We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Clos des Arts is a diamond in the centre of Marrakech.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #3 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Clos des Arts is a diamond in the centre of Marrakech.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Riad is only five minutes away from the most famous square Jameaa el-Fnaa . From the first moment you enter in the Riad you receive a warm welcome from Massimo and Giorgina. They show great hospitality by offering you tea and it doesn’t take long before you feel at home. The fresh smell of jasmine pervades all your senses. The architecture and the refined decorations are the result of the exquisite Moroccan style implemented by Massimo and Giorgina. The elegant rooms each of which has its own design and style, makes this Riad unique in its genre. The terrace offers not only a comfortable place to have your breakfast or dinner , but also a swimming pool, where you can rest and relax after a long day out in the heat of the city.
You can taste the wonderful and exquisite Morocco cuisine, tagine and Moroccan traditional homemade soup, with the soft light of candles and Moroccan-style lamps. Fresh cakes are baked every morning, and organic and homemade jams are all products of Georgina’s expertise.
The staff is friendly and really professional. They are always keen to help you and make your stay unforgettable; yes it is a really unique experience. I personally recommend the Riad Les Clos des Art as a fantastic place for an unforgettable holiday.
Roberto from London

Room Tip: the rooms are really comfortable, It is really quite and
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roberto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
153
672
50
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We wanted to go somewhere new for our honeymoon. Somewhere exciting with sightseeing and also a location we could relax. Morocco! We decided on three days in Marrakech and 6 in the Atlas Mountains. We were met at the airport by our driver which had been arranged directly with Georgina at the time of booking (15 euros). Massimo gave us a really useful 'briefing' over a fresh mint tea on Marrakech - where to go/not to go, recommendations for restaurants etc. They also booked a guide for us so that we got the most out of our time there. Youssef was great, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic, great English and he didn't drag us round to shops all morning trying to get us buy stuff.
We had dinner at the Riad each night - it was lovely. Three courses of beautiful, traditional and homemade dishes for 25 euros. Served on the roof terrace with the beautiful sound of the call to prayer in the distance.
we loved our time here and the whole staff team under Massimo and Georgina were excellent. I would recommend the Riad to anyone and I would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: A suite is worth the little extra for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Let me first start by saying the location is in the Medina and is walking distance to all the action. The riad is absolutely beautiful, incredibly clean and the food is fantastic. The owners are so friendly and came by to chat with us frequently during our stay. It was really a personal touch. Upon arrival they discussed with us some of the places to go and when to go. We found this to be very helpful as it was our first time in Marrakech. The rooftop has a pool and they provide sun hats and towels for the guests. They also provide bottled water. The common areas are a wonderful place to relax and take a nap or read a book. I am so glad that I chose to stay in a riad as opposed to a resort. I just can't say enough about how awesome this place is. I would highly recommend it and I will go again on my next visit to the wonderful city of Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaTravelbug123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

During my travels to Morocco I stayed at a number of riads, therefore I can say with some confidence that there was something unique about this experience. While other riads may be equally charming and stylish, the Riad le Clos des Arts was the most memorable. The hosts Giorgina and and Massimo create a fantastic atmosphere grounded in their sincere interpersonal interest in their guests. You can easily dose your needs for privacy and discussion with deeper connection if you are up for it. If you want an authentic experience with guides that provide insider information about enjoying Marrakech this is an excellent choice. If this is your first visit to Marrakech or you are a little shaky about what you will find - Giorgina and Massimo are terrific at getting you in the right mind set for a safe and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank you Massimo, Giorgina, Adriana and the rest of the staff for a brilliant stay in your Riad last week. We had a fantastic time in Marrakech, and it was because of you.

From the moment we were greeted by Massimo on arrival, to the moment we waved goodbye to Riad le Clos des Arts, we felt like we were staying at the stunning home of close, fun, friends. When we arrived at the Riad, Massimo took the time - over a pot of mint tea - to talk us through everything we might need to know for our few days in Marrakech. It was invaluable, and we lost count of the times where we'd be wandering in the Medina or around the Souks and would recall a piece of his advice. We felt immediately at ease in a strange place and it set us up to enjoy every second of our time exploring a magnificent city.

The honesty with which Massimo and Giorgina advised us about things like excursions, restaurants and hammams was great. In many places you might feel like you were being railroaded into using specific tour operators etc, but not here. All advice was given from their own personal experiences, it was clearly just their own honest opinions, and we didn't feel pressured into doing anything. Admittedly, they only recommend one Hammam. We chose it. We didn't regret it. It was like being in heaven.

The Riad itself is not just beautiful, but chic, relaxed and so friendly. The friendly atmosphere created by the staff seems to rub off on the other guests, and although i'm someone who might normally like to be anonymous at a hotel; here I just fell for the happy atmosphere and felt totally among friends and humbled to be one of the family. Coming back at night after exploring the medina, felt like coming home. Walking into the courtyard to that amazing smell of Jasmine, the lamplight, the trickle of water from the rose-filled fountain, and the relaxing music - was unbelievably soothing. On one night after a 4x4 trip through the Atlas Mountains, I took a cooling dip in the terrace plunge pool, under pink evening clouds, with the cry of evening prayers sounding across the medina rooftops. It was Marrakech in a moment.

One of the days of our stay happened to be my birthday, and at breakfast Giorgina brought me a present from the souks, all wrapped in ribbons. I'm not normally the type to gush this much about anywhere i've stayed, but I was genuinely touched by this gesture, and just the way we were treated and welcomed from start to finish. It was above and beyond the service you'd receive at a hotel costing 5 times as much. We were blown away.

The food in the hotel both at breakfast, and on the one night we chose to dine at the Riad, was top class. That little bit of extra effort could be seen everywhere.

I would not return to Marrakech and stay anywhere else. It was profoundly the friendliest, most pleasant, and warmest experience of anywhere i've ever stayed. Thanks to the owners and all the staff, we had an incredible time in Marrakech. I would recommend this Riad to my parents, my mates, or to a stranger on the street. It is a jewel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dungivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I will try and keep this review short. If you want a truly memorable holiday, look no further and make a reservation at this Riad. You’ll receive outstanding service from the moment you step out of the taxi to the moment you say goodbye. Giorgina and Massimo are wonderful hosts and just like the city itself, they exude charisma and charm in abundance. They have a team of professional and friendly staff and they run this Riad like clockwork and always with a smile on their faces.

We’ve stayed at various 5* hotels and resorts but none of them even come close to the level of care we received here. Giorgina and the team have given us some special memories which we will treasure for the rest of our lives. We can't wait to return!

Book it, you won’t regret it!

Room Tip: Suite Turquoise is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth, hospitality, wonderful humor and fantastic food served in serenely peaceful, elegant, artistic surroundings. I love le Clos des Arts! Giorgina and Massimo are the consummate hosts and they have a wonderful team at your service. Quality is everywhere, in every detail. And the food is amazing. You can see that this amazing couple have considered everything possible to make the experience of staying at their Riad memorable and enjoyable. Be sure to pay close attention to Massimo's entertaining orientation, delivered with a twinkle or two of the eye when you arrive. Their map also provides the best advice for where to go and what to see. Giorgina and Massimo organize trips, guides and will help you learn about, adapt and respect the rich culture, traditions and heritage of Marrakech. I will definitely stay here again. Heck! I think I'm going to move here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#1 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#7 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 3 suites, 2 superior rooms and 2 smaller double rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing