We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking, you found it, the best riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #7 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stop looking, you found it, the best riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The Riad le Clos des Arts really does live up to, I might even say surpasses, what so many other former guests have written about it. All of the superlatives and praise are not exaggerations, they are simply the facts. This really is a wonderful place to stay in Marrakech and you will be amazed at how helpful, kind, knowledgable, and readily available Giorgina and Massimo always are.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getupandgo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
148
658
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I cannot recommend Riad le Clos des Arts too highly.
Fantastic hosts. Massimo and Giorgina could not have been more helpful. They gave us excellent advice, recommendations and help in making arrangements for a wonderful stay. Our room was beautiful, very clean and spacious. The welcome mint tea and biscuits, the evening meal as well as breakfast were excellent. All of the staff we encountered were charming. The site of the hotel was very convenient for exploring the main areas of interest in Marrakesh.
We stayed for 3 nights and then travelled for a few days. On our return to Marrakesh we stayed in another hotel that was nearly twice the price of Riad le Clos des Arts and not at all as pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imelda186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This riad came extremely highly recommended by close friends who sell rugs and have traveled the world many times over. They simply told us, "You MUST stay with Massimo and Giorgina!" We took their word and discovered, from the moment we entered the impressively carved doors, a sanctuary of peace. Having traveled solid for two days from the U.S., we were even more exhausted than we realized. We were met by vases of gorgeous and fragrant long-stem roses, mint tea and almond cookies, welcoming words from Massimo, and sound advice to wait until the next morning to get oriented. We were treated to a delicious, light tomato, cucumber salad and briouates (filo treats) then slept a full twelve hours undisturbed. Leaving the room at 12:15PM, we figured we had missed breakfast, but, no, we were graciously offered a late one.

The riad is simply lovely yet not overdone: exquisitely carved wood, tasteful colors and design, comfy white cushions, and the most gorgeous bathroom I have ever experienced in any hotel room anywhere! Massimo generously offered a wealth of tips on everything from respectful apparel to how to safely carry our valuables, from dining in the neighborhood to suggestions for our future travels in Africa. Georgina was extremely helpful in communicating with me from the moment we first booked a year earlier and helped us out with a miscommunication with a local rug dealer.

It is no surprise that Riad le Clos des Arts receives such a high TA rating despite and countless alternatives. The gracious hospitality, unfailingly friendly and helpful staff, convenient yet quiet location, lovely decor, and special touches everywhere... we would love to come back one day.

Room Tip: We chose the Ambre (Amber) Room. We actually didn't see the other rooms to compare, but it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is by far one of our favorite stays anywhere in the world and we have travelled to more than 40 countries. Our 6 year old daughter actually cried when we left the riad and headed to the airport because she had grown so close to Georgina and Massimo who made us feel like part of the family. They would entertain her as we would sit and have our mint tea after a long day of sightseeing. The room was very nice and the dinner that we had at the riad was the best meal we had the whole time we were in Morocco. Even though the rest of the riad was full of couples, as a family we felt comfortable and welcomed. I wouldn't stay anywhere else if we travel back to Marrakech!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janelle-Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is a wonderful Riad in a great location only a few minuets walk from Jemaa El Fna square. Located down some narrow atmospheric streets, the Riad is a calm oasis hidden behind a typical moroccon faceless exterior. The staff are great and in particular the owners Massimo on Georgina are wonderful hosts and instantly make you feel welcome and relaxed. Georgina took plenty of time to give us advise and tips to make exploring Marrakech less daunting...!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MTM2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Not only the Riad is located in a perfect position, Giorgina and Massimo really are the perfect hosts. But what is even more impressive - I have never witnessed a better relationship between owners and their staff! Congrats to both of you and all your wonderful staff, you are outstanding in so many ways!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank astridkugler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We loved this Riad with the most amazing owners Mossimo and his wife. They were beyond accommodating. We had problems with our flight home and they brought us in their office to help us. We got our problem solved! Mossimo and his wife are wonderful and caring. They care about their guests and are always seen talking to the people. We loved the food!! We ate upstairs on the Terrace and it was cozy and delicious. We were walking distance to the souk (market) and the square. What fun!!! This is a must when visiting Marrakech. Also, Mossimo was worried about us and asked me to email him when we were safely home. This was beyond what would be expected!!!

Room Tip: Go!!! This place was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 3 suites, 2 superior rooms and 2 smaller double rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing