We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic riad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #4 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed several nights at Riad le Clos des Arts based on TripAdvisor reviews, and could not have been happier with the choice. The riad is beautiful -- quiet, peaceful, and very tastefully decorated -- and the staff is friendly and attentive. Giorgina arranged a car to meet us at the airport when we arrived in Marrakech, then met us at the nearest drop-off point to walk with us to the riad (because cars cannot enter much of the medina, it is a few minutes walk to the riad from the nearest vehicle-accessible point). While a porter went ahead with our luggage, Giorgina pointed out landmarks so that we could easily find our way back to the riad on our own. On arrival, she spent 20 minutes or so going over the map of Marrakesh, pointing out recommendations for restaurants, sites and walking routes.

We stayed at the riad twice (at the beginning and again at the end of our trip to Morocco), so we stayed in two different rooms, Citrine and Ambre. Both were perfectly large enough for a couple, and were beautifully decorated. All of our meals (breakfasts on the roof, and dinner one night at the riad) were excellent.

As great as the house was, it was Giorgina and Massimo that really made the stay memorable. We enjoyed talking with them about their travels and their life in Morocco -- both have lived and worked in various places throughout Africa. We could not have asked for better hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for Riad le Clos des Arts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay, in the heart of the Medina yet just tucked away for a good nights kip! Georgina and Massimo were the perfect hosts. The staff were exceptional, very friendly and attentive. Having food allergies is always a little bit of a burden when travelling but they catered to my needs going above and beyond. The dinner we had the night we arrived was superb, the soup in fact was one of the best I have had. Followed by a delicious tagine - simply delicious. The rooms were cleaned daily and the decor was beautiful. I was lucky enough to get engaged whilst we were there and upon return we were welcomed by rose petals scattered with a heart shape on the bed. We look forward to stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaurenBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A perfect place in the Medina. The best thing is the management and the staff. Perfection. The management, Giordina and Massimo, have put together an exceptional staff. One could live in their Riad forever. Calm, quiet, delicious. The other best thing is that Giordina and Massimo love Morocco and truly understand and appreciate the various cultures of Morocco. One cannot go wrong. Their network is impeccable, and they share it all with love.

Forget the Mamounia, one of the very best hotels in the World. I wouldn't stay there even if as I can afford it. Le Clos des Arts is far more authentic, and much closer to the action!

Herb Stetzenmeyer

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yodlerherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

What an amazingly perfect place! And perfectly run by the owners, Giorgina and Massimo, whose combined skills, charm, hospitality, good taste, attention to detail, knowledge of their surroundings and genuine kindness will make it very difficult for others, in Marrakech or elsewhere, to come anywhere close to this level of excellent accommodation. The rooms and suites are beautiful, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The living and dining areas are, again, beautifully decorated, candle-lit in the evening, and perfect for get-togethers (if you rent the whole Riad, with friends) and dinners (prepared by Leila, under Giorgina's guidance) which are worthy of a review all by themselves! The top-floor terrace, with a small pool, is the perfect place for an amazing breakfast: every day another juice, different pastries and fruit, home-made yoghurts and jams, hot breads, eggs (any style).. And this with a view of the surrounding roof tops in a very nice part of Marrakech's medina. The staff is competent, cheerful and unfailingly helpful. We filled the Riad with a group of close friends, for a long week-end, to celebrate a big birthday, and it was a tremendous success. In addition to looking after us in the Riad, Giorgina and Massimo helped us plan outings, guided tours, hammam sessions and excursions; all great! In conclusion, a wonderful experience which we will undoubtedly want to repeat, soon!

Room Tip: As a Riad is by definition rather compact in layout and size, I would recommend the rooms/suites on...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This riad is one of the best riad in Marrakech
we spent 1 night and love the decor.
The rooms are confy, staff are very kind and the service is excellent
i give 4 uo to 5 because of the breakfast, i found it a bit not have a lot of choices beside the moroccan breakfast, but its not a complain all was perfect
will recommend this place

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pierre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Not sure that we can add anything to all the previous reviews….it’s true this Riad is amazing! Delicious food, excellent and courteous staff and beautiful traditional rooms that were spotlessly clean. From our first email enquiry to saying farewell, Georgiana and Massimo were the perfect hosts. All our requests were arranged in advance by email: taxi from the airport, a day trek in the Atlas Mountains, a visit to the Hamman (with a reluctant husband who would now recommend the experience!) and a guided walk around the city. We were apprehensive about visiting Marrakech and now we can’t wait to go back with friends and share the experience of this beautiful Riad and mesmerizing city. If everyone reads the reviews I don’t think we will get another booking for the next 10 years!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Giorgina and Massimo are wonderful hosts and the staff at Riad le Clos des Arts are welcoming and skilful . This is a secret haven. You walk in from a narrow dusty alley into a small peaceful courtyard open to the sky with a fountain at its centre. The sound of water and birdsong and the muezzin can be heard from the rooms facing the courtyard in this two storey building. There is a roof terrace where you can sit, eat spectacular breakfasts and dip into plunge pool. It is stylish and comfortable and as there are not many rooms you feel as if you have been invited into someone's home. Being in the centre of the medina, you can walk to anywhere in the souk and to many of the monuments.

Room Tip: Each room has its advantages and distinctive décor. Nacre ( on the ground floor) and Corail on the...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryGB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
157 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
1,718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $154 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere. Be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours. Be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing