We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at Riad le Clos des Arts for 2 nights in March after our Desert Trip and it was a welcome oasis of calm. The location is great, the service is excellent and the quality of the decor was fantastic. The style and finish of the Riad was really exceptional.

Massimo, Georgina and their staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much to ask be it booking taxis, storing luggage or plying you with biscuits!

I would highly recommend staying here and it truly justifies its high ranking on Trip Advisor. Very good breakfast too!

As with most Riads in Marrakech you will need a guide to get you from the Taxi drop off to the door - the Riad has their own cart that they use to transport your bags so use one of these guys. The Riad also pays them some money to help out so make sure you give them no more than 20 Dirhams as they will no doubt try and as for a lot more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daccombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
155
680
50
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Our brief stay of three nights at the Riad was outstanding. Super location, excellent rooms and decor, and first rate service. Massimo and Giorgina, as well as the all of the staff at the Riad, are as helpful and accommodating as can be. We were there with a party of six, and every aspect of our visit was flawless and excellent. We will definitely stay there again the next time we are in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlrstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a four night trip to Marrakech. The Riad that Georgina and Massimo have created is fabulous in many ways, from the welcome, food, staff, cleanliness...its all spot on. They both really took time to guide us and help us throughout our stay.

Asante Sana, Tuonane baadaye!

Melanie and Scott

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atholl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this riad for four nights in Feb 13. The building is lovely and the owners Giorgina and Massimo very welcoming, I agree with all the good stuff in the other reviews! The breakfast is the freshest and tastiest I have ever had in any hotel, and the terrace is a lovely place to relax with thoughtful things like towels and big straw hats left out on the sun loungers each morning. All of the staff are very very friendly, efficient and helpful and the all did everything possible to make our trip the best it could be. It gets a little getting used to that the rooms can only be locked when you are in them but this caused absolutely no problems and only adds to the feeling of being a guest in a traditional Moroccan home. There is a safe in each room anyway. The free wifi is a great addition too. We had dinner in the riad twice and as the other reviews state, it really was delicious and they even 'smuggled in' a small bottle of wine for us.

Just a note re Marrakech itself - read the reviews of the Tanneries as they will give you the warnings you need about the money making activities that go on. Half way through our trip we were so shaken by things that happened that my boyfriend was checking for flights home, but if you prepare properly and are aware of what goes on it is a very interesting place to visit and I am glad we stayed for planned amount of time. We found that we could only really relax at the riad, it is certainly a calm and peaceful respite from the constant noise and hassle in the city and without having such a nice place to stay with people who understood and offered advice I think we would have really struggled. We are both well travelled but Marrakech was still a real eye opener!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SKUK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Toscana, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Through a friend I had the opportunity to be a guest at the Riad Les clos des Art in Marrakech and I will be forever grateful to him for introducing me to Giorgina and Massimo (the owners). I have travelled enough to recognize special people when I meet them and I am honoured to be able to call them friends.
The riad is very nice, elegant but not snobbish, quiet yet not deserted , central (inside the Medina) but secluded. I will leave it at that and for the aestethical part you can look at the pictures on the website. What I would like to tell you about is something that photos cannot convey and that is the ATMOSPHERE. You walk in from the noisy street of the suk and you enter a warm and safe haven, the smell of jasmine welcomes you, envellopes you to sooth you and put your mind at ease. Georgina and Massimo are the perfect hosts: watchful and helpful yet never overbearing,humorous with style, the staff is skillfully trained and ever present but you almost forget they are there as things appear and disappear like in a fairytale. All your wishes are granted, sometime even before you ask for them! Like the wondrous ginger tea! Amazing!. Owners and stuff swiftly move about like in a perfectly choreographed ballet to give their guest the best of everything but unlike a 5 stars hotel, you feel well cared for not because you pay for it but because you deserve it as a human being. Humanity is something else that pictures will not tell you about. The people at Riad Clos des Arts are important and that includes everybody: guests staff, owners: there are no barriers, no roles, no hierarchy here we are all equal, just with different functions! Georgina and Massimo love their work, their staff, their guests and each other and this special feeling permeates their place and transforms your stay from a simple vacation to a soulsoothing and heart enrichening experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

First time in north Africa and this was a great introduction. We could not think of any improvements from the lovely rooms, the wonderful dinners, delightful roof terrace and great breakfasts. Add in Giorgina and Massimo's warm welcome, knowledgeable recommendations and helpful guidance you end up having a marvellous time!! A return visit is a must

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank segmaniot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Well, from looking at other reviews, I see that my wife and I aren't the only ones who feel the need to rave about this awesome riad. Giorgina, Massimo and their entire staff made our first trip to Morocco a truly memorable experience, in all the right ways. Le Cos des Arts is an oasis in the Medina, with unique and tasteful rooms, delicious cuisine, and just an overall cool vibe. Giorgina connected us with a great excursion over the Atlas Mountains to the Sahara, as well as an insightful Marrakech walking tour with Youssef Kharroubi. Cheers to Giorgina and Massimo! Tom and Aimee Brabyn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abrabyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#17 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#18 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#6 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing