We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Riad Heaven on our Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad le Clos des Arts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #9 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chinnor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riad Heaven on our Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having never been to any part of Africa before we didn't know what to expect from our 1st experience Morocco especially as it was our honeymoon, you can do all the reading you like prior to arriving but nothing works better than speaking with locals or people who have lived and breathed Marrakech life.

Step in the owners/hosts Massimo and Georgina, vastly knowledgeable regarding where to go (and where not to go!) , tremendous hosts, always helpful and pointing us in the the right direction. Looking after a sick wife with local remedies. The team around them were also very good - speaking good english, always happy and nothing is too much trouble. The little touches make all the difference with lit candles and rose petals in our room.

Our Room was the Amethyste and it was wonderful, you have a real sense of Medina life. No technology hanging off the walls, just wonderful architecture and feel. The rooms all have safes so no need to take out Passports and all your cash as Marrakech can make you feel security conscience, just take out what you need for the day. The area of the Riad is very safe.

To also be only a very short walk from the main Medina square, the Souks, Katoubia we found ourselves one of the quietest places to stay. Perfect for anyone who wants to do shopping or even just relaxing upstairs by the pool. Even though the pool is fairly small, you still get that amazing sense of peace and tranquility.

On arrival we had dinner made for us, you can either eat with them (recommended) or outside of the Riad. The food we had at the Riad was fantastic, incredibly fresh and lots of choice, and breakfast was always a delight as you got a different food every day.

Many of the restaurants in the Medina are much of a much, some more expensive than the others – just make sure you check your chicken skewers as sometimes they were served to us raw as the lighting in some of these places are terrible.

There are many activities for anyone who is staying longer than a couple of days, Cooking classes with a local family, Walking guided tours with Abdul – he is not a typical guide as he will not take you into shops to try and get you to buy stuff for a slice of the pie, he takes you to the places that you should see when you stay in Marrakech. (Massismo and Georgina will able to help you with arranging)

Marrakech is a very busy, sometimes crazy place but a worthy visit for a sense of life inside the Medina. During our stay there we always felt safe and as long as you keep to common sense you will not have any issues( word of warning mind the motorbikes and donkeys :))

In summary and wonderful Riad for our honeymoon, wonderful location and wonderful hosts. Couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    32
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
150
659
48
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stop looking. This is where you are going to stay. Do yourself a favor and book dinners at the Riad. It is the best food you will get, and the friendliest service. Georgina and Massimo have hired employees you will enjoy and regret having to leave behind. Drink as much of the mint tea here as possible. No where else in the city do they do it better. Enjoy yourself...we did.

Room Tip: book early and listen to Georgina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beejw_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Georgina and Massimo have created a wonderful haven of tranquitlity within 5 minutes wall of the centre of the city. Our room was fabulous - Amethyste, loads of space and perfectly equiped. We took B&B which was wonderful - and Massimo gave us local restaurants for our evening meals, which were exceptional and we ate with the locals - listen to him - you won't regret it. Perfectly located if you want to walk the city like we did, and they arranged collection from and to the airport, which was fantastic especially as this little haven is very well hidden. breakfast on the roof terrace is perfect and freshly baked everyday. I thought this was perfect only the second time I have found accomodation as exceptional as this. They are wonderful hosts and could not be more helpful. Thank you

Room Tip: Amethyste - its lovely, spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a very nice riad where we spent a week over Christmas last year. We had wonderful long breakfasts on the roof terrace in the sun. Georgina is really working hard to make your stay as nice as possible and that compensates more than well for the lack of luxury that you might find in other more expensive riads. Georgina organized fantastic excursions for us to the Atlas mountains and to Essaouira by the sea, where we had wonderful fresh fish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nebrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Riad is right inside the Medina and a walking distance away from the famous Jamaal El Fana. A little piece of heaven from all the hustle and bustle of the souqs. Massimo and his team were so welcoming and gracious. The exotic fragrances as we entered the Riad to the wonderful smells coming from Chef Layla's kitchen, the riad is a treasury of Moroccan hospitality. Try Layla's chicken and preserved lemon tagine-superb. Stay in a suite room if you can. His team brings out the romance of Morocco. It was a fantastic experience. Thank you Massimo!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneAlexisLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

From the moment of contacting Giorgina and Massimo we knew this riad was going to be a good choice (their emails were so helpful and friendly!). When we arrived we found it was an excellent choice (the riad was so lovely and the food delicious!). And when we left we knew it exceeded all our expectations and hopes (we felt really pampered and looked after!) It is truly hard to think how our stay could have been bettered. If you are looking for a place which is personable and which is ran by people who are truly committed to doing all they can to make your stay the best it can be, then this is the place for you! Being so near to so many interesting and lovely parts of Marrakech, yet in such a quiet and safe location was a real find! But the most wonderful thing about the Riad le Clos des Arts is the people you meet there and the warmth of Giorgina and Massimo, their friends and all the staff.

Room Tip: The Nacre Suite is so lovely and ideal if you need twin beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

What a lovely Riad run and staffed by lovely people. A completely calm oasis in the hecktic madness of central Marrakech. Both Giorgina and Massimo were the perfect hosts. And their staff were simply fantastic and we wanted for nothing. We ate breakfast on the terrace every morning and twice we had evening meals and the was superb. The helped us arrange our guide for the day and recommended a hot air balloon company "Marrakech by air" who to we're great. We had a lovely bedroom that had everything in it you need with a lovely bathroom. I could go one forever about this Riad. Just perfect should really sum it up. Thanks to everyone for making our first stay in Morrocco just so.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevejFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Property: Riad le Clos des Arts
Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere, be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours, be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 3 suites, 2 superior rooms and 2 smaller double rooms, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing