We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad le Clos des Arts
Ranked #2 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I went to Marrakech with a group of friends for a long weekend and we are most certainly planning a trip back in the near future! Giorgina and Massimo were attentive, thoughtful, and charasmatic hosts who ensured we were entirely cared for from the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the hugs and goodbyes of our departure. The service was above and beyond our expectations! We were met with smiles and received numerous suggestions daily on food, tours, traveling, and were even escorted to Massimo's favorite rug place to ensure we were getting a good deal.

If the service wasn't enough to sell us- the Riad itself was incredible. It was decorated beautifully with gorgeous decor that I think we were all trying to closely mimic with our purchases from the souks nearby. The location is fantastic-inside the medina but on a back street away from the noisy street traffic. We woke in the mornings to birds chirping and an amazing breakfast (incredible yogurt and homemade jams) giving us a great start to every day.

I highly recommend coordinating a pick up from the airport and enjoying a dinner at the Riad your first night as well. It made it a lot easier for our large group to get to the right place and the food (and the explanations accompanying it!) made for a stress free, fanastic start to our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

679 - 685 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

A friend advised us to stay at the Riad le Clos des Arts, and we were not disappointed! We stayed at the Riad for 5 nights, and enjoyed every second of it.
The Riad is a cosy place, thoughtfully furnished, the roof terras is a great place to have breakfast (and I guess to cool down in the little pool in summer time - we were there in December!).
Giorgina and Massimo are great hosts, making sure we had plenty of ideas of how to spend our days. The staff are all equally charming and helpful. Breakfast is simple and good, dinner is wonderful, and there's an endless supply of mandarines!
The location is perfect too, right in the Medina, but in a quiet backstreet.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I have not one bad thing to say about our stay at Riad le Clos des Arts. Giorgina and Massimo are two of the world's nicest people. They were incredibly helpful even before we got there, helping our group of seven select the best rooms, organizing transportation and even with the deposit. They are both Italian and have lived and seen so many things that the afternoon we spent talking with them over pot after pot of delicious mint tea and eating tangerines and cookies felt more like an afternoon at a long lost friend's house than anything else.

They met us in a parking lot, the closest place to their riad that allowed cars, and had our baggage portered to the hotel as they escorted us through the narrow streets, pointing out the tricky landmarks that we would need to get back. The outside walls looked pretty uninteresting but when they opened the front door, oh my goodness! Inside was the most beautiful courtyard, filled with smells both warm and inviting that begged you to linger longer. A fountain filled with roses and groups of chairs and couches filled with pillows for long conversations. Everything about this riad seemed thoughtful - from the bathrobes in each room to the homemade jams at breakfast each day to the single rose in each room.

We were a group of three women and stayed in the turquois room, which was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was served every morning after 8 and was different each day. Giorgina and Massimo were so warm, so welcoming, so completely wonderful, I hope that you go, have a cup of warm tea and just listen. I am looking forward to going back and seeing our dear friends again soon. And listen to their recommendations, everything that they said to do or eat was fantastic!!! From expensive restaurants to hamams to cheap street food, they didn't steer us off course one single time.

Room Tip: The Turquois room was great for a larger party and decorated beautifully!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnieLou619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Riad le Close des Arts for 4 nights in late December, we wish we could have stayed longer! We traveled to other parts of Morocco and I pined to be back at the Riad.
As all the other reviews have mentioned, Massimo and Giorgina (and all the staff!) really make this Riad special. From the first moment of contact in regard to booking to the hugs goodbye in the carpark, you are treated more like friends than guests.
The fabulous hosts get to know you from the very moment of arrival when you sit down for mint tea and biscuits and get an understanding of what you will and won't like and are able to recommend the perfect restaurants and outings (it's unbelievable!). For instance, I was insistent on going to Agadir for 4 nights, Giorgina said I wouldn't like it at all & sure enough I spent the 4 nights wishing I was back at the Riad - how do they know?!?!?
This is the perfect location to explore everything Marrakech has to offer and very easy to find your way around with Massimo's map and explanations.
We booked a guide for a day through the Riad to show us around, he was fantastic and we learnt so much more about Marrakech than we would have just walking around ourselves, well worth it.
The food at the Riad was sensational and we chose to eat dinner there a couple of times, breakfast was wonderful (I still think about the yoghurt every day) and served on the Terrace at whatever time we wandered out - fantastic!
The rooms are beautifully clean and the linen lovely (loved the bath sheets), fresh flowers and cookies in your room, lovely and quiet for a great nights sleep.
If we find ourselves in Morocco again, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else and would probably reschedule our trip if Riad le Clos de Arts is booked.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcookie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I booked a surprise weekend and this riad based on reviews and had very high expectations, and Massimo and Georgina exceeded them all! They organised a smooth transfer from the airport and arriving at the riad was like going to paradise. Sitting down to beautiful tea and biscuits they made us comfortable to explore. They recommended a guide which we would HIGHLY recommend for a half day exploring the city which was a perfect introduction. They also recommended an amazing restaurant and were always available for whatever we needed. The breakfasts and dinner we had at the riad were faultless, and it made for a perfect long weekend. If you are in any doubt about where to stay, stay here!!! We will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0zbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just returned from a 5-night stay at this Riad, the perfect base for enjoying all that Marrakech has to offer. As other reviewers have previously mentioned, the owners Massimo and Giorgina are the perfect hosts. They are both knowledgeable and passionate about Marrakech and are dedicated to ensuring all of their guests have a memorable stay. They were incredibly generous of their time and their recommendations for restaurants and activities were always spot on. Their team of staff were also extremely friendly and provided a first-class service. The food served at the Riad was excellent. The breakfast is served (at whatever time you want it!) on a lovely roof-top terrace, where there is also a pool and sun loungers. It is both private and peaceful. Massimo and Giorgina prepared a sumptuous dinner for New Years' Eve for their guests, which made for a fantastic evening. The Riad itself is also beautifully decorated and fantastically well-located. An easy walk to the main square, it is also very near all the main museums/tourist attractions and very close to a taxi rank, where you can always pick up a cab, regardless of the time of the day, to the new part of Marrakech, should you wish to explore it. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Riad and I will be returning whenever I am in Marrakech.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Turquoise suite which was beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable, and afforded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were travelling through this beautiful country, staying in one accomodation after another. Marrakech was our last stop before our flight back home. I can not sing more praises of this Riad, AND most signficiantly the hosts. The hosts are the owners of the place, Massimo and Georgina, an Italian and a Swiss, who treat you with utmost humility, humbleness and gracefulness as they welcome you into their Riad. You will feel as if you are coming home to family.

We were greeted by Massimo at the parking lot, he then walked us to the Riad. The door was opened to this gorgeous estate and immediatly you are immersed in the warm familiar scent of freshly baked cookies, and their signature scent of jasmine. Georgina, also the interior designer of the place was preparing freshly baked cookies for us! We then sat down for a tea with the couple, where they got to know us. They also very thoroughly presented us a map of the area telling us all their recommendations.

From there we were taken into our room. Which was the 'amethyst' room. Absolutly stunning, decorated with welcome cookies, and freshly cut roses. The bedding, the toileteries, and bathroom was completely boutique and exceptionally arranged.

We did stay in a gorgeous Riad in Fes, but I would definitly prefer staying in this Riad again. It stands out in many ways. It's Morocco with a Swiss Italian Flair :). Both Massimo and Georgina are present in the Riad throughout the day, and always greeted us when we stepped back in after our outings asked us if we wanted any tea and asked about our day..

Our last night was New Years Eve. A beautiful large dining table was arranged and decorated, welcoming all the guests at the Riad. It was an exquisite and intimate dinner that Georgina had designed highlighted by the most decadent menu. Georgina had created a gorgeously romantic setting.

The key highlights of our stay were as follows:
1.) Georgina made sure I had a vegetarian meals since she learned that I was vegetarian
2.) The couple recommended an amazing Hammam to us but after learning they didnt have availability cancelled their own appt so that we could have the experience
3.) A beautiful gift was presented to us as a goodbye present
4.) Hospitality! This was the nicest most genuine touch that is unmatched.
5.) LOCATION- walking distance from the famous square and all the souks...less than a 10 minute walk.

We could not have imagined such a wonderful ending to our amazing trip. I would go as far as to say that when you plan your trip to Morocco, whether it is just to Marrakech or the entire country as we did, if this Riad does not have availability, RESCHEDULE! You want to experience this Riad as your Morocco adventure, it will not be complete with out it. We are grateful that we had this memorable experience which we will hold in our hearts for a lifetime.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms hold the same caliber. They are romantically and beautifull decorated, this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Camilia
Riad Camilia
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
878 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#5 of 500 in Marrakech
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad le Clos des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad le Clos des Arts

Address: Riad Zitoune Jdid, Derb Tbib 50 | Near Dar Si Said and Bahia Palace, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#20 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $155 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad le Clos des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a narrow street of the Medina of Marrakech come and discover Riad le Clos des Arts: a charming Arab house renovated in pure Moresque style. Be seduced by this fascinating oriental atmosphere. Be tempted by the authenticity of traditional Moroccan flavours. Be refreshed by a plunge into our small pool on the terrace. The riad offers 1 suite deluxe, 2 suites, 3 double deluxe, 2 double superior and 1 single room, all with ensuite bathrooms facilities, independent heating/cooling system and safe. Food is central to the life of the house and our chef proposes daily typical Moroccan specialities and revisited traditional recipes. Dinner is on order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad le Clos des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Clos Des Arts Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing