We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic first time in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #9 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic first time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Found this Riad on Tripadvisor and picked it from the reviews given. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay!! Giorgina and Massimo are very good hosts and even take time with all newcomers to give a tutorial on the local area and culture / customs etc. - INVALUABLE!
It was our first time in Morroco and they made the stay totally enjoyable. Their food is excellent, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are a pleasure. Would recommend for a 'real' Marrakech experience. Superb!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
150
659
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Upon the recommendation of friends, we booked at this Riad, and it made the whole trip to Marrakech amazing! Georgina and Massimo were so responsive to emails, and gave us a wonderful overview of the city when we arrived. They arranged a fantastic day trip to the Atlas Mountains, gave us invaluable insight into the best sights and restaurants, and cooked the most fantastic meal for our last evening. Our experience here raised customer service to a whole new level! You get the proximity to everything in old town, beautifully situated rooms, and the warm, welcoming hospitality of your hosts. Staying at Riad le clos,de arts elevates your trip to Marrakech to sublime!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is the place to be! During our 5 days' stay in this Riad we enjoyed the warm welcome and good recommendations of our hosts Georgina and Massimo and the beauty of the Riad. The Riad has a large roof-terrace where we had breakfast in the morning sun. The staff is so nice and helpful. We very much appreciated the excellent diners with both Moroccan specialties as well as Italian pastas (specially made for our 5 year old daughter). And last but not least: this place is an oasis of calm (no traffic noise), which is so welcome after a day in the Soekhs and wandering along the small streets full of motorcyclists. A great place! To Georgina, Massimo and their staff: 'perfetto!! مثالي

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Sarah_Hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

A nice very central located hotel in Marrakech. Everything was quite nice and worked nicely. We have breakfast and lunch on the hotel and the food was good. The rooms are not big but clean. The staff is nice and some serviceminded. Our paid ride from the airport to the hotel was only 1 hour late:-).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massimo T, Owner at Riad le Clos des Arts, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to dedicate us a review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the appreciation of the service of our team.
The Riad offers a variety of different sized rooms and accordingly different rates.
We are very sorry for the delay of your transfer from the airport.
As you may remember the conditions of the weather the day of your arrival caused delay to most of the flights landing in Marrakech.
Many flights arrival time were postponed several times causing a bit of confusion in the planning of the transfers from the airport.
Hope you ll excuse us for the inconvenience caused.
Wishing to have you among our guest in the future, best regards
Massimo and Giorgina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Giorgina and Massimo are warm and natural hosts, making our first visit to Marrakech much easier than it may otherwise have been. We were greeted at the nearest car park to the Riad where Giorgina was waiting with a porter to help with our bags. It's only a couple of minutes walk to the Riad and all the way Giorgina pointed out directions and memorable signposts so you don't get lost in the tangle of narrow alleys. The Riad itself is beautiful with very tasteful decor and the welcoming scent of orange blossom as soon as you leave the dusty little alley way outside and step in. On arrival you are greeted with glasses of mint tea, little biscuits, tangerines and a very useful introduction and map to what can be an intimidating town.
We stayed in two rooms, the Rubis room on the ground floor - small, comfortable and (I think) the cheapest option and on our return from a few days in Essaouira, we had a couple of nights in the Corail room in the first floor, larger, lighter and just gorgeous!
Even in early Feb you can eat breakfast on the terrace each morning served by the multi lingual staff. The selection is tea or coffee with freshly made yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, a variety of breads and the offer of eggs how you like them.
If you choose to eat dinner here, let them know in the morning and prepare to be spoiled! We were served a very generous mix of salads followed by delicious tagine and fresh fruit jelly. Afternoons on the terrace after hectic haggling in the nearby souks are accompanied by mint tea on request. Nothing is too much trouble.
Le Clos Des Arts really is an oasis of calm and we very much appreciated the obvious thought and care that goes into making everyone's stay here special and memorable.
Thank you Georgina, Massimo and Team.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I just returned from Marrakech and recommend this wonderful Riad to everyone! The food is exquisite (we ate dinner here two of our 4 nights in Marrakech) and the service is incomparable. Giorgina gave us wonderful recommendations for the nights we did venture outside of the Riad and also set up our excursion into the desert which was perfect. Beautiful accommodations, great location, and you truly feel like you are a guest in someone's home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctalbot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We are really looking forward to our trip to Marrakech. From reading reviews on TA we decided we'd love to stay at this Riad. We couldn't find any availability so e-mailed the hotel direct. Giorgina and Massimo were able to offer us accommodation for part of our stay. They have also been able to give us so much useful information on the options for the things we would like to do and try while we are in Marrakech. Local knowledge and experience is so useful in planning a trip.

Rather cheekily I asked if they could recommend another place to stay for the remainder of our trip - and they did - giving us a range of choices they were happy to suggest.(We settled on Riad Azoulay, that also looks lovely.)

We haven't even reached Marrakech and I think I have had the most attentive service I have ever received.

Many thanks to Giorgina and Massimo. We are so looking forward to meeting you and experiencing your Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#5 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 3 suites, 2 superior rooms and 2 smaller double rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing