very fact that we were staying at the Riad Zolah contributed immeasurably to my enjoyment of the trip. The riad is located right in the centre of the old city which makes it the perfect base for exploration of the bustling chaos that is Marrakech and yet the minute you enter the courtyard all is tranquil and serene.

The staff are fabulously helpful and attentive, our room (Room 6) was beautiful and spacious and comfortable and the food was great.

It was the little touches though that really made our stay so memorable: scattered rose petals and lit candles in our room each evening; engaging chats with the staff as we lounged upon the roof terrace enjoying yet another pot of mint tea; the mobile phone provided in case one gets lost while out exploring the city; and the herbal remedy made especially for me when I fell ill on the last day of our stay.

This is not a full service international chain hotel which is exactly the reason why we chose to stay here and exactly why we enjoyed our stay so much. It has all the facilities which we could have wanted for but an intimacy and charm that is hard to find.

I highly recommend the Riad Zolah to anyone visiting Marrakech who is looking for a comfortable, clean, well run, centrally located, good value establishment and even more so to those on the hunt for a little romance, adventure and lavish living.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DorisandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I booked the Riad Zolah having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. The location is excellent. Marrakech is different to any where I have ever been before and perhaps I wasn't expecting the Riad to be down a fairly quiet alley but it felt safe and the staff were excellent at helping us find our way around. Being so central meant we were in the heart of the souks or the Place (and the madness) within minutes but could quickly retreat to the peace and tranquillity if the Riad whenever required.

The staff were very helpful but were a bit sparse on the Saturday. My partner became sick on the Sunday and they promptly sent someone to the pharmacy for medication and didn't charge me a penny. Fatima and Aziz were particularly helpful.

We stayed in Suite six which was delightful - beautifully decorated, peaceful and with the most enormous bath. Bliss.

I dined at the Riad on Sunday night and the food was excellent. Good, traditional Moroccan salads and a tagine. One of the best meals I had in Marrakech and I thought it was good value.

We will be back, both to the Riad and Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunny-London25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

We just returned from an absolutely wonderful four night stay at the Riad Zolah. Ismail, Fatima, Aziz, Omar and the other staff members were wonderfully professional and welcoming during our stay. We took advantage of a private cooking lesson, dinner in the Riad, hammam services and massage in the private spa, complimentary cell phones, beverages (especially the Moroccan mint tea!) babouches (leather slippers), th wonderful pool, and the beautiful terrace. This is the place to stay in the medina. It is quiet, light-filled, absolutely gorgeous, private, and two minutes to the souks and four minutes to the main square. We had an absolutely wonderful time and will definitely be back. We cannot say enough about the wonderful, wonderful service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#36 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#91 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#27 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#146 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zolah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zolah

Property: Riad Zolah
Address: 114-116 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, El Haouz, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Zolah 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located luxury boutique hotel in the heart of the ancient walled city. Traditional charm plus the very best of modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Zolah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zolah Marrakech
Riad Zolah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing