We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great time, great people running this establishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #3 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2011

One of the best establishments I have stayed at anywhere in the world. This hotel will be one day be ranked in the top 5 places in Marrakesh and a lot of it has to do with the hospitality of the owners (Massimo and Georgina) and the staff.

It pains me to read some of the negative reviews posted about this Riad, especially when the writer has never contributed anything before. You don’t need to be Einstein to figure out that the reviews are probably coming from some disgruntled competitors and it wouldn’t surprise me if these competitors represented the so called fancy 5 star places in Marrakesh.

I stayed at this Riad in December, over Christmas with my wife and 4 year old son. I was hesitant at first having a toddler in a riad, as I didn’t want to impede on other guests however Georgina, Massimo, Al-Maki, Mohammed and the rest of the staff took my son as one of their own. We felt at home every single day, so if you have a family, look no further than this place. One warning though when picking your rooms, we stayed in the Nacre room, which is located on the ground floor, if I have my time again, I would have gone for something on the top floor just for that little extra bit of privacy, but this isn’t a big issue to be honest, just something to look out for if you can.

The good:

1. Location- right in the middle of the medina, easy to get too and close to all amenities
2. The staff…. Great people make great companies
3. The Décor- wow! Traditional Moroccan Style!. Very elegant, very clean, very comfortable.
4. Breakfast- my son still craves for the bread, fruit and yogurt
5. The terrace- it was a little to cold during our stay to enjoy the terrace, but we did get one warm day and it was a dream to sit on the sun lounges and relax
6. Local know how- Georgina and Massimo know a lot about the area. Really helpful in recommending restaurants, places to visits, drivers, guides etc
7. The Christmas dinner that the hotel put on for guests on Christmas eve and the gifts they gave us.
8. The mint tea and Shisha pipe!- Just ask and Al Maki will deliver.
9. The free wifi

The bad:

Nothing. There are a few improvements that the Riad could make, but nothing major:

1. TV: At first not having a TV in the room felt limiting, but honestly after about the 2nd day it actually felt liberating to not have one.!
2. The pool: great pool, pitty its not heated.


All in all, a great place, a great holiday, and a great time spent with great people. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kas_f74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

we thank you for having chosen Riad le Clos des Arts, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your nice family during Christmas time.
Kids might be a challenge in a small place like a riad, but if all kids were like your son, it is so nice to have them around.

We are grateful for your compliments and suggestions: the TV in the common living room offers now a broad selection of sat channels for those who really can't do without it, while as regards the heated pool ... it might be a bit harder due to technical and structural reasons. However, we will keep it in mind.

Wishing you all the best for your coming move
With our warm regards
Giorgina and Massimo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

To be fair and accurate I must will say that the staff, while a bit tired and disorganized, is friendly and tries to do its best. But, the management of the riad is something else.

First and foremost we were shocked to find all manner of extras service charges and taxes on our bill. When we asked for an explanation of these charges we found Massimo defensive and argumentative. We found ourselves in a negotiation perfectly timed so we had to rush in order not to miss our plane. This behavior was outrageous.

Second, it must be said that this Riad le Clos is strictly one star at best. Adn that is being generous. Rooms are dark and damp and,during our stay in December, very cold at night. We had to ask several times each day to have the room made up and to get fresh towels.

Food was basic fare and far more expensive than we had been quoted. Everything served was "a la carte" and charged item by item on our bill.

This place was a huge disappointment and that is an understatement.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank DFinn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I was in Marrakech with a friend for a five days stay. Another friend had recommended us this riad and we were very happy to follow the advice!
We were welcomed with a traditional mint tea in the court of the riad, and Massimo, the owner, gave us a map of the city and an overview on the things to do and to see. His advices were helpful and unbiased, he depicted things clearly, highlighting ups and downs, and this allowed us to choose what we were really looking for. His support, and that of his wife Giorgina, was continuous during our whole stay.
I usually plan holidays activities based on my research rather than other people’s advice, but Giorgina and Massimo know a lot about Marrakech and are never trying to push you in any way, so based on their advice we went to restaurants, hammams, markets and for an Atlante trekking and nothing was below our expectations!
All the staff of the riad was analogously friendly and helpful, and was very caring towards us, like bringing a flower to my friend as they had known it was her birthday, or preparing the breakfast at 6.30 a.m. (usually it is around 8) the day we left.
The position of the riad is very convenient, as it is less than a five minutes walk to the “Place”, the heart of the medina, but secluded enough to make it a very quiet place to relax and rest.
The room (the “Amethyste”) was wonderful and spacious, as well as the bathroom, and furnished, like all the riad, with nice wooden furniture and tasteful traditional decoration.
It was a great stay and I strongly recommend this riad; the only thing I did not like was the short duration of our trip!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annarellina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

I don't feel like I need to add to the positive reviews, but I read some of the negative ones, and I'm sure they aren't talking about the right place.

The riad was clean, the hosts were amazing, the staff was so gracious. They really seemed to do whatever they could to make sure we were happy and comfortable.

Our room was not featured on the website, but here are pics of the Rubis Room.

It's a 5 minute walk to Djemaa El Fna.

It's located on a VERY quiet street. On the first night, we were a little scared to walk back to the riad because it wasn't as crowded on the street, but once we got comfortable and used to Marrakech, it wasn't an issue and we felt fine.

It was very relaxing and calming being there and great to get away from the business of Marrakech.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thanks a lot for your kind words. These are especially appreciated taking into account that during your stay you experienced some hot water shortages. We are happy to inform you that we found the cause and replaced the fuse that was causing the breaking. With our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We have been in heaven for a week. The place is magnificent in every way... it's the perfect blend between true oriental magic and western comfort. It is peaceful, cozy, welcoming and beautiful. Every day had a great start thanks to a delicious home made breakfast . The main piazza is round the corner therefore visiting the Medina is a pleasant and relaxing activity. Thank you Giorgina and Massimo for providing not only helpful informations but also the right contacts for guides , drivers , restaurants and a fantastic spa place. Last but not least, a special thanks for being so cool and friendly with our 2 teenagers.
Fernanda, Pio, Giorgia, Rocco

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4TravellingAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starindar, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

Dear Guests,
It was a pleasure having you with your 2 "teenagers": we wish to compliment the parents for the excellent result! With the best wishes for this 2011!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

The Riad le clos des arts is a beautiful place to stay in marrakech. The atmosphere is magic and the host very helpful and nice.
After a long day out in the wonderful caos of marrakech, coming back to the Riad is like entering a oasi...and the mint tea is a must!

I reccomend it!
Eleonora

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo_8279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canillo, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2010

Than you for the nice review . We look forward to drink more mint tea together. Happy new year from a sunny Marrakech. Giorgina and Massimo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We expected a lot and found even more! Lovely Riad, comfortable quiet rooms, excellent food. Giorgina and Massimo were the perfect hosts, taking the time to tell us about the city, recommend great restaurants, and help us in every way. They are charming and personable, and we enjoyed learning about their lives as well as about Marrakech. We loved the Thai-run Angsana Hammam they recommended where we enjoyed an incredible 2-hour couples experience. Upon learning that one in our party had a birthday during our stay, they arranged a fabulous tangia dinner, complete with wonderful live music, birthday cake, and a gift of Moroccan slippers! Don't miss Riad Le Clos des Arts when you visit Marrakech! Be sure to bring cash or be prepared to pay via PayPal, however, as they don't accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeh160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 502 in Marrakech
1,736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#6 of 502 in Marrakech
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $158 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere. Be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours. Be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing