We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, stressful last day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay, stressful last day”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at Riad le Clos des Arts during part of our honeymoon, and it was great. The location was fantastic--in the heart of the medina but not too close to the major tourist sights, and the room, garden, and roof terrace were beautiful. Our only complaint is that no one informed us that the local time was changing the morning we were leaving, even though the Riad had scheduled a driver to take us to the train station at a specific time the next morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tda1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo T, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Thank You for taking the time of writing us your positive comments about our Riad and hospitality.
We are very sorry about the stress you experienced on your departure day.
Please believe us it was not due to lack of attention from our side. The change of time was officially planned for Saturday, along the night after your departure!
We had an advisory note for all our guest ready . Unfortunately authorities decided with no notice to anticipate the change of time.
This caused you to wait 1 hour at the riad before proceeding to the railway station to board your train. We look forward to welcome you again in our riad and offer you a special treat to excuse us for the inconvenient.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,271
    33
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
168
731
57
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed in Riad le Clos des Arts in June for 4 nights. A beautiful, charming, relaxing riad with the added bonus of a rooftop pool! Great hosts, great staff and a super location. Would definitely recommend this riad to anyone who wants to experience a true Marrakech riad experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niamh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Based on Trip Advisor reviews, we stayed here for 4 nights last October. It was a perfect choice. It is indeed an oasis from the craziness that is Marrakech. The riad, located in the medina, is beautifully appointed, clean and quiet. The scent of roses greets you as you walk in. All the staff are very attentive. Breakfasts are enjoyed up on the rooftop terrace and are tasty and plentiful. Stay in for at least one dinner as Layla is a great cook. The dinner we had on our last night here was one of our best dinners during our stay in Morocco. All of the above is only possible because of the owners, Giorgina and Massimo, who are most gracious hosts. They have travelled and lived overseas and their recommendations and ability to meet the needs of their guests are spot-on. On arrival, as well as the customary mint tea and biscuits, they will spend time orienting you with a map of Marrakech and show you the sites worth visiting and how to reach them without getting too lost! They make you feel like treasured guests in their home. We would definitely recommend this riad to anyone visiting Marrakech and look forward to returning there one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We had a fabulous experience staying at the Riad le Clos des Arts. We were met at a close by car park by Massimo who walked us back through some mayhem to the Riad - when we walked in we knew we'd made a great choice. It was late in the evening so Massimo and Georgina gave us a nice cold drink and a brief orientation. We then had a gorgeous meal, the best meal we had in the 3 days we were in Marrakesh. The next day was my birthday and Georgina had noticed that from my passport, so breakfast started with a rose and a candle and later that day Georgina recommended a lovely place for dinner that evening and even bought me a beautiful present. Every day coming back to our Riad felt like coming home. Highly recommend anyone to stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Loved this place, had a wonderful few days staying here and exploring the Medina. The Riad is beautifully decorated Morrocan style, peaceful and calm with helpful staff and owners offering the personal touch.

Breakfast was very tasty with local Morrocan breads, yogurt and fruit. A lovely way to start the day sat on the terrace.

Could have happily stayed here a few more days and already thinking about our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Riad le Clos des Arts had quite a reputation to live up to but from the moment we were met by Massimo to the time we reluctantly had to depart, it exceeded our expectations. Massimo walked us from the drop-off point after our airport transfer and pointed out routes and sights on the way. He continued his introduction to Marrakech over mint tea and biscuits when we reached the riad and no stone was left unturned - everything he told us came in useful during our four night stay and we were very grateful for the map that helped us out on more than once occasion.

The entrance to the riad is, like many similar properties, unassuming - it gives you little clue as to the comfort and beautiful decor that you're treated to inside. The surrounds are lovely, the fountain atmospheric and the smell and sight of the roses welcome you every time you return. We had turquoise room and it was beautifully decorated, peaceful and comfortable with a lovely bathroom and gorgeous four poster bed.

Nothing was too much trouble for Massimo and Giorgina and their expert team - some have commented about the family environment in the riad and it really does feel like you are being welcomed into your hosts' home. They were only too pleased to attend to our needs, answer our questions and feed and water us when we needed it. The icing on the cake was the roses in the room when we returned on my wife's birthday and a special gift for her from the the riad - it was a lovely thought, vey generous and much appreciated by us both.

Incidentally, we ate at the riad on our first night because we arrived quite late - the food was outstanding and the service impeccable in keeping with everything we experienced during our stay. The rooftop terrace was a perfect spot for our first meal in Marrakech and each morning started perfectly with a delicious breakfast that changed each day. We spent as much time up on the terrace as we could between meals and sightseeing - it epitomises the oasis that this riad is for its guests.

Staying in the Medina is for us the only way to experience Marrakech - the sights and sounds, the heat and the colour - and, after all of that, a return to the tranquility of the riad. There is certainly nowehere else that we would rather stay and we're looking forward to our return!

Room Tip: Turquoise room is lovely - peaceful, beautifully decorated and close to the stairs for the terrace a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was recently treated to a birthday surprise in the heart of bustling Marrakesh, staying at Riad le Clos des Arts. From the moment we were met at the airport by the prearranged driver to being dropped back at the airport we felt welcomed and completely looked after. The Riad is located a short stroll down one of the pedestrianised roads and without that initial guide might have been slightly difficult to find but we were guided expertly by Massimo, who pointed out the key landmarks to watch out for. Arriving at the Riad, we were given a refreshing drink and guided through the important landmarks and special watch-outs of the Medina, we also met Georgina who invited us to eat with them, however we were keen to get stuck into the city as quickly as possible. After quickly inspecting the well proportioned and very well appointed room we would be staying in we headed out.

The room itself contained a four poster bed, large lounging chair (large enough for two people to sit comfortably), two cupboards and the obligatory safe. The bathroom was extremely nice, with a large shower and more than enough space for two people to comfortably get ready for the day or night ahead.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, usually a fruit salad and yogurt plus local breads, pancakes or cakes served with fresh orange juice and tea or coffee, and it is here you can relax on one of the sunbeds with a towel, small sheet and sun hat provided. A dip in the small but beautiful plunge pool certainly refreshed in the heat of the mid-day.

Staff are exceptionally polite and helpful and they were more than happy to put up with my mangling of the Arabic language as I tried to string sentences together. The Riad provided lunch for the staff every day and all tips were put into the pot to share out with the whole team from the doorman to the person washing the sheets, which I thought was a very fair system.

People or all persuasions are welcomed to the Riad and I cannot recommend it enough if you are looking for traditional rustic charm in the heart of the old town. Forget staying in an impersonal soulless chain hotel outside the city walls and stay at this home away from home, but they only have a few rooms so make sure you book well in advance!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first floor looking out on the the central courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SymbioticDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 499 in Marrakech
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 499 in Marrakech
1,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing